We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Hotel in Munich, Germany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #24 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

A beautiful hotel with great service. Rooms were excellently designed with windows positioned for a view of an interior hallway. A wall of windows to exterior kept noise out but also provided plenty of natural light. The rooms are high enough for complete privacy.
The food was delicious. There is only one word for the breakfast…fabulous. I have never seen such a variety of food and drink…and everything was fresh. Can not say enough positive things about this hotel…wonderful place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing!

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,145 of 3,919 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

Hotel could be great, but it misses the details that could make it a true 5 star hotel.

Location - very close to the main train station. Not a very pleasant area - ok during day but would not be wandering around at night. Marianplatz is 15/20 mins walk away. Taxi home on one night cost 20 euro! We did think we were ripped off but reception staff said it was normal! Checked the next day with a friend in Munich, who knows the direct route by car and estimated it should have been 8 euro.

Check-in
Very efficient, but no acknowledgement was made that the trip was for our wedding anniversary.

Rooms
Comfortable. nespresso machine with 6 pods per day. Bose sound dock did not work. Poor selection of tv channels. Turn down was excellent. We availed of the shoe shining service, but unfortunately they forgot to shine the shoes with the policy left on when returned. this meant having to finish it ourselves.

Spa
Could be great but it was made unpleasant by many people ignoring the rules. We even some americans americans walking through the spa in their clothes with luggage and staring at people (were they even guests?). Our spa experience in the Sofitel Hamburg was very positive. Unfortunately, here was very poor.

Bar - Very nice and was lively on the Saturday night.


  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Donkeyoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am glad to hear that, in general, you had a really nice stay at our hotel. However, please let me address the points you mentioned.

Our location has as well advantages as disadvantages. The latter, like those you describe, we are working on together with the station management and the city of Munich. Nevertheless, our location also offers great access to all means of public transport and is only a few minutes walk from the city center. We always recommend this means of transportation as Taxi prices in Munich are indeed rather high.

If we have information of a stay being for a special occasion we are always delighted to welcome our guests with a little "extra". I am sorry to hear that, however, you did not receive any recognition for your wedding anniversary.

Please let me also apologize for the technical issues you perceived during your stay. Our technical department is always ready to help. Please just notify our reception. Regarding the selection of TV-channels, we are currently improving this together with our provider. The next time you stay we will be able to offer you a wider choice.

Please note that only hotel guests and Spa members have acces to our So Spa.

Again, I thank you for your comment which will help us to improve our performance.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel during a winter holiday in Europe. We arrived by train from Switzerland and were delighted to see that the hotel was literally next to the train station - very convenient! Additionally, the hotel is only a short walk (maybe 3-4 blocks) to the main old town section of Munich. We were in Munich during the holiday season and the Sofitel Bayerpost's location made if very easy for us to access the Christmas markets. Also, the hop-on/hop-off tour station is about 2 blocks from the hotel. Location doesn't get much better than this!

The staff at the hotel are very polite and check-in/check-out were a breeze. The hotel is clean and modern with very well-appointed rooms. The rooms are large by European standards with large bathrooms and plenty of closet space.

While we didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, we did have drinks at the bar which was lovely. I definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for central location and modern amenities. The Sofitel Bayerpost has it all - proximity and luxury!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this great feedback! There is no better motivation than making our guests happy.

It was a pleasure welcoming you here and I hope that you will visit again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel is a modern state of art hotel. It was my first time at this hotel and i enjoyed my stay here. Nice spacious rooms, cleanliness maintained, comfortable beds, helpful staff, etc. Could not find any negative to quote for this hotel except for the pricing as i found it to be a bit expensive. Overall a fantastic business stay. Will definitely recommend for other business travellers. Would stay here again during my next business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelhiGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for all these nice words! It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I am already looking forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay in the Sofitel Munich. We were very impressed with the hotel as a whole and the service was excellent throughout our stay.
We stayed in a luxury room and it certainly felt luxurious. There were some nice details that gave me the impression the room had been designed by a human rather than just designed by some bland computer design program. One example is the TV/Bose cabinet which is movable so it can be viewed in the bedroom or even in the bath. Bed was comfortable and we didn't have a problem with it being two single beds attached. If anything we had a better sleep because of it.
The spa is nicely laid out but it is a typical German spa in the fact that some of it is nude only. Us Brits are not use to that sort of thing! :)
The food we ate was very nice so no complaints there.
The only caveats we had were the location and the bathroom. Firstly the location which although fairly central was not exactly in a nice part of town. There is a taxi rank next to the hotel and on 2 nights we encountered drunk men making a lot of noise which is not exactly what you expect within stones throw of a 5 star hotel. The other caveat, the bathroom, is mentioned here due to the VERY open plan nature of it. If you are travelling with a friend/family and not a partner you might find the privacy an issue. There is thin glass panel which acts as a door. If you were ill or just prefer more privacy we would not recommend a luxury room.
These things aside we had a great time and would definitely recommend the Sofitel to those looking for luxury, a high quality spa, romantic setting and close to the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrismanDeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is always the little details that make a stay special. Thus, it was very important to us to start not only with a perfect service but also with a design that adds to the comfort.

I am glad to hear that we were able to offer you such a pleasant stay.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stopped in a Junior suite for a few nights to see the markets.

Room - We were disappointed in the room as it was a very dark room, the windows were small and high up, you had to stand on tip toes to see the rooftops of Munich view we were promised. The BED was horrendous, as a couple we want a double bed, this was two single beds pushed together with two single duvets, as a result we ended up separately otherwise one of us fell down the gap in the middle - not happy! We had requested a cot for our baby and was told it was in our room but it wasn't so we had to request it. The room was cold and the air conditioning did seem to go up high enough to warm it, duvets were thin. The hotel is right by the railway station and it was so noisy, it would wake us through the night and early in the morning. On our last morning we were rudely awoken at 8am by someone entering our room whilst in bed, I shouted and they retreated so I didn't get a chance to complain.

LOCATION - brilliant as the railway station is a short walk and you can jump on the subway to anywhere in the city. The walk to the centre of Munich is also not a long one. We didn't feel unsafe at night unlike others who have previously reviewed.

SERVICE - The staff on the desk were very polite and there were plenty of them to check you in or out. The staff that brought our cot to the room were a bit miserable and made it feel like it was an effort.

SPA - Looks fantastic and the layout of the swimming pool is really funky but it was cold. We were disappointed there wasn't a hot tub/jacuzzi which I thought most spas had, there was a whirlpool in the swimming pool but that was it.

Nice touches were the fact that my baby was given a little duck and a teddy. We were able to check in early. They held our bags in the hotel after we had checked out for us. The decor is beautiful. It smelt lovely and clean. To access the lifts you had to use your room card so it felt safe. They restocked the room with drinks and toiletries regularly.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Ginauk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us this detailed feedback on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Every day we strive to make each guest’s stay a special one. Unfortunately, it seems that we didn’t succeed during your time of stay. Please let me address the points you mention.

I am sorry to hear that the room you were given didn’t meet your expectations. Should this occur, we are always glad to offer a change of room within the same category depending on the booking situation. Don’t hesitate to contact us.

Regarding the bed, it is quite common in Germany to have double beds that consist of two single mattresses. Upon notice we are happy to arrange the bed as a regular King bed. Please feel free to contact us before arrival or during your stay. We will arrange everything accordingly.

I am sorry to hear that the cot for your baby was not already in the room even though we said so and you informed us beforehand. This should really not have happened and I can only apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please let me apologize as well for entering your room so early in the morning. Rest assured that I have informed the responsible department head of this incident and that we will take the appropriate measures to prevent something like this from happening again.

Nevertheless I am glad to hear that, apart from the above mentioned you spent a nice time in Munich and our service did, in general, convince you.

I hope that we may welcome you again soon to prove that we are well able to meet all your expectations. In the meantime, please don’t hesitate to contact us through h5413@sofitel.com for any further questions.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Cant fault anything…even the gold leaf on the Curry Wurst! Modern. Fantastic luxury Hotel in Munich. Expensive but you can get a great rate by using BA.com or Late Rooms. I would stay here again for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#96 of 390 in Munich
2,718 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#3 of 390 in Munich
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 390 in Munich
739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#26 of 390 in Munich
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#16 Family Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £165 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing