We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor and service....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #25 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Overall this is a lovely hotel with super service from the front desk. From the outside it looks like an "old world" classic type of place, but once inside the doors you'll see that it's actually an ultra-modern design. If you're into the type of old world charm that the exterior suggests then this isn't the place for you. Fans of modernism will be right at home.

In terms of location it's right beside the main train station in Munich - literally a 1 minute walk - so if you want convenience for getting around on the underground and easy access in and out of the airport it's perfect. It's about a 15 minute walk down to the tourist centre, so it's a really great location for sight-seeing.

There were a couple of issues. Housekeeping could have been better. For example, coffee pods weren't replaced daily, only one bath towel was left even though we were a couple, a half empty bottle of water wasn't replaced. These are relatively minor things...but they matter when you're staying in what's supposed to be a high end property. Also, the spa was closed for maintenance which was disappointing.

The restaurant and bar looked fine but didn't seem to have much atmosphere so we avoided them and went to Munich's famous beer halls instead!!

Overall it's a great hotel, especially for couples. The rooms are very comfortable - a bit on the small side - but really nice and romantic. It has a real feeling of luxury for a price that's fairly mid-range in most cities. We paid about €130 per night which I thought was great value. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a short romantic break to this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kkgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for telling us about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. However, you are absolutely right: A stay should be perfect from the beginning to the end and this includs housekeeping to a special degree. Rest assured that we take your comment seriously and have already applied the necessary measures to improve our performance.

The next time you'll visit, I am sure that we will convince you completely.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 3,765 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is situated less than 100 m from the central railway station, so very good for travelers that come by train. To and from the airport is a direct train, but it takes 45 minutes.
In walking distance to the centre of Munich with all the shopping and sightseeing.
Luxury rooms although al little dark but with nice colors.
My room was a the far end in a corner of the hotel with a very small bathroom.
Helpful staff and service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

Best regards


Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Walking distance from the central station except for that a new comer may get lost his way within the station. Well renovated and keeps the charm of Sofitel brand.
Breakfast was great Eventhough in my package it was charged extra. Driving to this hotel using my rented car was cumbersome.
Staff very helpful and cooperative....
Adviced for anyone who look forward to be pampered for a premium....

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this great feedback! And: should you ever get lost in Munich's Central station, don't hesitate to call. We know your way out.

I'm already looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Location - perfect to railway station and walking distance to MarienPlatz (main shopping area).
Be aware, dogs are welcome in this hotel which is hard to get used to coming from Australia.
Excellent service

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. And thank you for telling us about the dogs. It is always very helpful to know what guests from different regions expect from a hotel stay.

I hope that you will soon again find the time to come over from Australia.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

For a hotel that caters to international traveler, I found the help to be lacking. It is a nice facility but the lighting and plumbing were difficult to figure out. When I did ask for help they were responsive but when you can't turn on the light it is hard to ask for help

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I'm sorry to hear that technical difficulties marred your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. We will therefore use your comment for future renovation projects.

Thank you!

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#21 of 385 in Munich
602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#101 of 385 in Munich
2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,700 reviews
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £168 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing