We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional when functional needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smart Stay Hotel Station
Ranked #57 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Not a hotel which would stand out in the crowd. Munich during Octoberfest is manic and so everywhere is twice the price you would expect. Howevevr when you need a bed in the city , access to places to eat / drink / look around , and a safe haven then the hotel did just that. So when you not got a lot of choice , bear it in mind

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

The location was the only positive I could find about this place. Possibly, the worst room I ever stayed in. I don't think they even made an effort to clean it. Carpet was filthy. And not just with stains but with loose dirt that coud have easily been sorted with a vacuum cleaner! There was dust on everything. Although, to be fair, the bed linen looked clean enough. €179 for two people for one night was daylight robbery but it was booked last minute & for the location. My advice......give it a wide berth unless you're desperate or don't mind where you lay your head!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank YMcGrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The only thing going for this overpriced hotel is its location which is close to the main railway station. The rooms are old, musty and very basic for the price you pay. Customer service is very poor and the staff are somewhat indifferent to the guests. You have to pay for wi-fi and the connection is not very good. Don't bother asking for tourist information from the reception - they don't know! If you are going to spend this much on a hotel, then spend a few extra euros and get something better - you have several options in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel mainly for its location, so for my purposes, it was fine for one night, but picky travellers will want to stay elsewhere.

I stayed in a dorm. There is a sink in the room which is appreciated. The room is also very large. There are no lockers.

The bathrooms are WAY down the hall and I found them quite icky - the garbage containers don't seem to be empties regularly and the showers are dingy.

They do have a luggage room which is secure and was appreciated while I was there.

You have to pay for internet (though it's only 2 euros for 24 hours) and when I bought it, the guy at the front desk said, it probably won't work on the 3rd floor (where I was staying). Great....why have pay internet if it regularly doesn't work in the hotel? So, it ended up working fine for me for about 30 minutes, then I could never get it working again. Pretty poor service if you ask me.

The location is good - it's really a 2 minute walk from the train station and what I found nice is that area is actually pretty full of activity - there are lots of restaurants and shops within 1 minute walk of the hotel, which was nice for my 1.5 days there.

Only stay here if you're just going in and out of Munich quickly via the train.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

stayed here in June 2013 4 nights, Excellent location just 4-5 minutes walk from Munich Central Station on the pedestrian sreet. Shopping all around. Rooms were clean though smaller in size but ok for a business visit. Basis breakfast, but enough to start your day comfortably. Very friendly staff and ever helpful. Only draw back was rooms do not have even fans and does get hot in june and the hotel very strict about check in rules of 2PM. after traveling 15 hours had to literally wait outside the hote for 5 hrs before they oblidged giving me the room at 1.30 PM.

Room Tip: Book a double room to get a slightly bigger room with a queen size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Absolutely no internet included without extra fees, hotel is overpriced. The place is run down & in desperate need for renovation. Carpet in the room is stained from age, shared bath was clogged and water was backing up. Sink in the room was rusty and faucet was hard to shut down so there would be no drip. Elevator very tight and needs renovation as well. Price is to high for what they provide.
The Positive:
The Location is the best, across from the central train station and in the center of town. The bedding was clean and comfortable, however the bed was very small.

Room Tip: ask for non smoking rooms, could not imagine how disgusting smoking rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davedmdusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I found the staff very helpful however had similar problems with Wi-fi as others have written. It is in a good location and I was able to drop bags in prior to check in after arriving on an early train (0900). About 10-15 mins walk from Marienplatz and 5 mins from the HBF. I would consider staying here again if a solo traveler but not otherwise.

Room Tip: Wi-fi reception was not good on the 3rd or 4th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paduan_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#41 of 385 in Munich
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stachus
Hotel Stachus
#161 of 385 in Munich
487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luitpold
Hotel Luitpold
#179 of 385 in Munich
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meier City Munich
Hotel Meier City Munich
#156 of 385 in Munich
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#363 of 385 in Munich
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#209 of 385 in Munich
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Stay Hotel Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Stay Hotel Station

Address: Schuetzenstr. 7, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range: £40 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smart Stay Hotel Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domestic and international visitors to Munich can take advantage of the central location of the Smart Stay Hotel Station. The hotel is situated directly at the central railway station, just a few minutes on foot from the city center, in the pedestrian zone near the central shopping district of Munich (3 minutes by S-Bahn metro from Marienplatz), and offers easy connections to the public transport network. The hotel has a no-smoking policy, and features an adjacent Bavarian beer garden in the pedestrian zone. We offer a wide range of single, double and multi-bed rooms in the basic class (shower and WC down the hall), as well as standard class (own bath with shower and WC, plus TV). Every room has a phone and WLAN access. In summer, breakfast is served in the traditional owl garden or in the breakfast room (buffet). In the evenings, we invite you to relax and enjoy a cocktail in the Owl #7 lounge. The reception is manned 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smart Stay Hotel Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing