We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of Munich”
Review of Excelsior

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Excelsior
Ranked #36 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Reviewed 10 March 2014

So here is a charming medium size hotel with traditional costume and tasteful decor ...very distinctive and attractive . The rooms are reasonable size ( try for a double bed as the single beds are not THAT big for anyone tall ) and the shower/bathroom is well laid out and the towels are good . To be honest breakfast was limited ( good coffee and attentive staff ) and the restaurant adjoining served VERY Bavarian food , but the overall experience was a good one and I would go back . They also have a reasonable conference facility for small meetings and the organisation and food were good

Room Tip: Get upgraded !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel is located near the Hauptbahnhof, the S and U Bahns and the main pedestrianised shopping area. It is a very attractive hotel with excellent and friendly staff. The food is superb, especially breakfast. The Deluxe Rooms are worth the little bit extra as they are very large with a seating area. We have stayed here twice and would always stay here when visiting Munich.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisTeamTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Chose this hotel because of location near station; we were arriving by train in late evening. In fairness, they did say upfront that reservation was not subject to cancellation.

Our train from Italy was cancelled at the last minute due to a rail strike. We called the hotel early in the afternoon as soon as we knew our train was cancelled so they could rebook the room, and asked them to consider at least a partial refund. No dice...even though they were aware of the rail strike.

I understand they were technically correct, but since the rail strike was beyond our control, I thought they could have been a little more flexible.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank bonzodog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We selected the Excelsior because of its location, right across from the Hauptbahnhof. The exterior belies the comfortable accommodations within the hotel. We had a really lovely room, more of a junior suite with a nice, separate sitting area. The front desk staff was very helpful in making suggestions about what see and where to dine. Lastly, the wine bar in the lobby is a very nice place to end the day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europhilejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have stayed in several different hotels in Munich, but they were all full so I was booked into the Excelsior. The location is fantastic - 100m from the Hauptbahnhof, but in a good shopping street. The staff are helpful - umbrella for the rain, no problem. The rom was comfortable and normal size (I was on the fifth floor, others may be smaller). It is traditional, so if you are looking for achingly cool design, this is not for you. One niggle - it can get a bit noisy on the street outside, but I coped by closing the window.

Room Tip: Fifth floor rooms are decent size. Front of the hotel is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spoons m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Although not obvious from its frontage, the Excelsior is a lovely hotel in central munich, right beside the U Bahn and easy access to main shopping streets and the famous Marienplatz. We selected a suite which was available on special rate and well worth the extra cost. Very spacious, elegantly decorated and a lovely bathroom.

The service at the hotel was very friendly and helpful with valet parking. The breakfast was delicious with great choice in a lovely tiered dining room and in addition to all, the hotel has a super restaurant, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If on special offer, go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ta2_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior by Geisel
Hotel Excelsior by Geisel
#70 of 389 in Munich
572 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 389 in Munich
1,605 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#208 of 389 in Munich
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
16.7 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#24 of 389 in Munich
2,535 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior

Address: Kaulbachstr. 85, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Number of rooms: 118

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing