We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, close to the train station, NO Air-Conditioning”
Review of Hotel Mirabell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mirabell
Ranked #15 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The hotel is very close to the main train station (<5 min walk) and let's anticipate that we had a very good time there. The first impression is a little bit "odd", since the area close to the hotel has several casinos and sexy shops, and a pretty "interesting" composition of people along the street! :D However we never had any problem, even coming back late in the night.

The room was pretty nice and cozy; nothing special, but clean and comfortable. The staff is very nice and polite and the buffet-brakfast is extremely rich and continuously re-filled.

We were pretty lucky because we were on a top floor and the weather was not too hot, because the room doesn't have air conditioning and the streets around the hotel can be extremely noisy! So if you come here during an hot summer you could have problems in sleeping (you should choose between an hot room and a noisy night of sleep). If this is the case, ask for a room at the top floor, at least the noise will be reduced a little bit ;)

However this is the only disadvantage of this hotel; considering the price and the location, we had a very good time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creative_Maelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had a fantastic stay in Munich at the Hotel Mirabell. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the rooms were cute and clean. The bathrooms were updated and the staff was friendly.It is located close enough to the metro, though the location isn't the most ideal. Each window has a retractable shade, so you can hide the pedestrians and car traffic from view. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Lead a group through Munich and we had 9 rooms at the hotel. Within walking distance of the art museums, city center, and lots of shops. The area has a lot of establishments of a more adult nature (porn, casinos, etc.). The staff was very helpful and the breakfast spread was amazing. Rooms were all cleaned an well maintained. To not fault of the hotel, the city is loud and the windows are thin. Sirens, traffic and loud late-night people often woke us up at night. There is an elevator to the upper floors, but it takes a small set of stairs to get to it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-Bugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Great location - 5 min of walking distance from Hauptbanhof, 15-20 min from Karlsplatz and Marienplatz, so many shops and restaurants are near by. The district is known to be Arab or Muslim, so while walking from the central station to the hotel you may be confused where you are - in some Muslim country or in Germany actually ;). Though when you enter the hotel doors you forget about this at all - as you get in a perfect german hotel with a faultless service.
Staff is very friendly and attentive, speak English fluently, ready to check you in before the official check in hours, is ready to assist you with everything - "whatever you like"(recommend restaurants, sell tickets for public transport etc).
The hotel is very clean on the whole, rooms are not big, bit cosy and tidy, equipped with everything you may need (kettle, cream, bootles of water, safe etc). We were impressed with bright and moder design of the room. Wi-fi is free of charge in the rooms (speed is not very high, but it's Ok).
Breakfast - we were pleasntly surprised. The dinning room is not big at all but furnished skilfully. there are plenty of food (cereals, eggs, fried aggs, sausages, bacon, fruits, pastry, cakes, yoghurts). You van make tea/coffee by yourself or you can order it from the waitress.
I'd recommend this hotel for business, couples, friends and solo.
Thank you for the hotel team for great job and service!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy_spb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

As previously posted, the hotel is not in the best location. But if you are only out during the day, it's not a problem. It's a 5 minute walk to central station and within walking distance of the pedestrian zone (shopping). The hotel has a great breakfast and they will hold your luggage for you.

The rooms are older but have been updated. But there's no AC or heat, except for the radiator in the bathroom. Not a problem though since the weather is usually pretty cool. We were there at the end of December and left a window cracked open. With the thick duvets we were comfy.

If you have a stroller, be advised that there are for steps to the lift and the lift is TINY. We have an average sized stroller (quinny) and it barely fit the doors and then we couldn't fit anything else besides the stroller and myself.

Overall, we'd stay again if needed but I think the hotel is a little pricey.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLRego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Immediately as you enter the reception area through the automatic street door, you get a good feeling about this hotel. The colours are bright but give a warm welcoming feeling.The whole hotel is kept absolutely spotless. breakfast is a vast selection of cold meats, yoghurts,cereals , juices,breads and pickles the list goes on. The room (a triple) we had was referred to by us as the penthouse with a huge encompassing balcony giving a great view of the parade.only one comment i would like to be heeded is that the 3rd bed really needs to be a proper single bed. Saving the best till last THE STAFF absolutely fantastic from front desk to house keeping all were very polite ,helpful and welcoming . Thank you to you all for the experience.have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Just ask politely and where possible you will be accomodated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Pros.....location..near central train station...3 blocks...near city center...15 min walk....excellent European breakfast buffet...excellent!....strong shower pressure....clean....comfortable bed...very friendly and helpful staff...most speak English very well....and my wife loved the chocolate candy in the lobby!
Cons....we had 1st floor room...noisy...room was warm so we needed to open window...we were right above Pursian kabob place and it always was busy, noisy, and we got to smell everything they cooked....get a high room...rooms are European small....bathroom even smaller but very functional...Internet was spotty...worked well near lobby....located in Pursian part of town near several sex shops...looks a bit scary but we had no issue and from what we hear, it is a very safe area.

Wouldn't stay here too long...but a few days worked out well....

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Bowlerx_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#8 of 385 in Munich
1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#99 of 385 in Munich
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
2,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#35 of 385 in Munich
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabell

Address: Landwehrstrasse 42 | Entrance Goethestrasse, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Munich
#45 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £71 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mirabell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk right in: We cordially welcome you! In our two privately run hotels Mirabell and Metropol located in the heart of Munich you will feel good and almost like home. For us it is a very special concern to be good hosts and offer our guests the highest comfort and personal service. Business trip, city tour or weekend excursion – we want you to feel like home and in good hands in our city hotels. The loyalty of our guests and employees has shown us for many years that it is worth having high standards for service, atmosphere and comfort. Uncomplicated, inviting and on the pulse of time! In our Hotel Mirabell we offer you the highest degree of modern comfort and a relaxed feel-good atmosphere. Admittedly, our quarter near the main station is a little colourful and cosmopolitan. But it’s precisely this liveliness and the central location that make both of our private hotels the ideal starting point for any city tour and business trip. All means of public transport can be reached by foot and enable you to explore all of Munich right from your door step. And even by foot the city centre and Karlsplatz are just a few steps away from our hotels. Bright, modern and simply to feel good! With us, at Hotel Mirabell, you can relax in your room and forget about the buzz of the city. You are spoilt to choose between the comfortable superior category, our spacious comfort rooms or a light-flooded suite with private roof terrace. All of our 71 rooms are of course equipped with bathroom, shower, WC, hairdryer, telephone, tea maker, minibar, radio, TV, free SKY and even a Tablet-PC. Thanks to the hotel’s internal air conditioning system, you can relax and take a deep breath all over the place and you can also use free Wi-Fi in all the rooms. With us nobody starts the day hungry! Our nutritious breakfast daily from 6:30 to 10:30 am keeps its promises! Enjoy fresh cereal mixes, organic yoghurt and fruit salads, feast and taste warm specialities such as spicy egg dishes as well as savoury cheese specialities with oven-fresh rolls. And to stave off thirst and fatigue, there are freshly squeezed vital juices, hot tea and aromatic coffee specialities. With all our delicacies we place great importance on the origin and mainly use products of regional producers or from organic farms. Should you have any allergies, you must not leave the table hungry. Lactose-free dairy products are of course part of our buffet and even gluten-free bread, cake or muesli are available at any time. Let’s bet that with this breakfast, every day will feel like Sunday morning. Welcome to Munich, welcome here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mirabell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabell Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing