We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the cheapest but with excellent location”
Review of Wombat's Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wombat's Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Wombat's locates very close to the train station. There's a bar on the ground floor and you can meet people from all around. It you are in time constraint or really has sth to do on the next day, you'd better get a room on higher floor and with windows towards to the opposite side of the street. Generally I had good sleeps. The price for a 6-beds mixed dorm is 25 euro not including breakfast. You have to pay extra 3,7 Euro for breakfast per day if you like. unfortunately they don' t have any kitchens opened to travellers. Anyway I like the excellent location. It is very convenient to reach tourist attractions and there're lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cataniasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

Our 6 bed female dorm only had 2 powerpoints which was not enough. The rooms often face the street which is very noisy.
The breakfast is good (It costs extra) and the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takengine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in April 2010. I was very pleased with this hostel. It was more like staying in an IKEA store! My friend and I stayed in a female dorm with 4 or so other women, and it was very clean and comfortable. This was my first time staying in a "dorm" room with other people at a hostel, and I have to say, it was an amazing experience! The room had 4 bunk beds, and lockers for your things. Your room card (key) was also the key to the lockers so you only had to keep up with one item which was brilliant! The bar was a very lively spot to talk with and meet other travellers. Loved the free drink ticket you received upon check in. We could walk into town and to food easily from our location. Will definitely be visiting other Wombats in the future! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_And_Tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The Wombats chain is famous for its youth-focused bar and threadbare but sufficient rooms. Munich's Wombats is very much of the same ilk. You can't go wrong! Be sure to bring your own towel and be prepared for the party focus of the Wombat clientele. You get a free drink voucher when you check in so you can join in the fun too! A true backpacker's hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

i just spent 2 nights in a 6 bed mixed dorm and probably got half the sleep i should have thanks to all the late night door slamming puking(both nights) and finally, sex. while the place is clean and has some good features the en suite bathrooms are probably a bad idea unless you like a symphony of retching at 4 am, both nights in my case. don't stay here if you have something to do the next day.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennieerin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Nice clean private (ensuite) room. No communal kitchen, so disappointed with lack of facilities in room

Also, you are not allowed to eat or drink in your room.

Breakfast was all you could eat for €3.70 but simply cereal and toast and a bit of fruit.

Good location, very close to train station.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knpderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I did a solo trip to Munich and had a great time. I stayed here and a hotel at the end of my stay, and met alot of people here! Take the morning walking tour, perfect way to meet some people, esp if you are solo. Go to the bar, buy a drink and start talking. 5 min or less walk to the train station, 10-15 to the part of town everyone walks to. Recommended for anyone on a budget or trying to socialize. Bring earplugs for the snoring people in the room and a towel so you dont have to rent one. Wi-Fi was ONLY accessible from the common area below.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magellan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
4.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
10.4 mi away
Hotel Dependance Erb
Hotel Dependance Erb
#340 of 389 in Munich
18 reviews
7.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#206 of 389 in Munich
730 reviews
0 mi away
Euro Youth Hotel
Euro Youth Hotel
#1 of 79 in Munich
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Munich

Address: Senefelderstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range: £19 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wombat's Munich 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Of all the hostel-hotels popping up in Munich this pert little number does the best job in combining style with location. Past the glassed-in courtyard you'll find a friendly expat staff, pleasant if modular furnishings and private showers and toilets in every room.' (Lonely Planet)Welcome to our comfortable baby in Munich! We're just a stone's throw from the main train station which also serves as the major public transportation hub. It’s not much further to the old town (5 minute stroll or 2 stone throws) and we're within easy walking distance of the Oktoberfest grounds (if you still CAN walk…better don’t throw stones). We have amply dimensioned dormitories and most doubles come with their own terrace. We're especially proud of our air-conditioned, glass-roofed courtyard with real trees, real hammocks, semi-real (Beware of the wormholes!) beach chairs and beanbags.If you travel by car, you can park it in our basement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wombat's Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing