We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE hotel to stay in Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #28 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Islamabad, Pakistan
1 review
“THE hotel to stay in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost is THE hotel to stay in in Munich if you're going to Munich. I really haven't seen a better hotel in Germany yet. The rooms are very nice, the service is great and also dinner is just awesome!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,085
    961
    292
    140
    70
See reviews for
565
1,415
275
893
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Just returned from a 3-day trip staying at Sofitel Munich and the whole experience was great!
The location is just perfect, a few minutes from the Marienplatz and a few steps (really few!) from the Central Station.
The decoration and the ambient are perfect and although the majority os guests were on business, me and my wife had a lovely staying.
The bed itself and the shower were an unforgettable experience.
The Sophie´s Bistrot, however, was the negative point of our stay. We dined there one night and it really does not match the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RabbitCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

The Sofitel Munich Bayer Post was a wonderful place to call home while we visited Munich. The check in was very easy, we were even able to get into our room at 11 am. The front desk was helpful. The decor was very modern within a beautiful old building. Whenever you entered the hotel there was a very pleasant scent, it had to be intentional, that made me feel relaxed and welcomed. While the square footage might seem low by American standards, the room was very well designed so we didn't feel crowded. The room felt luxurious and comfortable.

The Bose music system and moveable TV made my baths wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable. The pillows had us looking at buying some for home. Finally the breakfast had everything you could ever want including English (French etc..) newspapers to read, eggs made to order and Kiwi juice (as well as all the standards). Wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

While the location of this hotel is not scenic (beside the train station) it is extremely convenient. The train station is right there, and it is only a very short walk to Marienplatz and all the historic sights. At the train station there is everything for anyone on the go - good inexpensive food, newsprint shops, ATMs, entrance to the underground, it is from where many tours of the area depart, and of course, there are the trains, including to the airport. I did not find it noisy or see any transients around the hotel, and felt very safe walking back to the hotel in the evening, despite it not being the best part of town. As for my room - not much of a view, but a very spacious room with a beautiful bath, and a bed I wish I could take home, it was so comfortable. The hotel is spotlessly clean, and I found the staff to be helpful and polite. Don't forget your bathingsuit - the pool has to be seen to be believed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed at the hotel with clients.
Pros: very good staff, helpful and friendly throughout the place; spectacular and well designed public spaces; nice Hermes amenities in the rooms; Nespresso machines in the rooms which is a nice touch. comfy beds
Cons: room rates are steep during the week, even for Munich, while rooms are not too big and rather darkish. Value for money so...so; location next to main station is convenient, however, not one of Munich's most stylish....
A good choice on an expense account.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montgolfier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Have just returned from 2 days in Munich post ski-ing where we stayed in the Sofitel. The location next to the main station would be hard to beat, particualrly given the excellent S bahn, tram and underground connections. The check in staff (jeffrey) were outstanding - patient and attentive. We were lucky to get an upgrade to a duplex suite and the room would be hard to beat - double floor room height windows with electric blinds, terrific shower and the best beds I can remember. The spa is dark and calming with a semi circular stone floored pool, which feels like something from a James Bond movie. We ate in the Sophie's brasserie and the food was also excellent. Overall a really excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
469 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Overall, the hotel is right next to the main train station and is in excellent condition. The rooms are completely modern and almost like a slightly more conservative "W" hotel. Everything is kept sparkling clean and it was exceptionally comfortable. Enjoyed the fresh apples at the front desk every morning.

Nothing bad to say at all!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#94 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Property: Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#16 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing