We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Ranked #104 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This place was great for my family of 5. We got the suite upstairs. It was nice to have the easy walk to the outstanding Viktualienmarkt. The upstairs suite has some typical low/slanted ceiling sections, but is manageable. The shower leaked a lot. The included breakfast was marvelous. Loading and unloading was tricky on the crowded street, and parking was two blocks away. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank kvaakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to book a room here at the last minute during Oktoberfest. Considering the rates we were looking at with other hotels, this was a steal! I was expecting something very basic. The service, room and breakfast exceeded my expectations.

The front desk staff was helpful when we had questions, efficient with check-in/check-out, and let us keep our bags in the lobby after check-out so that we could go sight-seeing without having to carry our luggage.

We only had one night in Munich and wanted to make the most of it. The location is perfect, with restaurants, sights and transportation all within walking distance.

The room was basic, but clean and modern feeling. We were on a lower floor and had no issue with the internet.

The breakfast buffet was classic, with a variety of breads, meats, cheese, cereal, yogurt, eggs and more. We had enough to skip lunch. :) I got up a little early and wanted coffee, so I simply went downstairs and brought it back to the room. The wait staff set me up with a tray and cream, sugar. No complaints!

Everyone has different needs for a hotel. I like small, clean, simple furnishings, good food, help when I need it, quiet, reasonably-priced and walking distance to transportation, sights and restaurants. I got everything I wanted with this hotel and I would go back.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor for better Wi-Fi access.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anjamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights to experience the Christmas markets. Hotel very clean, helpful staff and central location for Marienplatz and the subway system. As two ladies we had no worries wLking back to this hotel late evening and overall felt very safe in this city

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesleyandy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in December. We had the top floor family apartment which had 2 separate bedrooms and a bathroom. The rooms were a good size and everything was very clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice of hot and cold food. The location was excellent, a 5 minute walk to the Marienplatz. We loved the Christmas markets here and so many restaurants to choose from. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnneGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights last weekend. The location of the hotel was excellent. It is a block away from the viktualien markt and 2 blocks from the Marienplatz station.

The hotelroom itself was very average. Although they provided us with an internet logon, we could not access the internet in our room, which was on the 3rd floor. We had to go to the lobby to get access and this was a problem, because we used facebook to keep family updated on our trip and also liked to plan the next day. No coffee facilities were available in the room. It would have nice to be able to make coffee in your room, especially in winter when it is cold outside.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Optifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel and the hospitality. The breakfast was very nice, the rooms were clean and well equipped, and the location was perfect for walking to all of the sights, restaurants and museums that we wanted to visit. The only reason I did not score "5" was the Internet was rather intermittent. I could sit in the lobby with the iPad working on the Wifi, but the iPhone would not. It made little sense to me since the iPhone was able to access earlier in the day. other than that, wonderful place.

Room Tip: We had room 23 for 3 nights (2 adults, one teen), then moved to two separate rooms (19 single and 24...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marta_m_m123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This little hotel is a great value for the money. It was within walking distance for what we wanted to see in Munich. We were there to see the Christmas markets and this little hotel was a perfect location to do that. A little hard to find. Rooms were small but adequate, breakfast included and it was fresh and well prepared each morning. Staff was a plus! Only remark that is negative, is really negative to all hotels in Germany...they do not provide little bathroom items only a dispensing hand soap. So bring your own shampoo, body wash, hand soap and hair dryer( not found in all rooms or if found not really useful...they stop working when they get hot.)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 385 in Munich
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
#89 of 385 in Munich
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Markt
Hotel Am Markt
#197 of 385 in Munich
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Viktualienmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Viktualienmarkt

Address: Utzschneiderstr. 12-14, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £133 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Viktualienmarkt 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel am Viktualienmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Viktualienmarkt Hotel
Am Viktualienmarkt Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing