We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Munich City
Ranked #50 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very convenient location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. It was very convenient - just 2 stops on the S Bahn from the CIty Centre. The room was a little cramped with the sofa bed up. The children enjoyed the Disney Channel and found it fun watching familiar films in German! They loved the swimming pool and the fact that they could swim there til late at night! The breakfast was really good and the staff at breakfast were very friendly and helpful. The staff at the front desk - some were helpful and friendly but others were polite but rather stiff and not friendly. Overall would definitely recommend the hotel for famliles.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyElias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    1,290
    306
    86
    37
See reviews for
1,112
495
110
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a one night stay after arriving in the city. The room was fine, although it was cramped with 2 adults and 2 children. There was practically no sound from the runway which was right next door. We gad a very tasty breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed as a family of 4 in a room in July.The hotel is ideally located just 5 min walk from the train station and a 10 min walk to the edge of town.It has a supermarket and lots of shops and restaurants with in 5 min walk.The hotel is clean and all staff are friendly and speak good English.They also offered free umbrellas on wet days.The wifi in the room worked well and they offer 2 computers in the foyer.There is also a kids play area in the foyer with play stations which is great also.You can catch a train on the same line from the airport to a near by station with a 10 min walk.It is about $70 euro to the airport by taxi. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoodlesNilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, QC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We found the beds to be pretty hard, pillows need to be changed, old and flat. We asked for more pillows which they gladly brought for us but all of them are the same.

There are no English Channel available but news channels. We tried the pay TV channel but it is not available.

The hotel is clean and the service is good but for a big chain like Novotel it is surprising that the sleeping amenities and TV choices are in needs of an update.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have stayed here for work before, one night at a time, This time I stayed a full week with my family. We booked a family room and they are simply too small. once they add the second bed there is nowhere to walk around the beds or put your luggage (nor store your clothes). We chose the hotel for the pool but it was small and not very clean, There were lots of signs of poor management and lack of care while we stayed here. (1) When we arrived there were 3 empty bottles outside our door - they were still there 24 hours later. (2) today we were out all day and coming back at 5pm the room was not made up and we had to chase housekeeping to find someone to clean it (3) breakfast - very wide choice but very poor quality : they were not running the omelette/pancake/waffel station but instead made batches in the kitchen and left them in soggy piles on the buffet, All the patisseries were either dry or soggy - none were crispy the way they should be. Staff were short in the restaurant. Overall many signs that the place is badly managed. This was bad value and a bad hotel, The staff should be sent on a training course to their sister hotel in Nagold (Ibis Style) which is twice as good at half the price.

Room Tip: Family rooms are too small for families other than young infants
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

There were plenty of other families in the hotel. Our children enjoyed the pool. The rooms were spacious, filled with light and clean. It was a short walk to the U-Bahn Station. We decided to take a cab from the main train station rather than haul the bags a few blocks, but otherwise we used the U-Bahn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.2 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#84 of 382 in Munich
2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,572 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Munich City

Property: Novotel Munich City
Address: Hochstrasse 11, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
#51 Business Hotel in Munich
#60 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Novotel Munchen City is located in the heart of the Bavarian state capital, just minutes from the Deutsches Museum, the Gasteig cultural center and Marienplatz. The hotel is close to Rosenheimer Platz station so can be easily reached bypublic transport and is therefore an ideal destination for those travelling by rail or air. When it is time to relax, why not visit the free spa area with its pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. In addition to 307 air-conditioned rooms, the non smoking hotel features a restaurant, bar and terrace. The separate conference center and terrace offers five meeting rooms for 210 people. A garage is available for guests arriving by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Novotel Hotel Munich
Novotel Munich
Munich Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing