We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but noisy and needs more powerpoints”
Review of Wombat's Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wombat's Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but noisy and needs more powerpoints”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Our 6 bed female dorm only had 2 powerpoints which was not enough. The rooms often face the street which is very noisy.
The breakfast is good (It costs extra) and the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takengine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    403
    103
    29
    21
See reviews for
29
142
325
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in April 2010. I was very pleased with this hostel. It was more like staying in an IKEA store! My friend and I stayed in a female dorm with 4 or so other women, and it was very clean and comfortable. This was my first time staying in a "dorm" room with other people at a hostel, and I have to say, it was an amazing experience! The room had 4 bunk beds, and lockers for your things. Your room card (key) was also the key to the lockers so you only had to keep up with one item which was brilliant! The bar was a very lively spot to talk with and meet other travellers. Loved the free drink ticket you received upon check in. We could walk into town and to food easily from our location. Will definitely be visiting other Wombats in the future! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_And_Tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The Wombats chain is famous for its youth-focused bar and threadbare but sufficient rooms. Munich's Wombats is very much of the same ilk. You can't go wrong! Be sure to bring your own towel and be prepared for the party focus of the Wombat clientele. You get a free drink voucher when you check in so you can join in the fun too! A true backpacker's hostel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

i just spent 2 nights in a 6 bed mixed dorm and probably got half the sleep i should have thanks to all the late night door slamming puking(both nights) and finally, sex. while the place is clean and has some good features the en suite bathrooms are probably a bad idea unless you like a symphony of retching at 4 am, both nights in my case. don't stay here if you have something to do the next day.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennieerin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Nice clean private (ensuite) room. No communal kitchen, so disappointed with lack of facilities in room

Also, you are not allowed to eat or drink in your room.

Breakfast was all you could eat for €3.70 but simply cereal and toast and a bit of fruit.

Good location, very close to train station.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knpderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I did a solo trip to Munich and had a great time. I stayed here and a hotel at the end of my stay, and met alot of people here! Take the morning walking tour, perfect way to meet some people, esp if you are solo. Go to the bar, buy a drink and start talking. 5 min or less walk to the train station, 10-15 to the part of town everyone walks to. Recommended for anyone on a budget or trying to socialize. Bring earplugs for the snoring people in the room and a towel so you dont have to rent one. Wi-Fi was ONLY accessible from the common area below.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magellan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samoens, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The staff were very helpful and friendly.. The tour with Ozzie around the city was great.

We stayed in a 6 person dorm and were so unfortunate with having the loudest 50 year old snorer the duration of our stay I have EVER heard. The bathroom was also fairly disgusting, but what do you expect when you stay with 2 50 year old extremely hairy men. Guess my partner and I got unlucky - and no more dorms on the cheapo for us anymore.

The common area was good and the computers were good too, approx 1 euro for 40 mins. The bar was cool, nice staff and cheap drinks. The place had a fun vibe... Def for young people.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miasmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Munich

Property: Wombat's Munich
Address: Senefelderstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Of all the hostel-hotels popping up in Munich this pert little number does the best job in combining style with location. Past the glassed-in courtyard you'll find a friendly expat staff, pleasant if modular furnishings and private showers and toilets in every room.' (Lonely Planet)Welcome to our comfortable baby in Munich! We're just a stone's throw from the main train station which also serves as the major public transportation hub. It’s not much further to the old town (5 minute stroll or 2 stone throws) and we're within easy walking distance of the Oktoberfest grounds (if you still CAN walk…better don’t throw stones). We have amply dimensioned dormitories and most doubles come with their own terrace. We're especially proud of our air-conditioned, glass-roofed courtyard with real trees, real hammocks, semi-real (Beware of the wormholes!) beach chairs and beanbags.If you travel by car, you can park it in our basement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wombat's Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing