We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore Munich”
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Ranked #17 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellent location to explore Munich and just a few steps from the Beer Garden and the main square. Very good breakfast.
We asked and pre paid a double room with shared bathroom on the same floor. The hotel was being renovated so due to the works we were given a 2 beds room with a shared bathroom on another floor...when we complaint, the solution was to pay 20€ more to have another room...not fair!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanacnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback and also the criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be better.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is very convenient to the main square and other attractions. You can easily access any other area in the city by train or tram from the main square. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is currently under some construction and we were given a beautifully renovated room. We were there three nights and the first morning we were woken up at 7:00 by construction noise. The other two days there was no construction, but it was a national holiday on Thursday and Friday. We were driving and the parking cost 22 euros per night. That adds up for a three-night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung,
leider muß ich Ihnen sagen das Sie bei uns noch günstig geparkt haben die Preise in der Münchner Innenstadt in öffentlichen Parkhäusern liegen bei bis zu 33€/pro Tag.
Unsere Rezeption hat bei Nachfrage immer eine günstige Alternative zur Hand, jedoch nicht im Haus sondern 10 Minuten zu Fuß entfernt.
Ich würde mich freuen wenn Sie sich beim nächsten Besuch bei mir melden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very nice remodeling - still in progress with construction noise during the day. No shower curtains & Wifi doesn't work in most rooms and breakfast area. Clean & comfortable but very inconvenient to go down to lobby to access Internet.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rib51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback and also the criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be better.
We are sorry for the problems with the Wifi-connection during your stay. Because of our renovation, we had these problems in the rooms, but it's solved! Wifi is working on the rooms again.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My mom and I stayed in this beautiful hotel in May 2013. The room was not too big, but impecable, clean, and cared about the small details. Excellent location, a couple blocks from Marienplatz, in front of Viktualienmarkt... so close from metro and bus, it was very convenient when rainning!
Something important: this hotel has great attention from the front desk. They were very nice and extremely helpful with directions, and to arrange for a taxi to the airport at 4am.
But the best part was the breakfast! it was included in the price, a very complete meal served in this well illuminated, elegant dinning room. We noticed a lot of people came to have breakfast, even if not staying at the hotel, so that means something.
Totally would stay there again if I'm back in Munich one day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaG10987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
We are very glad of hearing, that you had such a nice stay in Munich
and also flattered that you call us as jewel in munich.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here in December. The hotel itself was easy to find and the double room was very cosy and comfortable. The bathroom looked like it had recently been upgraded so was modern and fresh.

We found the breakfast to be ok but it was the same each day we were there.

The location was very central and despite the cold weather, we embraced the Munchen Xmas Market!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelSha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
We are very glad of hearing, that you had such a nice stay in Munich and
would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Just in the center of Munich it is close to .... everything . You can go to almost everywhere on foot. These days the hotel is under renovation.
We were a company of six persons and we all stay there. Although we all had renovated rooms we all had some complaints. If you spent 210,00 euros per night the bed mattresses have to be at least comfortable and towels clean and soft. There are only German TV channels and there is not refrigerator. Rooms are clean and cosy but they didn't give enough attention at the details when they renovated them. Be careful there are still rooms without a bathroom . Breakfast is average for this price . Stuff is very polite and helpful . It's a shame because with a little more bit of taste , this hotel in this location could have been one of the best in Munich.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GEORGE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and also the criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be better.
In our hotel, there are just some rooms, where the televisions belong to an older generation and do not have englisch TV channels, but we already looking for solving this problem.
In order, you want to cool something, you could bring this to the front desk, where we can store it for you.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Hotel Blauer Bock is in superb central location. We were allocated room no 28 at the front of the hotel & yes there was quite a lot of road noise, but then this is a city center hotel. The room was very clean & spacious with 2 easy chairs & a table. The beds for us were a little too soft but the pillows & quilts were lovely.
You have your radiator which you can turn on & off as like & 2 excellent full opening windows. The shower was very good if a little on the small side, trying to shower & keep the curtains inside the tray was a work of art!!! With such limited space a wet room shower would have been easier. But everything was very clean & very practical.
There are no tea & coffee facilities & no tissues. Storage space was again excellent with 2 hooks for hanging coats on behind the door. If you want an iron then you have to leave a deposit but they are available.
I note a lot of comments about the wi fi but I had no issues, it worked without any difficulty in the room, also mentioned was the lights at night making the room too bright, there is a blind as well as the curtains so again not an issue. The staff were all very friendly both at reception & at breakfast. The breakfast was very nice with a good selection of fresh fruit, cereals, scrambled egg, soft & hard boiled eggs, delicious jams, cheese, meat & bread etc. The Danish pastries were to die for, but only arrived at about 08.10am ish, we even had caviar & smoked salmon one day!!! Coffee is in a thermal jug on every table & hot water is provided via an urn for tea. We did experience one dreadful breakfast which was in no way the fault of the hotel (in fact the staff looked as horrified as the rest of the guests!!!) as some very unruly children run riot in the breakfast room, climbing on seats, shouting & the mess!!!! I am only glad they were not English, Australian I think.
We stayed here for the Christmas Market & the location could not have been better only a 5 or 6 minutes’ walk away.
It is very easy to transfer from the airport using the trains/ s bahn. The ticket machines are in the main entrance/exit hall & are already validated when printed, all work in English & give change.
Although we didn’t eat in the hotel, we did however try the Ratskeller which is under the town hall & the food & the staff were excellent (menus in english).

Room Tip: Would probably be quieter at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msjlightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
We are very glad of hearing, that you had such a nice stay in Munich and
would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 385 in Munich
1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.3 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
#41 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £77 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing