We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woken at 7.30am by a drill outside our room window”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Woken at 7.30am by a drill outside our room window”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We booked a room for 3, it was made up for 2. The sofa which was to bethe 3rd bed was old, dirty and had a good number of holes in it. A gang of teenagers made a lot of noise in the corridors until very late, and we were woken at 7.30am by a very loud drill DIRECTLY outside our window, where men were laying a patio. This occurred the two mornings we were staying here. Not impressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LingM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    292
    178
    62
    41
See reviews for
96
92
121
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Meininger’s network is a recognized budget hotel and widespread in Germany and it’s some neighboring country. From central station we have to ride a tram to get this hotel since it laid in another 1.5 km distance. I spent few minutes to ensure this since it seemed very near on the map. Most of occupants by that time were youngsters from multinational travelers. Until late night we’re squeezed with their hustle and bustle even the beer festival season was over. But sure we realized cause we are here in Bavarian, beside we love Bayern Munchen FC too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed here for one night as part of a large group as a stop off on our way to another location in Germany. It was a basic hostel. I was lucky to stay in a twin room rather than a larger room with bunks and I was looking forward to a good night sleep. The room was clean, so was the bathroom, and it had a rather nice television. I thought it would be fine.

However, I slept VERY badly. In fact, I'm not sure I slept at all. I could hear what sounded like salsa music until the early hours from an outside bar (facing the opposite direction to the front of the building). Then, people shouting outside, a few sirens and crashes. This then stopped. Then, some unruly guests decided they would bang on the wall, then go and knock on their friends' door for what sounded like 10 minutes, and then go and scream in the corridor and slam some doors. The room was also very warm. Obviously not all these factors can be blamed on the hostel, but if you stay here, beware that there are clubs around and that people won't get told off for making noise.

When I checked out there was only one lady on reception - if you're in a hurry, you would need to queue up about 45 minutes in advance. The people in front were really rude and kept letting all their friends but in. I felt sorry for the lady on the desk as she had a lot to contend with but she was still smiley and happy.


So, it's clean, but lots of people in my group complained about noise so the location is not so great.

Room Tip: There's a club out the back so it's especially noisy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninja91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Some things in life are bad. Somethings in life are sad. But the Meininger Hostel is certainly far from rad. The room was hot, the lockers broke and there was a balcony but you could not smoke. The staff were polite, but didn't set the world alight. All in all, at the end, the Meininger Hostel? Just don't stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alistaircraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I only paid 40 Euros for a private double room - unfortunately this was room 101 on the ground floor right next to the door at the end of the corridoor which slammed shut every 10 mins. First tip try not to get lumbered witha room by the main door to each corridoor. Room was clean toliet clean and nice enough beds etc. Bar area was ok with a pool table. It basically you get what you pay for. If you want a good nights sleep do as i did head out for a few beers to make you drift off easily. I slept surprisingly well and all in all it did the job for the one night i was staying there before i moved to another hotel when my friends arrived in Munich the next day. Service was effiecint but like all these sort of hotels the reception was always busy - with enquiries etc so don't expect to get checked in too quickly. Location is good opposite a beer hall and only round the corner from Hackerbrueker S bahn station with access to all over the city. They also sell all day tickets at reception for getting round the city this saves trying to work out the complicated ticket machines at the stations.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher numbered room on you floor e.g 110, 310 etc as the lower numbers are by the cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davehudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Firstly I am paying 30 euros a night for a 10 bed dorm room! I was staying there for 3 nights; each night I had to pack up all my stuff and move.  Each night I was not told of this until I arrived home from the day to find my belongings moved in the room. 

I would then go down to reception where they would only then inform me of my next room. The offered to throw in a free breakfast for my troubles.  The bathrooms were dirty.  There were feral school kids everywhere! 

This is the worst place I have stayed at in 6months of traveling - avoid it!! 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingallover_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a private room for two nights. The room itself was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Really appreciated the lively atmosphere in the lobby area with free wifi and a bar. Very relaxed with lots of people chilling out. Only one major issue LOTS OF SCHOOL TRIPS which meant that there were over 100 teenagers running around, shouting, playing music, slamming doors almost all night. I would avoid this place if you don't like school kids keeping you awake all night. It is not for regular backpackers or adult travellers.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MacWow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
0.3 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#26 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#38 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#164 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Property: MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Address: Landsberger Str. 20, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weisswurst, pork knuckles, football and a large beer - welcome to Munich! The MEININGER Hotel Munchen City Center is located centrally - 2.5 Km from the main railway station - opposite the Augustiner Braustuben and next to the Theresienwiese that hosts the biggest fair in the world, the Oktoberfest. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi, lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and games room where you can meet our international guests in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel
Meininger City Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing