We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location, nice rooms”
Review of Hotel Rothof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rothof
Ranked #154 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Peaceful location, nice rooms”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel while participating in the Munich Marathon. It is (roughly) 10 minute walk from an underground station. You could walk all the way from the main station, though it takes about 40 minutes. The location is very quiet, and the rooms are of decent size. My room had a balcony and a couch. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Breakfast was included, and consisted of coffee, juice, cereals, bread, fruit, and a meat/cheese platter. The second day I stayed there some of the rolls seemed a little stale (almost like leftovers from the previous day), though that was a very minor complaint. The price was a little high, but considering the room size, and included breakfast, it was a good deal. This hotel is worth staying at, especially if you want a quieter location in Munich.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cHris78654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    72
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
34
8
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

The hotel is located in Bogenhausen, not a touristy area but very useful if you have any business in the companies nearby. As a tourist, you can also stay here and take the U4 to the city - that's only a 10 minute ride!
The room I had was very nice, a seating area, a desk and the bed. You could not watch TV from the bed, but I don't care about that. Although the room and the bed were large enough for accommodating a couple, everything was set up for one person only (number of towels, sheets on the bed, soap, etc.). I found this a little unusual but it didn't bother me.
The best of all, however, was the breakfast. Although not huge, it had an exceptionally high quality, fresh tropical fruit, fresh orange juice that was squeezed in front of your eyes, local specialties like white sausages, lots of healthy stuff,... I found that the selection was superb, and you could feel and taste that all this was prepared with love.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andiiiiiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

The Hotel Rothof is set in a leafy and pleasant wooded area. We had booked it because of its proximity to some of our relatives, so we were surprised when we arrived to find that it is part of a rather nice sports complex. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The room design was in the post-War German style. Somewhat spare, nothing plush, but spotlessly clean and solidly built. The cleanliness was high even by German standards. We came back to the hotel for drinks after dinner and found the lobby and upstairs bar area empty, but the night staff very kindly stepped in and arranged for us to have a comfortable place to talk. The bottle of Blaufranken wine we were served was above expectations. The staff was pleasant. Check out was a breeze. We would stay at this hotel again. It's not a five star luxury hotel, to be sure, but perfectly fine for the purpose.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andlovingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 January 2006

Don't quite understand the previous review. There is a very nice cocktail style bar which also serves high quality food - very friendly service and local clientele. There is also a good breakfast restaurant, and a snack cafe in the foyer - both high quality. The local restaurants are in a pleasant area which backs onto the hotel itself - 1 minute away! Great hotel at reasonable prices - eg, £70 for a double room, or £57 for a single. You won't be disappointed - we've used it for several years - consistent value!!

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2004

After a few days at the Arabella Sheraton Bogenhausen we could not take it any more (not a nice one and as most Sheraton's - seriously over-priced!). Luckily we'd heard of this hotel so we took a look and really liked it. Despite lacking things like room service, a bar or a restaurant (there are quite a few of them 5 minutes walk away), the very nice rooms and lovely staff that do almost anything to make your stay a pleasant one more compensated for that. Highly recommended if you are looking for a relaxing stay! In addition - if you like tennis, you have a large center with both outdoor and indoor courts (as well as a gym) 100 meters away.

Helpful?
4 Thank Lassebabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
0.8 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
0.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Munchen Ost
1.2 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#59 of 382 in Munich
1,912 reviews
2.5 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rothof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rothof

Property: Hotel Rothof
Address: Denninger Str. 114, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rothof 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rothof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing