We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Europaischer Hof(Munich)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Platzl Hotel(Munich)
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,021
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$913
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$432
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
anna hotel(Munich)
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,961)
Filter reviews
3,961 results
Traveller rating
2,318
1,075
339
154
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,318
1,075
339
154
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshermes toiletriestrain stationluxury roomduplex suitenespresso machinespa areabeautiful hotelrain showermain stationfive star hotelmodern designhotel barconvenient locationbreakfast buffet isconciergeprivacysauna
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,040 - 1,045 of 3,961 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our second visit to this stylish hotel located adjacent to the main train station. The hotel is a mixture of German efficiency and French style.

The area around the hotel is not the most salubrious, and at odds with standards and quality of the hotel, but it is ideal for local transportation links and transport to and from the airport.
A taxi from the airport will cost you around 80 Euro's and takes about 30-35 mins.
The train takes around 45-50 mins and is about 12 Euro's per person.
The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the main shopping street.

The reception staff are efficient and welcoming.

The public areas are stylish.

The bedroom was well equipped with good air con, safe, minibar, Nespresso machine, sofa, work station, TV with a number of English language channels, Bose Wave & i-Pod docking station, very comfortable beds and good blackouts.
Excellent sound proofing, so sleep quality is good.

The bathroom has a sliding glass door and a window opens to the bedroom (there is an electronically controlled modesty blind should you wish to close this off), there is a separate walk in shower area in addition to the bath. Hermes toiletries are provided. Great towels and bathrobes.
The safe and wardrobe hanging space are also located in the bathroom area.

We had breakfast included in the room rate, service is good and efficient and whilst the buffet choice was good we felt that the choices on offer were not as extensive as on a previous visit and consequently that's why on this occasion I have rated the hotel as very good as opposed to excellent
A big advantage is that they do serve breakfast until 12.00noon on Saturday & 1pm on Sunday, so great if you have had a late night out.
However if you are booked on a room only basis, with the hotel being adjacent to the station there are many outlets where you can obtain a breakfast,

In summary a very comfortable and stylish hotel with good transport links.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandsTravelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us such a detailed feedback on your recent stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It was a pleasure welcoming you again and it is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

I also thank you for pointing out that you perceived the breakfast choice as less varied than during your last visit. Together with our kitchen team I will check this again.

I am already looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

i think you will enjoy this hotel very much. is at train station, 24 hs train between train station and airport. i like rooms in hotel very much. i like food in hotel very much too. very nice people. some speak Spanish to me. sofitel munich is very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chile_Boy_40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending us!

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Sofitel is next door to the train station which is very handy for the tired traveller! Aside from that, the tram stop is just across the road and buses/tours start on the other side of the train station.
The hotel is beautiful as you would expect. The staff were very professional and helpful. The room service prices I found to be really reasonable.
I loved the bathroom design, loved the shower and the bath...the bathrobes though need to be bigger. Nothing more disheartening than one that doesn't fit. A new one came up, but still small - not sure what a large man would use??
I used the spa downstairs which was lovely, but I felt that you should have to buy product afterwards which is a little off putting. Having said that the person who did my procedures was lovely and the atmosphere was nice.
I would and have recommended to my friends travelling to Munich.

Room Tip: Keep your eye open for specials. If you are members of hotel groups you will regularly get emails announcing specials for various hotels and areas. Accumulate points and use those to get a discount.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElmoTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending us! Every day we strive to offer each guest a most enjoyable stay. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

I also thank you for the hint regarding the size of our bathrobes.

I am already looking forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at the hotel in May. We booked via expedia.com so I was not expecting the best room/view. We nicknamed our room the "greenhouse" room because the window looked out to catwalk with a window behind it and because it was hot. After our first day of sightseeing we got back to our room late and turned the air conditioner on and went to "sleep". I put sleep in quotes because the room never cooled off and we didn't get much sleep. In the morning before our excursion to Neuschwanstein Castle we asked the front desk to have someone look at it and when we arrived back the room was cooler, but never got cold (we set it to 19 Celsius), which is what we prefer when we sleep. The room's décor was cool but it was dark. I'm also not a fan of the Hermes toiletries. I just don't like smelling like men's cologne. Hair conditioner is not in the room but they will supply it if you ask. The bar was expensive but they did a great job making cocktails and were very friendly. Free Wi-Fi in rooms a little spotty, but worked fine at the bar, which is where we ended each of our nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagotoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for telling us about your experience at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not in all points meet your expectations. A good room climate is as essential as a comfortable bed for a relaxing sleep. We therefore offer individually adjustable air conditioning in all our guest rooms.

According to European standards it cools your room either to a temperature between 18 and 24°C or, if the outside temperature is higher, to at least 6 degrees below the outside temperature.

However, it is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed the atmosphere and service at our bar. Thank you for sharing.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the Sofitel Munich. Absolutely fabulous service throughout the stay from all staff from the time the the car was taken to secure parking, to reception where they welcomed us by name, concierge, guest relations, bar staff, room service and finally check-out 3 days later.
The room (we were upgraded) was a suite and as comfortable as I have ever stayed with a very well equipped and spacious bathroom.
Location is excellent - 2 minutes walk to the main railway / underground station means it is so convenient to get around the city on its excellent public transport.
The indoor pool is unique in shape with massage jets & jacuzzi facilities; the spa was clearly very elegant.
Overall, what you expect and more from a 5* hotel and more! Excellence in every detail!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for sharing. It is a pleasure to hear how great a time you spent at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

I am already looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews