We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“reasonable hotel but very very modern and "sterile"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
INNSIDE by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
Ranked #81 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Pl
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“reasonable hotel but very very modern and "sterile"”
Reviewed 3 June 2010

this is a good hotel for the people, who like very modern design and style. I felt there like in the palace of ice - not my piece of cake unfortunately. But service was decent. Restaurant also in this very "cool" style. Breakfast was ok. Room acceptable with free internet. But everything just too modern for me.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertomazowiecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    431
    166
    58
    28
See reviews for
113
304
65
447
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Firstly, if you are driving from anywhere to get to this hotel I would seriously consider either

1. Investing in a SatNav
2. Examine google maps

Before you set off as this is one of the hardest hotels to locate. The taxi driver even has issues figuring out which turn to take off the Autobahn. Anyway....
Nestled below the towering headquarters of Fujitsu, innside is a perculiar box hotel that, on the inside is modern and clean whilst on the outside it resembles an office block.

The Staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious, modern and comfortable. Breakfast is probably the best buffest breky I have ever had in a hotel. Eggs, all types of bread, sausages, yogurt and loads of different types of fruit are all on offer. I would not recommend dinner though as it felt as if the chef was experimenting and we were often presented with a bizarre concoction. There is a gym on site, albeit small, and a sauna and steam room.

Internet is available but is expensive. There is access in the communal internet lounge on floor 6 (at 6 EUR per 30 mins) or by wifi. The WIFI however is a T-MOBILE hotspot and not operated by the hotel. There is free internet available in each room via DSL. So bring your laptop.

The location is ok. Munich is walkable in about 45 minutes, however there are 2 Ubahn stations nearby and these take only a few minutes to get to marienplatz.

We got stranded at this hotel during the volcano ash incident. The staff were totally helpful and supportive HOWEVER they did ramp up the price from 139 EUR to 400EUR a night!!!!!.

Would probably not use it again as there are less expensive hotels around the same area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinndexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
584 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Was hard to find. TomTom took me right there, but there are no obvious signs on the buiding or posted at street level. Pretty far out of central Munich. Asked for an iron at check-in, young dark-haired woman acknowledged my request. Four hours later still no iron. Went back down, woman gone but man on desk had the iron up at my room (614) in 2 minutes. Breakfast that came with the room was good, sauna and steam facility was nice. American's should keep in mind many use these without clothing, so don't freak out if the man or woman next to you are as they came into this world. It's normal. Told woman the next day about never receiving the iron, and she blamed me for not coming back down to advise it hadn't arrived. She needs customer care lessons. Budget hotel staff do better than she performed. I see the price of 77 Euros online, as I don't know what my company paid for me, but if that 77 includes breakfast, that's a great deal. On that, I recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

In Munich for first day of Oktoberfest and had trouble finding a hotel so would't normally stay in an area like this (bit out of town for just one night, mainly offices, new-build stuff, etc.), however I was impressed. Staff were all friendly, loved the decor, and absolutely wonderful breakfast - so much choice!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvershorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

This is the first hotel ever that really looked like the pictures and website. Very stylish, mostly in white and silver and lots of glass, it was a totally different experience. Beautiful bathroom is built in the room. Buffet breakfast was great, everything you think of, is already there - including shrimps and smoked salmon. The staff was very nice and helpful. The only bad thing is the u-bahn (metro) station, which is a long walk away, but there is a bus station right in front of the hotel, and tram line in construction. Everything else is simply perfect.

  • Liked — hotel design
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveldigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2008

I stayed their with my fiance' during the summer. It was outstanding! Excellent, personal service, comfortable rooms with excellent bedding. Laundry was super expensive but overall we'd easily stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank napolinicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Excellent place to stay. 4 star rating, but I would rate it higher.
Modern interieur, clean and purely furnished rooms, flatscreen TV, rainforest shower, good beds.
Personnel is extraordinarily friendly, breakfast buffet great! Ask for latte macciato and fresh omelette - better than anything.
I never tried the gym, as I only stayed during business trips with tight schedules.
I tried the restaurant twice in the evening during different stays, and that is the only thing I found not convincing in this house. But never mind:
Leopoldstrasse, the famous high street with bars, restaurants and clubs is only 5 min by taxi!
Airport is approx. 30 minutes without any traffic jams.

As a last remark: I stayed at Munichs famous "Bayrischer Hof" once - it is no match for this wonderful hotel! I stayed at Innside Premium five or six times, and like to come back any time.

  • Liked — Pure and modern interieur. Non-indruding, welcoming atmosphere.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maggie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Hotel Munich
Pullman Hotel Munich
#50 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
0.3 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Nord
Ibis Muenchen City Nord
#103 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Premium Domagkstrasse
0.2 mi away
Ibis Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
0.2 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#64 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INNSIDE by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INNSIDE by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing

Property: INNSIDE by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
Address: Mies-van-der-Rohe-Str. 10, 80807 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Munich
#47 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#65 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#84 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — INNSIDE by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 160 large Guestrooms, Premium Rooms and Lifestyle Suites, Munich's 'in location' in Schwabing, designed by star-architect Helmut Jahn, offers light-filled, air-conditioned rooms with Queen- or King-size beds, exemplary comfort, and modern bathrooms with rain showers.A hot tip for guests from all over the world – an extravagant hotel with the look of a new era, superbly situated at the foot of the HighLight Towers with excellent transport links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your INNSIDE by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Munich
Munich Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing