We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night sleep at a good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Munich City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Munich City
Ranked #54 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    1,226
    295
    82
    34
See reviews for
1,043
471
106
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Ok but bit small for 3 Adults. We arrived from Dresden where we stayed in a 3 person room which was about twice the size of this. Bring your own pillows as these are too soft. Too a long time for water to heat up. Free wifi was a plus. Reasonable buffet breakfast. Fairly handy to city centre.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are too small for 3 adults. Ask for a large room when you book. Ok for 2 though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayneaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great hotel, good localization (5min to subway, 10min to city centre). We did not try the wellness centre, which people say is the highlight of the hotel, but the services overall were very good. Only negative: the pillows. Too soft, always woke up with a neck pain...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Good service and nice location with walking distance from the Altstadt. Clean, decent breakfast but all too crowded. Nice restaurants nearby, but a bit hidden. Ask assistance from the reception. If you drive with your own car they provide good garage.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perfectroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We are a family of four and have stayed at Novotels in New Zealand, London, Singapore, Melbourne, Perth and Vienna. We have always had good experiences -- especially the Novotel in Christchurch. So we were extremely disappointed with our stay in Munich. To begin with the hotel is simply too large. Once you get too big you can't maintain quality. There are literally hundreds and hundreds of people here. The breakfast area is packed with people waiting in line to sit. For such a big place the chef did a nice job of keeping the food stocked and for the most part it was fresh. The cleaning staff knocked on our door before 8:30 most mornings to clean the room. Twice they did not return to clean it and the times they did it was quick with garbage still left in the rooms and things not restocked. We asked the staff at the desk for help with three different issues (one about parking which with their help led to us getting a ticket, one with booking at another Novotel which they said they could not do, and the other with help with information regarding a tour which was at best somewhat helpful). Most disappointing, however, were the rooms. The beds, sheets, and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. When we book a place to stay we just really want a good night sleep which did not happen on these beds. Even our 12 year old remarked how this hotel was not nearly as nice as the others where we have stayed. Finally, paying guests, particularly Accor members should not have to pay for parking. It was 17 euros to park each day.

Room Tip: Try the Motel One just down the street. Or better yet, if you are a family, look for an apartment f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We took the S8 train from the airport directly to Rosenheimer Platz. Approx 35 minutes ride, price was 20 Euro for a "partner ticket", which allows five adults to travel all over the city for the whole day until 06.00 next morning, so 7 Euros p/p for us three was very fair.
Next day we bought a 3-day partner ticket for 30 Euro, with which five adults or ten kids (2 kids is 1 adult) can travel all over the city with bus, U-bahn, S-train and trams unlimited.
And we surely used that ticket. Thank you, MVV.
Very nice and easy check-in. Staff very helpful and cunning, and willing to help you with all your questions. There English is more than OK.
Breakfast buffet was the next best we've found so far since 1966 (only second to Hilton Helsinki Strand in Finland), with a wide variety of excellent and tasty food.
Soft boiled eggs (extremely rare, we think!), smoked salmon, horse radish creme, freshly baked bread, fruit juices, cereals, well, all you can ask for. We take our hats off for the chefs at Novotel. You are worth all cred, folks.
Room cleaning, excellent (though they never knocked on our doors before opening, why?).
However, we had a cleaning lady from Ireland. Spotless clean every time we returned to our rooms. Thank you so much. Two bottles of water, one still, one sparkling was always in the little fridge for free.
Internet access for free? Naaah, we bought a week with high speed for 19 Euro.
Otherwise, you can use for free two Macintosh in the lobby.
This Novotel provides a very good price for what you get, very close to public transportation, and if you want to walk it won't take you more than 10 - 20 minutes to have a nice stroll to Isartor or Marienplatz.
Next time to Munich, we will for sure stay here again.
We like!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesolo, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Excellent hotel both for structure and services, including stroller for baby and game area with xbox console, 2 pc and free wifi connection, pool and wellness centre.
Veri good breakfast, but expensive if not incuded.
Excellent position.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franco b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#77 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
1.4 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Munich City

Property: Novotel Munich City
Address: Hochstrasse 11, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
#51 Business Hotel in Munich
#60 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Novotel Munchen City is located in the heart of the Bavarian state capital, just minutes from the Deutsches Museum, the Gasteig cultural center and Marienplatz. The hotel is close to Rosenheimer Platz station so can be easily reached bypublic transport and is therefore an ideal destination for those travelling by rail or air. When it is time to relax, why not visit the free spa area with its pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. In addition to 307 air-conditioned rooms, the non smoking hotel features a restaurant, bar and terrace. The separate conference center and terrace offers five meeting rooms for 210 people. A garage is available for guests arriving by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Novotel Hotel Munich
Novotel Munich
Munich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing