We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem!!”
Review of Osteria da Salvatore - CLOSED

Osteria da Salvatore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Willkommen in der Osteria Da Salvatore, Sehr geehrte Gäste, wir bedanken uns recht herzlich für Ihre Treue und die gemeinsame Zeit, die wir mit Ihnen verbringen durften. Aufgrund des ablaufenden Vertrags, müssen wir uns leider bei allen Gästen verabschieden. ( Unser letzter tag ist am 16.12.2016). Die Bekanntgabe des neuen Standorts der Osteria da Salvatore erfolgt über Facebook.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We are an American couple who found Osteria Da Salvatore while looking for Italian food in Munich on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed at all!! Salvatore seated us himself and had great conversations with us and all of the other customers - very hospitable! They have menus in English and German which was very helpful for us. My husband and I both ordered glasses of white wine, my husband ordered the Lasagna and I got the Bolognese Spaghetti and the portions were very large and filling!! The price on all of the food is very reasonable!!!

The restaurant is a little outside of the city but not a long walk from the subway station. Probably a 5-7 minute walk away from the station and easy to find. The restaurant has a modern interior with wood floors and small Italian art on the walls - very clean.

When we are in Munich again we will definitely go back to Osteria da Salvatore! 10/10 !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoLovesTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    8
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great restaurant away from tourist center”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I recently visited this restaurant after seeing the reviews on TA. Our time here was a highlight of our trip to Munich. The prices are reasonable and the food is good. We had a pizza with artichokes and we also ordered bruschetta. The owner and his wife are very friendly and talked to us and we tried to engage in conversation but we dont speak Italian or German unfortunately. Still, it was a great time and nice to converse with the owner. The restaurant is in a nice neighborhood easily accessible from the Ubahn but also far from tourist areas so it is a quieter place. I highly recommend you check it out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffv216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Munich”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Its all about the dough and Sal kills it! Great, relaxed atmosphere and Sal is a great guy to chat with when he has the time. Always a fan of the daily specials and of course the home made tiramisu! Definitely recommend for dine in or take out!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As good as, if not better, than anything in Italy”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

One of my very favorite places in Munich. The food is absolutely superb and the atmosphere authentic and unpretentious. I lived in Italy for 5 years and firmly believe that on culinary merit alone Salvatore's would stand up to any Osteria in Italy itself, add in Sal's personal friendliness and the warm familial energy of the place and you have the perfect Italian restaurant, sure to satisfy everyone. This honestly should be a destination for anyone living in Munich, you will not be disappointed. Leave room for the tiramisu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rdaigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Great pizzas”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Really great little sicilian restraunt. The homemade pizzas are very tasty, with excellent toppings, the staff are friendly and it has a nice atmosphere. I'd definitely reccomend the garlic pizza for entree or as a side dish. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria da Salvatore also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing