We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Munich City
Ranked #51 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
johnshaft2000
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good hotel with good service”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed here recently for a stag do. They accommodated us very well and were helpful and provided good service without. They balanced us well with the mix of other guests and I thought we got a really good deal for the amount we paid. I would definitely stay again. Only suggestion would be free wifi but most German hotels don't seem to offer that.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnshaft2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    1,278
    305
    84
    37
See reviews for
1,096
493
110
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights 4/5 May, got the train from the airport very easy but 10 euros each, one way!!! We took the S8 and it took about 35 minutes to the Rosenheimer Platz, we followed signs to the Novotel from the station and were there within 5 mins.

Check in was fine, have to agree about the staff, didn't seem to know what they were doing as we had booked a Superior Room we were given a Standard Room and I had to point out on the confirmation that we had paid for a Superior. I had also noticed on the website that Superior Rooms come with a free mini bar but when we asked about this again the staff were unsure!!!! As predicted when we checked out they tried to charge us for it!!!!!!!

The hotel is about 10/15 mins walk to the Marien Platz and it suited us fine as we would rather the walk than be in a hotel in the noisy main square. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that we bought our own items from the supermarket in the train station.

We did use the pool and found this a nice change for a city hotel! It was a very pleasant area though we did get told off for talking in the quiet room (which we didn't know was a quiet room obviously!)

Would recommend this place if you want somewhere nice within walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: Get a superior room for free mini bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My compagny used this novotel a few time, and i alwas had deception: Staff is too young and inexperience to face professional situation, wifi is expensive like hell, and location is not s great. This only thing correct is that the hotel is clean....BUT once I brought a customer in this hotel, adn they forgot to clean his room...this was a disaster for my business and we did not receive any written appologies from this hotel. So if you can avoid it..feel free!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uatu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOKINGHAM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

After the previous night in Cologne we were expecting to be impressed and we were not disappointed. The Hotel had a very pleasant ambience, the reception staff were pleasant and helpful and the under-hotel garage allowed direct access to all floors. It was suggested that we had the buffet dinner but in retrospect this was probably a mistake. The a la carte menu certainly looked more interesting. This will not however deter us from staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBRW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Looking through these reviews, I'm just wondering if I have the right hotel. The lobby and staff are nice and all, but the room ? I had another hotel overbook and boot me into this place. I'm paying 209 Euros for this? YGBFKM. I have to go down the hall to use an iron? There is no sheet on the bed, just a comforter? I even had maid service check and they said that's how they always do it. First hotel that I've been in with no sheet. Maybe I don't get out enough. Multiple stains on the carpet. Tiny room. Nasty furnishing. The bathroom is nice, but I'm not planning to spend a lot of time in there. Hoping the beds are more comfortable than they look and that they actually launder the comforter between guests since there is no sheet to launder.

As much as I hate to give business to a hotel that reneges on my reservation, I'm going back to the other place for day 2 and day 3 and will find somewhere else for my next trip.

Let's hope the bar and restaurant are good. Maybe it will help me forget what I'm sleeping in/on.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_trip922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and was very pleased with the hotel & staff. Breakfast was brilliant and the room was very good. Bed was comfortable and no complaints. Only downside was that we booked the hotel as it had a swimming pool but when we were there it was shut. This had not been communicated to us until we arrived.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwr1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.2 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#79 of 383 in Munich
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,534 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Munich City

Property: Novotel Munich City
Address: Hochstrasse 11, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
#51 Business Hotel in Munich
#60 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Novotel Munchen City is located in the heart of the Bavarian state capital, just minutes from the Deutsches Museum, the Gasteig cultural center and Marienplatz. The hotel is close to Rosenheimer Platz station so can be easily reached bypublic transport and is therefore an ideal destination for those travelling by rail or air. When it is time to relax, why not visit the free spa area with its pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. In addition to 307 air-conditioned rooms, the non smoking hotel features a restaurant, bar and terrace. The separate conference center and terrace offers five meeting rooms for 210 people. A garage is available for guests arriving by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelbag, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Novotel Hotel Munich
Novotel Munich
Munich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing