We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Munich City
Ranked #66 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

First of all, the positives: My first impression was positive. Reception staff were quick and effient. The breakfast buffet was one of the better ones with lots of choice, and the coffee was very good. Service in the restaurant / bar was very good as well - not just during breakfast, but also during the day. The location was convenient for me as I wanted to be near Munich central station.
The negatives: The hotel is a design hotel. Part of their concept is to have fully glassed shower cubicles in the middle of the room. This is fine if you're travelling on your own or with a partner, but in my case, where I spent a couple of days with my mum, this was quite inadequate. I asked for the room to be changed to one with a more private bathroom, but this was not possible as they are all like this. Hm. Not ideal. Also, there were issues with attention to detail: only one set of towels in the room, not enough hangers, missing stationery / hotel information and similar. I was also annoyed by the fact that there were not enough plugs to charge my phone and laptop at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Remember14,

thank you very much for your feedback!
Immediately after we read your tips, we told our head housekeeper about it. She already trained her maids in the specific points.
Our technician added hangers were they were needed.
For your next stay, we would be happy to provide an extension cable in your room, that you can charge all your devices. Please let me know when you will be here next. You can reach me anytime via e-mail k.weiss@flemings-hotels.com.

Great, that you liked our staff and our breakfast.

All the best for you,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    466
    113
    32
    18
See reviews for
84
428
118
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The hotel is well located close to the main station. Staff at reception were helpful and efficient. Our room on the fifth floor was on the inner courtyard and was quiet. The decor was modern and the room very clean and a decent size. The hotel was a little let down by some housekeeping issues like no clean towels one day and no toilet rolls the next day but these were quickly remedied. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice in the buffet and the offer of fresh cooked eggs. Good value

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrywb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Gerrywb,

thank you for your fabolous feedback!

Great, that you liked the room and our Fleming´s breakfast.

Also thank you for your feedback regarding the drawback in your room. Immediately after getting your feedback, we told our head housekeeper about it. She takes care, that tis will not happen again.

We´re looking forward to welcomeing you back to our Fleming´s Hotel Munich City soon.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The hotel location right next to the train station was very strategic for us in this trip. The property is nice, well mantained and the staff is attentive and courteus. The early check in was a great and unexpected plus! We have walked a lot in Munich and the location was also convenient for that purpose. The modern room with the exposed shower is a nice touch, but the sink area lacks a little space. The quality of linen and towells could be improved. The heating device was confusing and led us to turn on the air conditioning instead of the heater, what in the freezing winter was not ok! That was fixed after a staff member came to the room and showed us that the proper heating device was behind the curtains. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marciopsiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Dear marciopsiq,

thank you for your nice feedback here on tripadvisor.
Great, that you liked our hotel and the early check in!
Also thank you for the feedback regarding the towels. We forwarded your feedback to our headhousekeeper. She will check all our towels and sort them out.
We also trained our front desk staff to inform the guests how to use the hating in the rooms again.
Good to know, that you liked our breakfast an had a good start in the day.
Hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

All the best,
Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel quite a few times over the past years, but get the feeling that it is getting worse every year. It's been bothersome for some time, that despite staying here for 6+ weeks in a row, hotel staff will always take my complete information during check-in and reservation. But the last time just was enough. Coming to my room I found the blanket covering having holes. Also the inventory seemed to be run down, but the worst was still to come. Having breakfast was really a bad idea during the last weeks. The ham looked old, getting crispy on the side and the salmon seemed to be old that you could look through it.

Do not understand me wrong, I really liked staying in the hotel. The location is near perfect for traveling around Munich, the rooms are modern and clean. But there are some downsides coming apparent as well... that's why I think there are nicer hotels around for a similar price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgier24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear belgier24,

thank you for your feedback here on tripadvisor.

Unfortunately you could not experience our special Fleming´s service that you expected from your earlier visits.
Immediately after receiving your feedback, I forwarded it to the Frontofficemanager, the Head Housekeeper and the Chef. They all took measures to avoid incidents like those in the future.

Hopefully we may welcome you back to our hotel soon to assure you of the elemination of the drawback.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here in snowy February. Well located for main station (& connection to airport) and within walking distance of most central sights and attractions. The hotel rooms are clean, tidy and spacious. Breakfast was good and plenty of tables to choose from and staff attentive.
Reception staff were helpful and ably provided an iron when we found we needed one!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnh2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear johnh2701,

thank you very much for your great feedback!
We´re more than happy, that you had a good start of your day with our Fleming´s breakfast.

Hopefully we may welcome you back to our hotel soon,

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
257 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

+
Nice modern large rooms
Good location just across hauptbanhof (central station) and walking distance
to Marienplatz, Karlsplatz and lots of restaurants brewhouses and shopping.
Curtious and friendly staff

-
Not free wireless wich is bad at a hotel in this class
Missing that something "special" to get an extra star

Recommended both for business and holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear FoodVagabond,

thank you for your feedback!

We´re happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Just let me say one thing: Who told you, that our Wifi is charged for?

Of course our Wifi is FREE (!!) of any charges. You just need to get a code for that at the front desk.

Maybe you can try our free wifi within your next stay.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed at the hotel during Oktoberfest & ExpoReal exhibition. The hotel is centrally located in Munich close to main metro lines & railway station. And what is also very good is that there’s no noise from the railway station! Munich sightseeing are in walking distance from the hotel. I also liked the restaurant of Fleming’s hotel - it's very cozy and offers excellent dishes. Try grilled tuna steak or salmon steak. They also can prepare very nice omelet in the morning, especially if you ask to add some tomatoes. The personnel is always ready to help you. All the rooms are modern and stylish. Wifi works everywhere although you’ll have to ask for a new login & password every day. But there’s no need to go to the reception - they will tell you a login & password by phone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Nyurita,

thank you very much for your feedback here on tripadvisor.

We´re very happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 383 in Munich
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#33 of 383 in Munich
1,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#8 of 383 in Munich
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#98 of 383 in Munich
2,555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleming's Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Property: Fleming's Hotel Munich City
Address: Bayerstr. 47, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#65 Business Hotel in Munich
#73 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the city pulsate with life! Directly in the heart of the Bavarian metropolis, this Fleming's First Class Hotel also impresses with an abundance of comfort and innovative design. A feel-good atmosphere - from the morning shower in the fully glass-enclosed bathroom to dinner to the trendy ambiance of our Brasserie. The ideal platform for city tours and night owls. Clear lines, refined materials, and pleasant colors: This interplay creates the modern style interior so typical for Fleming's. A special highlight are the granite-glass bath and the individually controllable light pattern at the head of the bed. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of our well-balanced mix of French Brasserie and delicatessen shop. Fresh grill and seafood specialties, classics from the French Brasserie cuisine, or home-made Italian pasta dishes are waiting for you. We also recommend premium wines from our extensive wine cellar. You will also find delicatessen, a wide range of gift articles and selected table china at Fleming's delicatessen shop. Fleming's Hotel Munich-City is not only ideally suited for city excursions and shopping sprees, but for business as well. Our two air-conditioned event venues have a capacity of up to 20 persons and provide an ideal environment for meetings and smaller conferences in Munich's center. They have natural daylight and are equipped with state of the art multi-media technology - available as plug&play configuration for easy handling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing