We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, close to main train station.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schiller5 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Schiller5 Hotel
Ranked #10 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, close to main train station.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is very well appointed, with modern spacious rooms. The location is excellent, right around the corner from the Hauptbahnhof and only a 5 minute walk into the centre of town. Good bathroom with nice powerful shower and nice warm rooms. The breakfast selection was the best I have seen at a self service buffet and the staff were helpful in storing luggage both before check-in and after check-out.

The comments about the seedy nature of the area are, in my opinion a little over blown. A handful of strip clubs/sex toy shops on the same street is all you are met with.

My only negative comments are there were two single duvets rather than a double on the double bed and we felt a bit observed by the staff during breakfast, being asked several times for our room number to check we were actually guests at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustineKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    153
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
47
161
45
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for only one night. When we made the reservation it was included in the price one refill of the minibar. We were a bit disappointed when discovering that it only contained coke, soda and one small beer. We'd hoped for something stronger when arriving in the evening just before dinner... Well, next problem was the Internet-access which we was told to be free and available also in the room. Forget it! Poor connection and we needed a special code which didn't work.
The concierge was unattending and didn't care about our problems. I'm surprised this is a four-star hotel. Not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hotel is a great surprise, given it's street location, and only a five minute stroll from the train station. Room was modern, spacious and very well equipped. Kitchenette and laundry facilities great when travelling as a family. Staff were excellent, really helpful - and the breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMH550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Schiller 7 is a great a place to stay in Munich, well located to the central station and city in vibrant neighbourhood. Arriving in the evening after a long haul from Melbourne, the check in was efficient and FAST- perfect when all you want to do is shower have a walk a beer and sleep. The rooms are spacious and double glazed so would be cozy in winter and in the summer they kept the cool air con in and the noise from the vibrant neighbourhood out. The room and bathroom were spotless and generous in size and bed was super comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was above average, with a great quality selection the usual European fare, and a personal touch was the owner of the Schiller 7 coming to our table to wish us a good day!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneMannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed there 1 night and it was expensive... Hotel surroundings is not good - sex clubs, unfriendly people in general. Rooms were dated, shower handle broke when I took a shower in the morning.. Very close to the train station which is good, and the entire area is the same, so if you need to be close to the station know that this is a very bad area... Service was very good which was good. breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alonlif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel is located in the center of Munich, 10 minutes walk to Railroad station/subway, car rental, Marienplatz, old city.
The convenient ride from airport takes 40 minutes by S8 metro line (bahn), ticket costs 10.40 euro per person and 20.80 for group 2-5 people.
Hotel staff is very friendly and professional. We arrived early, 4 hours before check in time, they took our bags at reception, gave maps of surroundings, hotel and some other useful tips.
Hotel breakfast on Sunday is till 10.30 and we were offered to have some coffee (espresso was very good), drinks, croissant , etc.
After our walk to Marienplatz we checked in. The room was very nice, with design touch. Actually hotel itself, dining room, dining china, guest lounge, hotel driveway - they have designer works and you can see book (portfolio) of that designer with with pictures of his work.
The room has style, many amenities - glass dining table on the wheels, kitchenette with everything you need, bathroom towel dryer, fridge with minibar, they don't have much room, but it is very well used. I have to say more about breakfast, since it's important for traveler, who wants to visit many places in short time. The hotel has large stylish dining room and variety of dishes: Bavarian sausages, fried potato balls, omelet, eggs, creeps, jams, pastries, fruits, home-style oatmeal, few kinds of cheese and ham, salmon. Every morning we tried different tea (they have more than a dozen kinds) or coffee (espresso, cappuccino, black...). Especially I liked bread - dark rye with seeds and nuts.
Every morning the owner - Leo - greeted us and asked about our well being. There were people from different countries and he spoke with them in their language. I think he speaks five or so languages.
There is a lounge bar next to dining room, which opens after 5 p.m where you can relax and get yourself a glass of wine or beer, cup of coffee.
We spent 8 days in Munich and had very nice stay in this hotel. This is our first visit to Germany and we like it very much.

P.S. If you rent a car and want to use hotel garage, do not rent a large car. Parking assistant option is very handy as well as GPS. Also read about driving habits in Germany.

Room Tip: Rooms without street view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha_27908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Schiller 5 Hotel is located on a street adjacent the Munich Hauptbahnhof and within 15 minutes walk from Marienplatz, Deutsches Museum and several other key attractions. Because of other colorful businesses on Schiller Strasse, some might be concerned that this is an undesirable neighborhood. No one disturbed me. This building has been thoroughly modernized with elevators and nearly sound proof windows. They assigned me to a room overlooking Schiller Strasse, which can be very noisy. The modern windows and wall insulation gave me near complete sound isolation from the partygoers outside. Their breakfast buffet presented delicious, fresh food. Since I am a hot tea drinker, I must complement Schiller 5's selection of delicious teas. Schiller 5's staff was courteous and helpful to recommend a great restaurant.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#12 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schiller5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schiller5 Hotel

Property: Schiller5 Hotel
Address: Schillerstrasse 5, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#22 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#37 Family Hotel in Munich
#54 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schiller5 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Munich! Our modern, simple and clear design creates a sensation of comfort and well being. Following the ideas of Friedrich von Schiller we are proud to present our elegant and refined Schiller5 Hotel- and Boardinghouse - your "home away from home" in the very heart of Munich. Our philosophy emphasizes the traditional role of a host. This goes along with a sensible and individual service to our guests. I look forward to welcoming you personally in Munich. LEO MILCHIKER Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schiller5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller 5 Hotel And Boardinghouse
Schiller 5 Hotel Boardinghouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing