We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location with Delicious Breakfast”
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Ranked #17 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location with Delicious Breakfast”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The best part of this hotel is its location as it is only less than a 5 minute walk to Marienplatz and its metro station. The rooms were a descents size, and the only negative was the shower that consisted of a misting power washer. Our room faced the courtyard which was very quiet a night even with the windows. One of our favorite parts of this hotel was its breakfast. Out of the seven hotels we stayed in during our trek across Europe this one had the best breakfast with the most options. Also, unlike some other European hotels, this one has an elevator.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steeler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very glad of hearing, that you had such a nice stay in Munich and your nice words regarding our team.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    325
    70
    15
    12
See reviews for
119
298
103
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Hill, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Under renovation. Sure it will be lovely when complete. Fire escape as it currently appears look like your in prison. Hopefully this was temporary with the construction. Rooms are small but nice. The water pressure in the shower will knock you out! Great location!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottC350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and also the criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be better.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location as the Viktualmarkt is at the end of the street, the Deutches Museum is 15 minutes walk and it is only 5 mins walk to Marienplatz. I stayed in a single room which was small but very clean. The room also included a safe. The only drawbacks were the noise from the cafes and restaurants in the street below until very late every night and not being able to access the free internet in my room almost all of the time. It would be good if the hotel had soundproof windows. The breakfast buffet served every morning was very good and there was a large range of foods to choose from-cereals, dried fruit, nuts, seeds, yogurt, cold meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, eggs (boiled or scrambled), juices, coffee. The scrambled eggs are highly recommended. The hotel restaurant also serves very good food. The staff at reception and in the restaurant were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and also the criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be better.
The problems with the Wifi are already solved. They just have been there, because of the renovation.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I do not usually write reviews. However, I have been traveling more frequently lately and realize how much I rely on these reviews to help me decide where to stay in a new city.
I felt strongly enough about my (disappointing) experience with this hotel to take the time to write. I really wanted to like this hotel. With regards to the location, this hotel is ideal. It is an easy 2 stops on the metro from Muenchen HBF to the Marienplatz station. Probably a 5 min walk from there. It is right in the middle of the city center, where many of the tourist attractions can be accessed on foot, including the Viktualmarkt.
Be aware, the hotel IS undergoing renovation so you will see the scaffolding on one side of the building and will hear the workers and equipment if you are there during the day or if you like to sleep in. (If you are out sightseeing, it probably won't be a big deal for you.) The room I stayed in was newly renovated with nice decor. It was small but not terrible. The bathroom was also small but not cramped. The glass shower door did not keep it's seal at the floor so expect some water to accumulate on the bathroom floor.
The breakfast buffet was better than most hotels of in this price range in Germany.
The wifi is advertised as free and available throughout the hotel, including your room. It is actually NOT available in your room. If you do get a connection while sitting in the lobby, you will be forced to login every few minutes, as for some reason, the system kicks you off of the connection multiple times at random. Unfortunately, I am dependent on wifi for business and communications back in the U.S. so this is an important factor in determining which hotel I will book. I brought this to the staff's attention and was moved to a new room to see if the connection was better there. It wasn't. I was told that it was related to the construction but was offered no other solution. Tough luck.
I requested to speak with the manager to discuss this - perhaps he could offer a discount or recommend a nearby cafe where I could get a connection. I was told he was very busy and was not available at the moment. They would let me know when he was back in his office. About 15-20 min later, I received a call to my room from the front desk staff telling me that the manager will not speak with me and that his solution is that I can leave the hotel and find another place to stay. This took me by surprise. My only option is to leave?
At no time was I rude or raise my voice to the hotel staff. I understand that some things are out of our control and was willing to accept that I would not be able to rely on the wifi. Yes, if I was that unhappy about it, I could leave. But, as a guest who was expecting a service that was not delivered, I would have thought I would at least be given the courtesy of speaking with the manager before it came to that. I have never felt so blatantly unwelcome at a hotel. The message was clear from management that my business was not needed or valued at this hotel.
The young woman at the front desk was obviously uncomfortable being stuck as the interface between management and guests, and it appeared that this was a normal occurence for her. Fortunately, I was able to book another hotel at the last minute (Marc Munchen Hotel, which, by the way, was better on all levels..rooms, breakfast, and most importantly, service and professionalism!)
So, if a hotel that is run on the philosophy that service and professionalism are not important is okay with you, then you will not be disappointed with Hotel Blauer Bock.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RoboSurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Google Translation
Siehe Text von Ihrer Mitreisenden vom 14.5.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The jaded management lacks courtesy and instead of dealing with guests face to face, unprofessionally relegates the task of communication to the guest and whichever poor employee has to work at the front desk for that shift. We politely asked about the lack of wifi and only asked for what, on their website, they said would be provided (wifi in every room). We asked to speak to the manager (once again, politely!) and instead left a message because he was apparently too busy. The message we received from him via another employee the next day was that we could either deal with the lack of wifi in the rooms or we could have the first night for free and just leave. For the price paid, we expected a higher level of professionalism from the management. Wifi was essential in planning for other aspects of our trip and with organizing things back home. They even let us change rooms, promising that that room would have wifi, it did not. We decided to leave after receiving the rude message and not stay for the next two nights as we had planned. We found a much better hotel elsewhere in Munich, which was a bit inconvenient to do at the last minute.

Overall, the newly renovated rooms were stylish and clean. The staff at the hotel were not too friendly but they were polite. The location is quite nice with the Victuals Market right across the street. However, the management was rude and left us with the impression that they did not care about the guests.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WaterIsForFrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Anmerkungen auf die wir selbstverständlich gewartet haben.
Schön das Sie sich alle beide unterschiedlich äußern in getrennten Bemerkungen(14.5.2014) zum selben Aufenthalt.
Mit Verlaub stehe ich den Gästen des Hauses zur Verfügung, wenn ich vor Ort bin. Wir bedauern, das das WIFI im Moment nur in unserer Lobby funktioniert, Dies ist bedingt durch die Renovierungsmaßnahmen auf die wir überall hinweisen. Mein Personal hat professionell und in meinem Sinne auch bei Ihnen Großzügigkeit walten lassen und SIe wegen der Unannehmlichkeiten auf die erste Nacht eingeladen. Ich kann Ihnen versichern das das WLAN nach Abschluß der Maßnahme ab Juli 2014 auch in den Zimmern wieder einwandfrei funktionieren wird, vielleicht können wir Sie bei einem weiteren Aufenthalt bei uns von unserer Leistung mehr überzeugen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellent location to explore Munich and just a few steps from the Beer Garden and the main square. Very good breakfast.
We asked and pre paid a double room with shared bathroom on the same floor. The hotel was being renovated so due to the works we were given a 2 beds room with a shared bathroom on another floor...when we complaint, the solution was to pay 20€ more to have another room...not fair!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanacnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and also the criticism, with that we can improve our service, that your next stay will be better.
We would like to ask you, to give us a hint during your next stay, so that we can thank you personally for the rating.
See you again!
Hotel Blauer Bock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is very convenient to the main square and other attractions. You can easily access any other area in the city by train or tram from the main square. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is currently under some construction and we were given a beautifully renovated room. We were there three nights and the first morning we were woken up at 7:00 by construction noise. The other two days there was no construction, but it was a national holiday on Thursday and Friday. We were driving and the parking cost 22 euros per night. That adds up for a three-night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung,
leider muß ich Ihnen sagen das Sie bei uns noch günstig geparkt haben die Preise in der Münchner Innenstadt in öffentlichen Parkhäusern liegen bei bis zu 33€/pro Tag.
Unsere Rezeption hat bei Nachfrage immer eine günstige Alternative zur Hand, jedoch nicht im Haus sondern 10 Minuten zu Fuß entfernt.
Ich würde mich freuen wenn Sie sich beim nächsten Besuch bei mir melden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.3 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Property: Hotel Blauer Bock
Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
#41 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing