We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right Choice for Business or Short Stay”
Review of Hotel Rothof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rothof
Ranked #137 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Right Choice for Business or Short Stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a very short stay, literally one night after a long journey by car and before going to the airport next morning. We got a positive impression from the hotel – welcoming stuff, large room, good breakfast – everything was good. The only issue we met – we failed to find a restaurant for the dinner – we just lost in the park :). But the breakfast was fine, and we were sitting outdoor, enjoying both weather and food. The location of the hotel is good for a relaxing walk – it’s located in the city park (not a nature reserve, but still ok for the big city).
I’d recommend this hotel for business travelers, or for short stays. For tourists it’s located a bit far from sites you may want to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey_from_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    71
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
33
7
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peyia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
313 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It happen to stay for one night in Munich before travelling to another country.
We decided for this small hotel situated in a semicentral area of Munich which is extremely well served with public transportation. The room is very large and very quite, the hotel is very clean and lie at the bord of a small park. The personnel is extremely nice and helpful and wifi is free in the room. 107 € for a large two people bedroom is a value price!

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Great little place outside main city centre in lovely garden surroundings, with free street parking, wifi, and ubahn station 5 mins walk away. Room was nice size, staff were friendly, everything very clean. Great restaurant attached to sports complex. Highly recommend the burger and the salad with chicken or steak. Simple fare done well!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is slightly out of munich centre but the subway is only 5 mins walk away and takes you straight through to the centre in 10 mins.
The hotel, just like most of Germany, is immaculate. The hotel and rooms are spotless and the garden is lovely. We ate breakfast outside every morning - breakfast is good with a nice variety of food to choose from.
There was a hotel restaurant, gym, spa and tennis courts two mins from the hotel but we only found these by accident - the staff member did not tell us where these facilities were when we arrived - it was only by exploring what we thought was a park, that we stumbled upon them.
There were two members of staff who were very helpful - a finnish man and an Asian man who told us were the beer festivals were and other nice places to visit.
Biggest drawback of this hotel was there was no kettle in the room and it was awkward leaving the room to find a drink of anything - we did get coffees from downstairs but we had to get them ourselves as there was no room service. There are supermarkets 5 mins away so we bought juice from there and kept it in the minibar fridge.
Would stay there again but would recommend them having a kettle in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBrightside23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

It´s not at a central location but it´s perfect for a couple or even for those who realy want a quiet location. We booked for 3 nights and the room was very big with one king bed and two others beds. There was an amazing and spacious balcony and the breakfast was very good with fresh fruits, breads, cheese, salmon and other tipical stuff. You can have breakfast at an open area/garden and you can use a huge area from a park/spa behind the hotel if you are a guest from the hotel. It´s a place where I would book again for sure. You can have free parking in front of the hotel which is vary safe and make a difference because others hotel have a parking fee of 20/30 Euros per day. Ah, the wifi is very good but you have to log in everday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We turned up in Munich at 9pm at night with no reservation and after looking at the ones near the station we decided to try elsewhere. Luckily we ended up here at 2200. Luckily the very nice man on the desk upgraded us to a fantastic room with a huge balcony overlooking a private garden when hearing we were on honeymoon. He also ordered us dinner at the adjoining restaurant so we wouldn't miss dinner. Thai veggie curry was lovely! The room was very large, well equipped and bed super-comfortable. The breakfast was superb continental cold style, but the quality was truly excellent with juice you could make yourself and unbelievably good bread. Breakfast was also in the lovely garden. A short walk to the metro and you are in the centre of Munich. Staff were very helpful and friendly and took obvious pride in their hotel and city. Definitely worth returning to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landcruiser_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked two rooms for seven nights, arriving 24th August. By the end of our visit the three of us had therefore got to know the hotel and the surrounding area pretty well.

As far as location is concerned you'll be in a quieter suburb of Munich compared with the hustle and bustle of the city centre. It's a very pleasant ten minute stroll to the nearest underground station, Richard Strauss Straße, which is on the U4 line. A group underground ticket for the three of us (giving unlimited access to the inner zone for one day) cost 10.6 euros. The main station is around 10 minutes (7 stops) away. Compared with London, riding on the underground was a real pleasure with wide platforms, airy stations, and far less people! The only day we did have a problem was when we took the mainline train from central station to Saltzburg. Arriving back around 9:30pm we couldn't see any U4 trains running and resorted to a taxi (around 17 euros) to get us back to the hotel. Looking at Wikipedia on our return, the U4 only runs between Max-Weber-Platz and Arabella Park after 9pm. Not a big problem if we'd known! We'd simply have walked to Max-Weber-Platz to catch the underground.

Another review on tripadvisor says that it takes around 40 mins to walk from the main station in the centre of Munich to the hotel. I keep myself fit but even so I think that's a fairly optimistic estimate! At a brisk pace it took me around 50 to 55 minutes. It's a lovely walk along the banks of the river Isar but given the distance (and the uphill stretch on the way back) I'm not sure it would be everyone's cup of tea or something to rely on too often.

By the Richard Strauss Straße underground station you'll find a little shopping precinct with three supermarkets and the Vapiano restaurant. There's also a cash point. We all thought Vapiano was great and returned there a number of times. Quality Italian food cooked while you watch and a really nice outdoor seating area. Very popular with the locals.

We paid for the private parking option with is on the bottom level of an access controlled underground car park beneath the hotel. This cost 13 euros a day. A number of visitors chose this option but there was always plenty of space available. We noted some cars parked along the quiet, wide road outside the hotel but as we had private parking we didn't enquire about any road parking restrictions.

The hotel itself had a light and airy feeling and was nicely decorated. It's not overly huge which also helped to give it a nice feel. The room was spacious with a balcony overlooking the very well kept hotel garden. However there was only one balcony chair between two. Another small disappointment was the lack of a kettle/tea/coffee making facilities in the room. On our first night, one of the hotel staff said they would get us a kettle but it never turned up during the entire week. Tea on the outside terrace cost 3 euros per person. Add another 4 euros if you want it via room service. The beds are very comfy and the door onto the balcony either opens normally or on an angle to allow a through flow of air.

Breakfast was excellent with a well stocked and varied buffet which the staff constantly checked. The orange juice squeezing machine proved very popular.

Next to the hotel is a sports complex, under the same ownership, with facilities including a gym, sauna and tennis courts. We tried the gym and sauna which are free to hotel guests. The quickest way to get there is to cut through the park at the rear of the hotel. If you're into jogging or want a quiet walk then do check out the park.

All in all a very pleasant stay with polite and friendly staff and we'd have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krizz00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
0.8 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
0.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Freisinger Hof Hotel
Freisinger Hof Hotel
#151 of 383 in Munich
149 reviews
2.5 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
1.2 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#60 of 383 in Munich
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rothof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rothof

Property: Hotel Rothof
Address: Denninger Str. 114, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rothof 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rothof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing