We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #27 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Having stayed in other Sofitels around the world, our hopes were high for it's outpost in Munich.Unfortunately we were disappointed.

While the location next door to the main train station and the 15-minute walk to the Marienplatz certainly scored points, these were the best aspects of our stay there..not what you would expect for a hotel group with this reputation.

The rooms were very dark (possibly to hide the dust) and shabby with poor ventilation leaving us no option but to open our room door after showering.The much-touted gym and pool facilities were also a let-down with a limited number of equipment in the gym and a pool that could only be described as resembling an 'underwater cave'..underlit with hidden alcoves and low ceilings in places...nice for lounging after a spa treatment but not for those who'd like to exercise the limbs after a long trip or go for a dip with children.The 5 o'clock limit on children under 12 in the gym/pool area also restricts family usage in the early evening.

On a positive note, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the beds as always in Sofitel were extremely comfortable...all in all, save your money and stay somewhere else as this was certainly not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am very sorry to hear that our house could not meet the expectations that were created by other hotels of our brand. Of course, design is always a debatable topic but you may well expect a room that is clean and well maintained.

Should there ever be anything that does not meet your expectations or that is not in the perfect condition we stand for, please don't hesitate to let us know immediately as we are always glad to help already during your stay.

Of course, due to the limited space in the immediate station area, we were limited as to the size of gym and pool but hope that we made the best it by offering an area of perfect relaxation.

I thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,143
    1,002
    303
    142
    70
See reviews for
585
1,467
279
919
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I chose this hotel due to its favorable reviews on tripadvisor, and chose it even in spite of the Le Meridien being next to it and in spite of my lifetime elite status at Starwood. I booked the prepaid rate even though this is business travel at my discretionary expense. At reception I was shown the worst possible room with windows facing some internal construction-like iron bars, with low lighting where you can't even see outside. I exited the room immediately and asked for another room, and I was told that with my rate, which is a "Superior Room", all she could offer was rooms facing similar crappy views. I was then moved to Room 228 where it was supposedly facing a different direction. When I entered, it was the facing the SAME direction with the same awful iron bars. I actually asked the receptionist if it was the rate I paid (being too low), basically hinting that I was willing to pay more but the receptionist apparently didn't get the hint, just simply acquiesced that it was the rate. Since I had a meeting in half an hour I just couldn't bother to go further. Now I completely regret my decision not to be loyal to SPG, as I would never be treated this way.

Anyhow I think this is my fault since it was my choice to begin with. The receptionist did her job but nothing more - just explained the rules. But it did make me feel "cheap" (I am sure it was not her intention but it was the emotional impact). For all of you considering this hotel, please DON'T book the lowest rate for room type "Superior Room" because you will surely be given a room that is anything but superior. If that's what I am getting for what I paid, I might as well have spent the money in a 3-star hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book the Superior Rooms at Prepaid Rates, a total rip off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EEEEA1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am very sorry to hear that neither the room nor our service met your expectations. Of course, given your dislike for the view from your first room, we should have been able to find another room with a different view in the same category - always depending on the booking situation. I understand your disappointment at our handling of the situation and assure you that I will personally take care to train our team again on the guest oriented behaviour that you may well expect from us.

I hope that we may welcome you again to prove that we are able to meet all your expectations.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Sofitel in my experience is a brand that has extremes of quality and this is extreme, at the top end. The hotel is perfectly located and is beautiful. I thoroughly recommend it for holiday makers and business travellers equally.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJA1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this great feedback.

I am already looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We chose the Sofitel for a one night because we were able to get a good last minute 'mystery' rate online and it was close to the Central Train Station (Hauptbahnhof) which was handy as we were in transit. It is literally right next door to the station, so very convenient for getting in and out of Munich and around on pubic transport, but not the greatest area if you are looking for nice restaurants or ambience.

The Hotel was very well appointed, the room and bathroom were spacious, clean, and included all the amenities you would expect of the Sofitel. It also included free wireless internet.

It is definitely worth checking out the labyrinthine swimming pool in the basement which also has a sauna and steam room and beauty spa attached.

We tried to have a drink at the bar but it was completely full, but looked interesting, although small.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It was a pleasure having you here and I hope that next time you will have a little more time to enjoy all our facilities.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sofitel for 5 nights in April. I think we opted for the smallest room but found it to be relatively spacious and the beds extremely comfortable (I think we never had a miss in this category w/ Sofitel). I'm a little on the fence on service. The person at the reception was extremely courteous and we had no issues. However we forgot to tip the maid the first night... and once we did start tipping from the 2nd night the service was just night and day. Tipping is expected in Germany and for sure you are supposed to tip the maid so it was a bit wrong for me to forget. But I was put off that service can be so different. What areas was it different ?
- Nespresso capsules not being refreshed.
- Toiletries not being refreshed.
- Used dishes not being cleared out.

I guess my advice here is don't forget the tip!

Location wise as you can see from goggle maps its in prime location, sitting within spitting distance from the train & metro. For those who rent a car, the hotel has parking but as expected will cost you (I think 25 - 30 eur / day). Although not part of the hotel review, I figured others would find it helpful to know that there is a parking lot within 5 mins walk which offers a weekly parking rate (unlimited enter/exit) for 60 eur which will be worthwhile for people on a budget and need a car park for more then a few days. The website is in german (use google translate). The parking office has limited hours (I think closes at around 3pm) and the guy who works there only speaks german and isn't always in the small office. I had to walk around the 3 - 4 parking levels to find him and was armed with the website print out so I could just point at exactly what I wanted to get. You won't need a car if you are only staying in Munich.. but we rented as we made several short trips using Munich as a base (i.e. Salzburg)

http://www.city-parking.de/index.php/parken/standorte/muenchen/parkgarage-senefelderstrasse

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shawnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is our most important goal to make each stay a most comfortable one marked by our excellent service.

Our performance is not dependent on any tip and you may expect the same high standard on any occasion. I thank you for pointing out this flaw in our housekeeping service. Please rest assured that, together with the department head we will take care to ensure a continous high standard of service.

I hope that we may welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curzay-sur-Vonne, France
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost for my 5 - day winter holiday. The hotel is located near some shopping areas and famous places, so convenient. My first impression about the hotel was historic, classic and luxury design. But believe me when you get inside, it was totally different, in good way I mean. It was more modern, more classy, more breath taking, and more elegant from lobby lounge to chamber. My room was fabulous, cozy with warm paint and wood furniture. The bathroom had both bathtub and glass wall tunnel, so clean and gorgeous. The view was not so special, all I could see was other buildings' rooftop. Food was delicious, tasty with traditional French taste. Sauna spa was amazing with unique style. I love the hotel services. So perfect!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggodoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Munich Bayerpost for your holiday. It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for giving us the chance to make it special for you.

I am already looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Wonderful old postal building remade into modern hotel. Room architecture was a little quirkey, but once you got the feel of it, really quite nice.
Doors just close, electronically I guess, so there are no moving parts in the handle, just swipe your key and push.
Restaurant is series of steps, no visible elevator, food, especially breakfast is beyond expectations!
Pool is hidden in the basement, very cave like, with hidden swim areas, COOL.
Hotel is next door to main train station with benefits and drawbacks, very convienent to get around city. But as in all stations some scruffy characters are around, but they do not get too close to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you like trains as for a room overlooking the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yamalotz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us make your stay such an enjoyable one. It was apleasure having you here and I am already looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#98 of 382 in Munich
2,573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#14 of 382 in Munich
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 382 in Munich
1,581 reviews
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Property: Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing