We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Ranked #16 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in December. It was a very pleasant experience. The room was clean, the bathroom not too small and in the room. We received the senior citizen rate of 145 euros a night and that made it even better. The staff was helpful and friendly. It is located near many attractions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with confidence.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexander.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik, die ich gerne an mein Personal weitergebe.
Es freut mich, das wir Ihnen einen schönen Aufenthalt ermöglicht haben.
Auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen, ich würde mich freuen, wenn Sie sich zu erkennen geben und ich mich persönlich bei Ihnen für Ihre Mühe der Bewertung bedanken kann
Stefan Grosse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Yes I would definitely stay here again!

We stayed here 6-10 September 2013. And my fiancee and I were extremely pleased. The lady at the front desk was so very helpful and bubbly, making us feel like one of the family. All other staff were very good as well.

Our room #23 was facing the road, but little noise was heard. I think it was a Premium room and it was large, nice and bright with modern decor and plenty of windows. The bed was very comfy and had a great sleep every night after full day of site seeing. It also had its own bathroom including shower and toilet.

The breakfast room had a large selection of cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, juices, etc. Just what every traveller needs to keep the sustenance.

The location of the hotel is great. A quiet area. A number of restaurants just a short stroll that will tempt any taste-buds. Directly across the road is the Schrannenhalle which is sort of a modern market of fresh produce and other items, including a very large Milka chocolate shop. Just down the street a short way is the heart of the open air world-renowned Viktualienmarkt, full of flower shops, produce and a large open beer hall in the middle. And a little further down the street is the Marienplatz, full of shops to browse. All these are within only a few minutes of the hotel.

If your staying in Munich, you should definitely consider the Hotel Blauer Bock.

Room Tip: Room #23 very large, bright with plenty of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik, die ich gerne an mein Personal weitergebe.
Es freut mich, das wir Ihnen einen schönen Aufenthalt ermöglicht haben.
Auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen, ich würde mich freuen, wenn Sie sich zu erkennen geben und ich mich persönlich bei Ihnen für Ihre Mühe der Bewertung bedanken kann
Stefan Grosse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is located right where you want to be for a few days in Munich. 5 mins to the Marienplatz subway station in the city centre. It is walking distance to many of the attractions and there are loads of restaurants around. The Christkindlemarkt was also just around the corner and we loved walking through it each day.

Our room, an economy double, was basic but clean. Beds are decent and there is plenty of room to store away clothes, however there was no safe in the room which the hotel brochure says their is. There is also no bathroom in the room, which we knew going into our stay but assumed it would be similar to the shared bathrooms you find hostels - sharing with a few other rooms dormitory style. Unfortunately, the bathrooms were located on the second floor at the opposite end of the hotel and we were staying on the third floor. Walking to the bathroom in the middle of the night was not convenient whatsoever and had we known there would be no bathroom on our floor we probably would have booked elsewhere or coughed up the extra money to stay in a room with a bathroom. The bathrooms kept very clean however and are perfectly fine if you're close to them. We asked to be switched to a room on the second floor after learning this but there was nothing available.

Breakfast is great and well presented and the front desk staff are helpful - overall we had a great stay and our only issue was the bathrooms being so far away.

Room Tip: If booking an economy double, ask to be on the same floor as a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theLUXpeditioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and also the criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be better.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights in early December. I chose it because of it's close proximity to Marienplatz. It was perfect as I wanted to be only a short walk to the many beer halls & restaurants. It is a fairly budget hotel, but it was very clean, with a decent breakfast & everything I needed from a hotel. My only small criticism would be that the room was a little too warm, but I turned the radiatiors off upon arrival & left the window slightly open & it was fine. I think with Munich being fairly cold a lot of places tend to over compensate with heating. Would definitely return.

2  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and also the small criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be perfect :).
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Clean, warm and comfortable lodgings. I stayed in a single room that was comfortable for one person and two big bags. The staff was charming and helpful, especially in letting me know which of the Christmas markets were the best to start with and end up with. Breakfast provided a wide range of options and the coffee was strong. A great value for the price-point.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik, die ich gerne an mein Personal weitergebe.
Es freut mich, das wir Ihnen einen schönen Aufenthalt ermöglicht haben.
Auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen, ich würde mich freuen, wenn Sie sich zu erkennen geben und ich mich persönlich bei Ihnen für Ihre Mühe der Bewertung bedanken kann
Stefan Grosse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This a great hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi were included. It is centrally located, right across from the Viktualienmarkt and just steps from the Marienplatz. My room was clean, nothing extravagant, and it overlooked the courtyard next door. I can't say I have any complaints about this hotel. It's a great value and a great location. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaMarieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik, die ich gerne an mein Personal weitergebe.
Es freut mich, das wir Ihnen einen schönen Aufenthalt ermöglicht haben.
Auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen, ich würde mich freuen, wenn Sie sich zu erkennen geben und ich mich persönlich bei Ihnen für Ihre Mühe der Bewertung bedanken kann
Stefan Grosse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Right across from the Viktualienmarkt with good shops and restaurants nearby. We had a double room that was very large with a small sitting area in the corner. The room was in the back of the building so it was very quiet at night despite being there on a weekend with lots of street traffic. Breakfast was outstanding and the restaurant area was very pleasant and comfortable.

For the price, you cant beat the location, we could walk to all the sights and never needed to take a taxi. The Marienplatz train station is also very close so it was easy to get to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jemmabeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik, die ich gerne an mein Personal weitergebe.
Es freut mich, das wir Ihnen einen schönen Aufenthalt ermöglicht haben.
Auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen, ich würde mich freuen, wenn Sie sich zu erkennen geben und ich mich persönlich bei Ihnen für Ihre Mühe der Bewertung bedanken kann
Stefan Grosse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.3 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 385 in Munich
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#41 Business Hotel in Munich
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £77 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing