We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Ranked #110 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were in Munich for 3 days and enjoyed this hotel very much. We were around the corner from the market and beer gardens. We had arrived via the train from Paris and the walk from the station to the hotel with luggage was completely manageable. The room was small but very modern and clean. The bathroom was tiny and reminded me of one on a cruise ship. The breakfast was included in the hotel price and was delicious. We started our day in the pleasant breakfast room every morning. We kept the windows that faced the street open at night and had moderate noise. I enjoyed the stay here and especially liked that it was close to everything.

Room Tip: We were right next to the elevator and probably would have requested one further away, although it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 95Letsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    147
    48
    10
    5
See reviews for
107
94
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mellor
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is named for the nearby Viktualienmarkt (food & drink markets). It is a small boutique hotel which has no off-street parking, however is only a short 5 min walk from a couple of multi-storey car parks (ours cost 18 Euros a day).

The reception staff where helpful and a VERY small lift took us to our fourth floor (top floor) two bedroomed apartment/family room. It was clean and modern and reasonably spacious compared to some we've stayed in. Sparking water was provided in the rooms, but no tea or coffee making facilities, which seemed to be standard in Bavaria as none of the hotels we stayed in provided these. Shower gel was provided in shower room (no bath). The bedding in Bavaria as a whole was feather or down so if you are allergic this is something to consider.

Our room was in the eaves, so the ceilings where sloping at one side of the rooms (not really a problem); the room wasn't air conditioned, which again was the same throughout our stay in Bavaria, however this hotel provided a small fan and windows opened in two ways either tilt or fully open (however as a city centre hotel it was too noisy overnight to leave the windows open).

The breakfast room was pleasant and modern and a good continental breakfast was provided. Breakfast is served till 11am on the weekend and 10am during the week.

As we had a very late flight we asked about late check out and were allowed to stay in the room until 2pm at no extra charge which I was grateful for.

A really pleasant central location and excellent value for money - better by far than some of the more expensive places we stayed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was the perfect location for my family's stay in Munich. We had #40 which is the entire top floor - the unit was spacious, modern and clean. The hotel is just around the corner from the markt and just a five min walk to the u-bahn. You will not be disappointed. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends. We requested extra pillows and blankets which were already in our room upon arrival. Really a great choice in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: #40 is worth the few extra Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Es-bibe-lude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We loved our stay here. The hotel is in a great location with an easy walk to the central market and city center. There is also a bank right across the street and a laundry that is a short walk. The staff was very friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimTheSnarkHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel am Viktualienmarkt is well-located, but I already said THAT ! ! ! A one block (short walk) to the Markt and wonderfully busy bier-garden! The hotel is clean. Yes, the rooms are small, but CLEAN, and tidy, and the elevator is new. The breakfast area is small, and clean and neat. The breakfast (European = included) was tasty, with variety, and the service was attentive. The front desk people were friendly.

Room Tip: On street a bit noisy, but very OK. We were in town during World Cup soccer, so maybe noisier?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saolsen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel was very nice. The location was such that you could access Old Town Munich within minutes on foot. The hotel itself was tiny and the streets were a little noisy, but the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRPD908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 758 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

They are friendly, well located, nice rooms, good free breakfast and recently underwent a remodel as well as a new elevator. What more could you possibly want? They are just a few steps away from the Viktualienmarkt which is just a few steps away from the Marienplatz.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#19 of 382 in Munich
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
#88 of 382 in Munich
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 382 in Munich
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Viktualienmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Viktualienmarkt

Property: Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Address: Utzschneiderstr. 12-14, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Viktualienmarkt 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel am Viktualienmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Viktualienmarkt Hotel
Am Viktualienmarkt Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing