We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern design inside the historic exterior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #25 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here one night - the hotel is amazing in terms of design. Very modern with some lovely open spaces. Our room was fairly compact but very well designed and the most comfortable during the trip in Germany to date. Great beds with lovely down pillows, nice Hermes toiletries and coffee machine.
Only criticism was that the gym was a little small - would be nicer it it was large with more equipment.
Location adjacent to the station is quite convenient and you can walk into the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing! It is great to hear how much enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,743)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 3,743 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

the location of the hotel and the staff are the most remarkable things. however, you may not like the crowd at the train station that is very close to the hotel. Also, it is difficult to have good views out of the rooms which are not spacious but for young couples should be fine. I really enjoyed my stay, the hotel makes you feel comfortable and the staff are professional and very helpful. Also, the hotel is a waking distance from the shopping area. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel was verry clean ....staff was friendly and service was perfect ...rooms in hotel are in modern style and big...big plus was wellness center really nice and clean i was on business stay but i had in sofitel hotel good relax..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us make your stay such a relaxing one.

I'm already looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Pros:

Excellent spa
Nice indoor swimming Pool
Clean bedroom
Comfortable bed
Nice Bathroom
Outside seating at the bar
The concierge guy was very helpful
Kougias Nikolas the bar man was very good at his job and always trying to help

Cons:
Location is not in a good area of town, its next to the main train station but the area is scary if you walk alone at night.
The staff were not friendly
The bell man who helps you get your bags out of the car was very strange

Just overall i didn't get a good vibe from this hotel and i won't be going back again. I would prefer to stay at a hotel thats in the centre of everything happening. Its a 10 minute walk to the centre from this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a road view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for giving such a detailed report on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am sorry that we did not meet all your expectations during your time of stay. Thank you for pointing out were we can still improve. Rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures.

Truly, our location offers as well advantages as disadvantages. On the latter we are working together with station management and the city of Munich.

I therefore hope that we may welcome you again at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

On checking in, the receptionist was so busy emphasising that our room rate did not include breakfast he forgot to make us feel welcome to the hotel. The public areas are very impressive and look stunning. Our room in comparison was a bit disappointing as it was small and badly lit. There were also stains on the wallpaper which was surprising for a 5 star hotel. Apart from that the room was well equipped with Bose music system and Nespresso coffee machine and the room was comfortable and quiet. The rainshower was good but the hairdryer was not very powerful. The concierge was excellent and gave us a great restaurant recommendation which was exactly what we were looking for and the staff on checking out were very friendly so we left with an overall good impression despite getting off to a disappointing start. The pool with jacuzzi in the spa is a nice extra.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am glad to hear that, all in all, you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you as well for telling us about the things we could improve - especially regarding the service which is of course a key element of any luxury experience.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Sofitel in Munich is right next to the hauptbahnhof (central train station), so it is an extremely convenient location with numerous travel options. The room was completely modern with a very comfortable bed and was spotless. We enjoyed the in room Nespresso enough to purchase one upon our return home. The building is gorgeous and historic (it was the old Deutsche Post building). We did not eat in the hotel as the prices were very high, but that is to be expected, and instead ate next door at the numerous train station options. The rate was very good for what you get, and I highly recommend the Sofitel Munich.

Room Tip: make sure the windows are shut or the A/C won't work
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller9876123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for telling us about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to know that we inspire our guests by what we offer!

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Gorgeous hotel, with a gorgeous and comfortable room. The check-in staff was so kind as to upgrade us after we didn't arrive in due to flight delays until past midnight. The room was just stunning and so comfortable. Large, deep soaking tub and comfy pillowed bed.

The only negatives I'd have to share are that the lights were ridiculously difficult to figure out and there wasn't an iron or ironing board which I needed to help straighten out the clothes I planned to wear to a business meeting the next day.

Small niggly things though given how great the overall experience was.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristie617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and that we could make your stay even more pleasant by upgrading you on arrival.

We do not keep ironing boards and irons in our rooms for safety reasons. However, we will provide you with one right upon notice.

I hope that we may welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#99 of 385 in Munich
2,615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#17 of 385 in Munich
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,662 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 385 in Munich
694 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £171 - £633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing