We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey for only the bare necessities, but it does the job”
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Ranked #18 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little pricey for only the bare necessities, but it does the job”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Having read multiple reviews prior to making my reservation, I was well aware of what I was getting when I booked my room at Hotel Blauer Bock, and my experience met my expectations. This is definitely a "no frills" place. Some rooms offer private toilets and showers, but you will pay more for this luxury. My room had its own toilet, but the shower was shared with about 30 other rooms and was located one floor above mine... actually, it was almost directly over my head, so I could hear people showering all night. There was also construction going on outside, which made a bit of a racket, and the walls are pretty thin, but I wasn't disturbed too much by noise.

The accommodations were minimal, but the room was warm, clean, and neat. The staff were friendly, but I didn't put them to the test with any special requests. The best parts about this hotel were as follows: 1) The price of the room includes an excellent buffet breakfast, 2) The location is very convenient, pretty much directly next to the Victualienmarkt, 3) 24hr desk service; you can check in 24hrs a day, and they hold your key for you at the front desk when you go out so you don't have to worry about losing it somewhere, 4) There's a very nice little closet next to the front desk where you can stash bags if you want to check out earlier and come back later in the day to pick them up (checkout time is 11am).

If you're using the shared bathroom, consider bringing your own robe. It will cost you 5 euro to rent one at the front desk. Also, consider bringing your own hair dryer, as my room did not have one.

Room Tip: Try to request a room with a private toilet and shower if you can afford it and they have those room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik,
es tut mir leid, das wir Sie nicht über die Renovierungsmaßnahmen von Januar bis Juli diesen Jahres infomiert haben.
Richtig stellen muß ich jedoch das sich in der günstigsten Kategorie, die Sie gebucht haben nur 9 Zimmer zwei öffentliche Bäder teilen und nicht 30.
Alle anderen 60 Zimmer haben Dusche WC und Fön standardmäßig.
Bei Online Buchungen sind die Kategorien ausführlich beschrieben.
Vielleicht können wir Sie bei einem nächsten Besuch von unserem Angebot noch besser überzeugen.
Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    336
    71
    15
    12
See reviews for
125
311
107
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is centrally located in Munich on a quiet street and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are very basic, but still nice although the walls are very thin and I could hear the person in the next room snore. The breakfast was good; there was a wide range of food to select from. I stayed there for work and would do so again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzEnglishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik, die ich gerne an mein Personal weitergebe.
Es freut mich, das wir Ihnen einen schönen Aufenthalt ermöglicht haben.
Auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen, ich würde mich freuen, wenn Sie sich zu erkennen geben und ich mich persönlich bei Ihnen für Ihre Mühe der Bewertung bedanken kann
Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect. It is very close to downtown. Please note that some rooms don't have wc and bath :) but the shared bathroom is clean and we didn't see anybody during our stay. Except this we really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The breakfast was perfect (for price we have paid). The reception ladies are very welcoming. There are several opportunities to park car: in the hotel's garage (book in advance), on the street or in the mall nearby.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik, die ich gerne an mein Personal weitergebe.
Es freut mich, das wir Ihnen einen schönen Aufenthalt ermöglicht haben.
Auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen, ich würde mich freuen, wenn Sie sich zu erkennen geben und ich mich persönlich bei Ihnen für Ihre Mühe der Bewertung bedanken kann
Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in December. It was a very pleasant experience. The room was clean, the bathroom not too small and in the room. We received the senior citizen rate of 145 euros a night and that made it even better. The staff was helpful and friendly. It is located near many attractions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with confidence.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik, die ich gerne an mein Personal weitergebe.
Es freut mich, das wir Ihnen einen schönen Aufenthalt ermöglicht haben.
Auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen, ich würde mich freuen, wenn Sie sich zu erkennen geben und ich mich persönlich bei Ihnen für Ihre Mühe der Bewertung bedanken kann
Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Yes I would definitely stay here again!

We stayed here 6-10 September 2013. And my fiancee and I were extremely pleased. The lady at the front desk was so very helpful and bubbly, making us feel like one of the family. All other staff were very good as well.

Our room #23 was facing the road, but little noise was heard. I think it was a Premium room and it was large, nice and bright with modern decor and plenty of windows. The bed was very comfy and had a great sleep every night after full day of site seeing. It also had its own bathroom including shower and toilet.

The breakfast room had a large selection of cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, juices, etc. Just what every traveller needs to keep the sustenance.

The location of the hotel is great. A quiet area. A number of restaurants just a short stroll that will tempt any taste-buds. Directly across the road is the Schrannenhalle which is sort of a modern market of fresh produce and other items, including a very large Milka chocolate shop. Just down the street a short way is the heart of the open air world-renowned Viktualienmarkt, full of flower shops, produce and a large open beer hall in the middle. And a little further down the street is the Marienplatz, full of shops to browse. All these are within only a few minutes of the hotel.

If your staying in Munich, you should definitely consider the Hotel Blauer Bock.

Room Tip: Room #23 very large, bright with plenty of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Kritik, die ich gerne an mein Personal weitergebe.
Es freut mich, das wir Ihnen einen schönen Aufenthalt ermöglicht haben.
Auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen, ich würde mich freuen, wenn Sie sich zu erkennen geben und ich mich persönlich bei Ihnen für Ihre Mühe der Bewertung bedanken kann
Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is located right where you want to be for a few days in Munich. 5 mins to the Marienplatz subway station in the city centre. It is walking distance to many of the attractions and there are loads of restaurants around. The Christkindlemarkt was also just around the corner and we loved walking through it each day.

Our room, an economy double, was basic but clean. Beds are decent and there is plenty of room to store away clothes, however there was no safe in the room which the hotel brochure says their is. There is also no bathroom in the room, which we knew going into our stay but assumed it would be similar to the shared bathrooms you find hostels - sharing with a few other rooms dormitory style. Unfortunately, the bathrooms were located on the second floor at the opposite end of the hotel and we were staying on the third floor. Walking to the bathroom in the middle of the night was not convenient whatsoever and had we known there would be no bathroom on our floor we probably would have booked elsewhere or coughed up the extra money to stay in a room with a bathroom. The bathrooms kept very clean however and are perfectly fine if you're close to them. We asked to be switched to a room on the second floor after learning this but there was nothing available.

Breakfast is great and well presented and the front desk staff are helpful - overall we had a great stay and our only issue was the bathrooms being so far away.

Room Tip: If booking an economy double, ask to be on the same floor as a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theLUXpeditioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and also the criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be better.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights in early December. I chose it because of it's close proximity to Marienplatz. It was perfect as I wanted to be only a short walk to the many beer halls & restaurants. It is a fairly budget hotel, but it was very clean, with a decent breakfast & everything I needed from a hotel. My only small criticism would be that the room was a little too warm, but I turned the radiatiors off upon arrival & left the window slightly open & it was fine. I think with Munich being fairly cold a lot of places tend to over compensate with heating. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and also the small criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be perfect :).
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,947 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 383 in Munich
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Property: Hotel Blauer Bock
Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
#41 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing