We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Convenient and reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stayed 3 nights having one twin room and one single. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were well stocked so despite there being many people staying nothing was allowed to run out. The staff were helpful and we walked or caught the nearby train into the centre, trams were also available. The only downside in our room, which faced the front, was the noise from a nearby bar which went on late into the night - sadly it was English & Irish voices that seemed to be making the most noise. Our son's room at the back was much quieter. For convenience, cost and cleanliness it was fine and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    289
    177
    62
    41
See reviews for
96
92
120
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

Just back from staying at the Meininger for 3 nights. Stayed in a 4 person room which was clean, spacious and modern. The hostel was quiet at night. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was someone around 24hours at the reception. As a female traveller I felt very safe at the hostel and walking around the surrounding areas. The breakfast which was 3,50 euros a day was all you can eat and I thought there was a good choice. The entertainment at the hostel was good with a games room and a bar.
The hostel was easy to get to from the train station, and a great basis for travelling around Munich. The trains were cheap and easy to use and there was a direct train to the airport.
Overall a great hostel which I would definately use again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palacetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2008

It is beyond me how anyone can give this place a good rating.
Hostels are, in my mind at least, supposed to be cheap - this certainly wasn’t. 80€ for a double room and then it turns out everything else costs extra, from the parking (which is free right outside, by the way) to the advertised self-service laundry. The latter being near impossible to do, I understood from some other guests who had been unfortunate enough to also have chosen this awful place. On top of it all, our room wasn’t cleaned up. And these are just a few examples of what to expect!
Just to stress my point on pricing: We had enough of Meininger after about 20 minutes, got a refund and found an actual hotel (yes they lived up their name), with a great room, perfect breakfast and free parking in a charming, quiet and central part of Munich for LESS than Meininger Hostel!
One positive note: The young receptionists were polite and gave us the refund without discussion or delay.
To sum it up: Probably one of the worst places I’ve nearly stayed at.

  • Liked — Free wifi
  • Disliked — Careless attitude
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drstuggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

We stayed here 3 nights. this was the only place we could get in munich which wasn't booked out or really expensive. expecting the the worst, we were pleasantly surprised. there are 2 parts - hostel and hotel. we stayed in the hotel part. quite cheerful and reasonably clean. it is a fairly new place. brekkie was free and filling enough - cereals and bread and condiments, juice.however when we stayed there were lots of school kids, so unless you went ealry brekkie was fairly loud. theres laundry and a kitchen which we found useful. opposite there is a traditional beer hall which had really good value good and of course fantastic beer.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank firefox_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

I stayed here with my boyfriend last july and loved it. Great location for the U-Bahn with a direct train to and from the airport. There's a GREAT restaurant opposite the hotel at really good prices, the Meininger offers a deal where you pre-purchase a voucher for your meals and get discount which we used a lot.
We had a double private room which was very clean and we didn't hear any noise from the School guests staying there. The furniture looked like it all came from Ikea, very simple and modern, not anything special though.

I would stay here again. Enjoyed it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast- plain and very simple.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank leinad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2008

My experience is a bit tough to make into a general review because I happened to be in Munich for the last night (and the first night after) Oktoberfest. So, take any comments with that in mind. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions etc, but the hostel itself was in fairly rough shape, especially some of the rooms. The door to the fire escape didn't really close, it kind of fell into and out of place. The furniture had also definitely seen better days. But the common area was clean and well kept. Although I wish they would provide real chairs for the internet access instead of backless ottoman type stools. Not really comfortable, but maybe that was the idea. Also, the hostel is definitely not for people looking for a quiet place to sleep. Its much more of a high school/college age kind of place. Breakfast was good though and the price was decent, just wish the rooms themselves had been in better shape. Good location near the train depot and very close to the tram lines.

  • Liked — Location and price, staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Noise, cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iainkelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2007

We stayed at a room for 4 people with bathroom. Excellent experience as with all Meiningers we've stayed in (twice in Berlin). Breakfast included, very good location, professional service. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — value for the money
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bluebarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
0.3 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#25 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#37 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#170 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Property: MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Address: Landsberger Str. 20, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weisswurst, pork knuckles, football and a large beer - welcome to Munich! The MEININGER Hotel Munchen City Center is located centrally - 2.5 Km from the main railway station - opposite the Augustiner Braustuben and next to the Theresienwiese that hosts the biggest fair in the world, the Oktoberfest. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi, lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and games room where you can meet our international guests in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel
Meininger City Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing