We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Munchen-Schwabing
Ranked #187 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here twice during year 2013, first with our 3-person family and 2nd time alone on a business trip.

The cost of the room was definitely good value for money.

During the 1st stay the hotel staff came to help us to carry our luggage from the car - we had parked on the wrong side of the building, but they still helped us in a very friendly way. The hotel is clean and has a bit of a butique style. Breakfast was very good - although it stayed pretty much the same during all the nights is spent there.

The hotel is located in Northern parts of Schwabing, with walking distance to U Bahn station and to the many restaurants and bars of Leopoldstrasse. The location is very easy to reach from airport as the Autobahn ends where Leopoldstrasse starts, a few km North of the hotel. You can also go running or walking in Norhtern parts of Englische Garten. Also BMW Welt is easy to reach with a few U Bahn stops or a 3km walk.

I would probably stay here again in my next Munich trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heikki-1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSGMGR, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munchen-Schwabing, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2014

Antwort:
Dear guest “j s”,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review about your recent stay. Nice to hear that you had an excellent time with us at the end of your holiday.

It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you especially appreciate our excellent location directly on the Leopoldstraße, in the immediate vicinity to three subway stations, bus- and tramway.
We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the new renovated room in our garden house. Happily, we are able to offer our guests quiet rooms to the inner courtyard which is rather uncommonly in a city like Munich.
We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is gratifying to hear that these efforts are recognized. It is always motivating to receive such positive feedback as yours. We assure you that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the team and that their service is duly noted.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Yours sincerely, Gregor Schertler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Fleming's Hotel Munchen-Schwabing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Flemings Hotel in Schwabing offered a clean room at a great value, with an average location and extra nakedness free of charge. Honestly, before I distract you with any other details, in my opinion, the most important tip for travelers to know is that the shower is in full view of the room (at least the standard room). For many travelers, and I realize not all, this may be difficult to understand because it just doesn't make sense.

I planned a trip to Munich for my girlfriend and wanted to make sure we could stay on foot or public transit most of the time, had effortless access to some good biergartens, and stayed within a budget at or less than 150 euros a night. To be upfront with my bias in fairness to future travelers, I rarely seek hotels with fancy service, large rooms, and lots of amenities such as a pool or gym.

Location: Flemings in Schwabing gets an average vote for location. It is about a 5 minute walk from the Dietlindenstrasse U-bahn, which is convenient for traveling down to the Marienplatz (one of the main squares in Munich), because you do not have to change trains, but still felt just enough 'up-the-road' and outside of the buzz of other parts of the city. No real complaints here, it just did not stand out. We definitely did not feel like we had good eating and drinking options just on our doorstep. Alternatively, the hotel is a short walk to the huge English Garden, which seems like Munich's Central Park. With good weather, this is a pleasant detail, as the Garden has great areas for picnics, sports, and you will find some biergartens too.

Value: Flemings Schwabing came in under budget, so it get a big bonus there. Taking the price into consideration, the location does not seem that bad, but for those travelers that have a little extra padding in their wallets, you could consider a hotel with a better location. For those on a budget, this place may be just right. (Except for the big fat naked caveat I mentioned above, and will describe more)

Cleanliness was excellent and at the typical German-standard. Above average compared to hotels in many other countries.

Shower: If you are looking to spice things up in your relationship, or looking for a fun and awkward surprise for someone special, maybe the standard room with the open shower is for you. I imagine many folks would just laugh it off, or have fun with it, and that's great. Either way, travelers should definitely know what they are getting into here! It's not something to complain about or something to even take away from the hotel, its just different.

Good luck, and enjoy SchwaaaaaaaBING!

Room Tip: Standard room showers are out in the open in the room (e.g. other guest can see the person showering...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominickGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed there two nights. Excellent hotel, friendly staff, room perfectly clean. Nice bar to have a drink on the evening. Good location in the Schwabing area. Easy to go to Marienplatz area using the U Bahn. Just be aware that the bathroom is completely open.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrittanyBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights for the Markets. Should have stayed at the one In town centre but had not realised there were two. So a bit inconvenient for travelling to markets, especially as we seemed to hit every station with a broken escalator.
Lovely comfortable beds, wonderful duvet and pillows (my pet dread when staying in hotels is a hard bed and pillows). Room very tiny, bed very low so not easy when you have a disability. Would say there seemed to be about 18" between bed and wall on both sides. Very low lighting and very few sockets in room. Tilt and turn windows a plus. Fresh fruit and toiletries supplied. Surprised other reviewers never mention when toiletries are provided as it does help on a short trip to know these things. Very very clean and nice decor too.
Shower room - very tiny.shower, toilet and wash basin only a few inches apart from one another. Shower itself tiny, not sure how a large person would fare. Good pressure on shower at all times of the morning.
Reception staff very nice, especially the two young males.
Breakfast staff were fine but not chatty. Liked the continental selection of meats, cheeses, olives, fruits, cereals, yoghurts etc. Lots of lovely breads to choose from and there is the offer of bacon (microwave type I think) plus eggs (scrambled, fried, boiled).
No tea/coffee making facilities but then we are prepared for that with hotels on the Continent.
Very happy with the hotel, just the location not for the purpose of our visit but then that was our fault.
Wonder if there are disabled rooms?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireLankyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very modern, stylish, though little tired carpet and towels. Good value though. Convenient location for walking everywhere, 10 minutes to Marienplatz, across from main train station. Side streets a little sketchy, just be aware walking late nights, stay on main streets you'll be fine. Friendly staff, free wifi, nice gym, good continental breakfast and late nite bar.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bettina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for one night only with husband and daughter. We had two rooms, which were a decent size and well furnished, although the size of the furniture made it a bit hard to get around the room. No tea- or coffee-making facilities, which seemed a shame. They did have a mini bar but even I didn't fancy a gin and tonic first thing in the morning. The most peculiar aspect to the room was the en-suite bathroom. This was separated from the bedroom by a glass screen, so you had the pleasure of watching your room mate showering, cleaning their teeth, etc. It wasn't a problem for us, but if you were a very modest couple, or sharing a room on a business trip, it might have seemed a little odd. If we had got a family room with our daughter, there is no way she would have showered in front of us! There was at least a frosted glass door to the loo, but even that gave you a clearer view than you might have wanted from the outside. There was a little puddle of water in the bottom of the shower where it didn't drain properly, so I wasn't sure if I was standing in drips from the shower head or the remnants of the previous occupant's shower.
The reception staff were very friendly; the bar staff less so. We had an excellent buffet breakfast although, again, the waiter wasn't terribly friendly or helpful.
The location is good - it was about a 10 minutes' walk to the Elisabeth Park - we walked across there right into the centre of town. It's a beautiful walk across the park and all in all I guess we spent over an hour walking into town, although you probably could have done it in 40 minutes, if you walked quickly. There was also a tram stop just a couple of minutes from the hotel, which took you into the centre of town in about 3 stops. The hotel has a car park right underneath, and they kindly let us leave our car there all day on Monday, even though we were technically checked out first thing.
All in all, it was ok, but I wouldn't make a special point of going back there if we were in Munich again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizAtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hotel in general: Good location, 5-7 mins walking from heart of Schwabing. Nice and quiet but close enough to stumble home. Staff very courteous and informative, spoke English very well and tolerated my halting German.

Room: Small but very well setup. Adequate close for a brief stay (2 days). Bathroom was great for one person, shower was wonderful, water pressure was good, good for tall person (183cm, 6').

Breakfast: Buffet style (continental ingredients) with some table service for things like coffee, eggs, waffles, etc. Staff very good, clean, plenty of seating, and very tolerant of long breakfast meetings.

I was there even for the tail end of Oktoberfest and the staff was still in good spirits. Kudos to them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DitaV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.4 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#234 of 385 in Munich
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#211 of 385 in Munich
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#222 of 385 in Munich
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Munchen Parkstadt Schwabing
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#209 of 385 in Munich
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleming's Hotel Munchen-Schwabing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Munchen-Schwabing

Address: Leopoldstr. 130 - 132, 80804 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £91 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Munchen-Schwabing 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings in the artists quarter! Explore the cozy metropolis from this ideal location. At Fleming's you are perfectly located close to the exhibition grounds, the Allianz Arena and the City Centre. Likewise, the Olympic Park and the English Garden are within easy reach. Here you will not only find the convenience and service you value at Fleming's. You are also in one of the most beautiful locations of the city and can enjoy a fresh beer from the tap while watching the lively hustle and bustle on Leopoldstraße from our inviting beergarden. Refined, wenge-varnished woods, combined with vivid green and warm creme tones - the rooms and suites in the typical Fleming's design are the ideal combination of trend and feel-good. A special highlight are the granite-glass bath and the individually controllable light pattern at the head of the bed. Even families are in the best hands at our Hotel in Munich. The installed connecting doors can be used to combine four of the rooms into a "family den" with two rooms. Juicy grill and seafood delicatessen or French brasserie classics - everyone will find their favorite meal, including the matching premium wines. Also recommended: Our delicatessen sampler - a handy bring-along When the sun is out, one can relax in grandiose style in our inner courtyard. For conferences, meetings, or presentations three air-conditioned event rooms comfortably provide space for up to 100 persons. Up to 10 persons can work undisturbed in the five conference suites. You can count on multi-medial conference technology at the highest level. In addition to free Internet access via WLAN, we also provide centrally controlled media technology for various pre-programmed technical scenarios, including a CAT 7 network port - for convenient handling of "plug&play" connectivity. We offer an overall service - from planning and realisation to the successful completion of your event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Munchen-Schwabing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel Munich
Flemings Hotel Munchen Schwabing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing