We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice in Munchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Munich City
Ranked #66 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good choice in Munchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The location of this hotel was convenient to everything. Tourist information, transport and attractions. The room was luxurious, clean and quiet. Staff were very helpful. The room was enormous and the bed very comfortable. I really liked the see~through shower too. Housekeeping staff were diligent and thorough.

After traveling though Europe for a number of weeks the lack of English language entertainment on the TV, other than English language news, was disappointing given there was all manner of entertainment in a variety of other languages (eg. French, Russian, Arabic).

There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which I now know is due to guest safety concerns. I was, however, able to obtain take away coffee from the brasserie at most times of the day. I also found the brasserie staff to be very helpful and accommodating, particularly during the breakfast service. I was also impressed with the patience and professionalism of staff (who are mostly young adults) when dealing with more difficult /demanding guests. These young people are a credit to the Flemings brand.

There were limited vegetarian options on the in-house menu, which necessitated the search for options outside the hotel.

Wifi was unpredictable at times however this didn't taint my stay too much.

On my return to Australia this week, I was also surprised and delighted to receive written response to the feedback I provided to management on my experience while a guest in this hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear meejayne,

it´s a pleasure reading, that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our "Fleming´s way of life". :-) Thank you so much for your extensive review.

We´re looking forward to welcomeing you bach to munich soon.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    460
    107
    32
    18
See reviews for
80
424
115
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Staff is what makes the hotel even better. Michael was a true customer service individual along with his other team members. The rooms as everyone points out has the shower visible in the room. While it takes moments to get used to it was a nice different feel in design. The room and beds were comfortable. We had no issues.
Hotel location was right across the street from the main train station.
I hung around the main station each of the 3 nights I stayed there. Its huge and very interwsting to do people wathcing with lots of activity and places to eat...try it out.
I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear John B,

wow, thank you for your great feedback here on tripadvisor. We´re more than happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Immediately after receiving your feedback, we passed it to Michael - he was very proud! ... that´s always the best motivation for us.

We´re looking forward to welcomeing you back to munich soon!

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was our second stay in Munich at Flemings Hotel. It was within easy walking distance to the Oktoberfest fairgrounds, as well as to Marien Platz and the Alt Stadt in Munich. Although it is close to the train station we did not find it to be a bad area and had no problem walking there at night. The rooms are very modern and if you like a hard bed (my husband did not!), very comfortable, although a bit small. Breakfast was more than adequate each morning and the staff very helpful. If you want to check in early they allow you to do that for an additional fee of 20 Euro, otherwise they will hold your bags while you get lunch and return after 2:00. Although the price was exorbitant due to it being Oktober Fest, it was one of the best prices we could find during that period so we felt we got the best value we could.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L&J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear L&J,

wonderful comments like yours bring us great pleasure. It is indeed very important to us that our guests always feel welcome. Aiming for complete guest satisfaction is our number one priority.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We booked this hotel several months in advance knowing we would be going to Oktoberfest. This hotel is located perfectly for everything Munich. First it is a stones throw away from the main train station. Then it is about a 10-15 minute walk to Oktoberfest! Finally it is a 15 minute walk to all of the other main attractions in Munich.

The rooms are very clean and modern. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We also used the underground parking which was convenient.

Warning! If you are staying in a room with someone you are not comfortable with you might want to choose another hotel. The shower is right there in the room with you and there is no where for you to hide. It was fine for me and my wife but if you were traveling with a friend or something it might get awkward.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike89t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear mike89t,

many thanky for taking your valuable time writing this nice review. We appreciate it!
Hopefully we may welcome you back to the Fleming´s soon.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We visited 5 countries in 9 days and this was our last stop. Easy access by train, easy to park in front of the hotel, and underground parking was perfect and also really neat to see. The staff was friendly and provided us a map to Octoberfest. We got there in 10 min by train and back. Breakfast was included in our stay. They provided a large variety of food selections. Very tasty. Rooms were up to date and large.

Room Tip: higher room, warmer due to no air condition, corner suites are quite large with a dinning room set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodLife1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Goodlife1993,

thank you for your positive review about our hotel, location, breakfast and our staff. It´s very nice to hear that you were satisfiesd with your stay with us.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitford, Auckland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our choice to stay at Flemings was based partly on price (there seemed to be an escalation due to the start of Oktoberfest).

Overall I would have to say it did represent good value. The parking is a little tricky to find but once located it is convenient, safe and under the hotel. It is quite a negotiation to transfer your luggage from the vehicle in to the hotel itself. I believe the building was origionally a bank and therefore the layout underneath is not ideal for its current use. Having said this there is no alternative solution, it is not impossible and the young staff member on duty at the time we arrived helped us, when we departed we managed by ourselves.

The room itself was comfortable. I agree with previous contributors the pillows are flat and inadequate, again this is not the first experience of this problem we have had in Germany. Ask for additional on your arrival. The lights were also a little difficult to get used to and personally we found them impractical. The shower is positioned behind glass and virtually forms part of the bedroom (the toilet area is private). There may be some circumstances that this would prove uncomfortable for the guests and they should be aware of this prior to booking a single room if not a couple.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is situated almost directly across the road from the railway station and at the end of most of the central shopping area. For us most things were within easy walking distance. There seemed to be an increase in people begging on the footpaths surrounding the hotel, this is in no way a reflection on Flemings but an observation and perhaps representative of the times.

The breakfast which was included was very good. Normal hot and cold dishes and anything made to order was extremely quick. The menu for meals was adequate and the food reasonable. Again it represented good value for the cost.

I would be more than happy to use Flemings on any future visit to Munich. For anyone wanting a centrally located hotel it is well worth considering.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Cheezel,

we truly appreciate that you have taken the time to effectively summarize your impressions of our hotel. Thank you very much for that. It´s good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we may welcome you back to our hotel soon - and for your next wisit, the whole hotel will have brand new pillows!

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

If you're arriving or leaving Munich by train, this hotel could not be more conveniently located - just two minute's walk from the main station, and ten minutes from the Old Town.
Our room was quiet, comfortable and clean, though with a quirkily designed glass shower cubicle that wasn't separated from the rest of the room by a door or curtain, so you'd have to feel very comfortable in the presence of your room-mate. We could also have done with a tea/coffee-making machine and more drawers for putting away small items.
But otherwise our room was right up to the standard we wanted, and the breakfast in the handy hotel restaurant was typically generous and tasty as we would find in any German hotel. We also ate dinner and some light lunches there a few
times, and couldn't fault the menu choices, quality, value and friendly service from the young staff.
We look forward to staying there again when we're next in Munich.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Hal D,

thank you very much for your feedback here on tripadvisor. We´re more than happy, that you liked our hotelrooms, the location´and that you had a good day´s start with our Fleming´s breakfast. We also passed your accolade to our staff... this is alsways the best motivation for us! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Here a little tip for you: Book one of our maisonette studios for your next visit - the do have a tea and coffee making facility in the room for a free of charge use.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#33 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#10 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleming's Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Property: Fleming's Hotel Munich City
Address: Bayerstr. 47, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#65 Business Hotel in Munich
#73 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the city pulsate with life! Directly in the heart of the Bavarian metropolis, this Fleming's First Class Hotel also impresses with an abundance of comfort and innovative design. A feel-good atmosphere - from the morning shower in the fully glass-enclosed bathroom to dinner to the trendy ambiance of our Brasserie. The ideal platform for city tours and night owls. Clear lines, refined materials, and pleasant colors: This interplay creates the modern style interior so typical for Fleming's. A special highlight are the granite-glass bath and the individually controllable light pattern at the head of the bed. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of our well-balanced mix of French Brasserie and delicatessen shop. Fresh grill and seafood specialties, classics from the French Brasserie cuisine, or home-made Italian pasta dishes are waiting for you. We also recommend premium wines from our extensive wine cellar. You will also find delicatessen, a wide range of gift articles and selected table china at Fleming's delicatessen shop. Fleming's Hotel Munich-City is not only ideally suited for city excursions and shopping sprees, but for business as well. Our two air-conditioned event venues have a capacity of up to 20 persons and provide an ideal environment for meetings and smaller conferences in Munich's center. They have natural daylight and are equipped with state of the art multi-media technology - available as plug&play configuration for easy handling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, MyHotelShop, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing