We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place to Stay in Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Munich City
Ranked #65 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Good Place to Stay in Munich”
Reviewed 13 December 2008

We stayed at Fleming's Munich City for two nights at the beginning of december whilst visiting the Christmas Markets and the other attractions that Munich has to offer.

The hotel is located across the road from the Hauptbahnhof (opposite the Sofitel & next to the Meridien), and is ideally located if you're arriving on the S-Bahn from the airport. We stayed in a standard sized room, which was larger than expected, and as stated in other reviews had the glass-walled shower cubicle as a feature. The beds were comfortable, although the pillows were a little thin & soft for my liking. The headboard has lights built in which could be switched between, orange, blue & green colours. Fresh apples are provided every day which I thought was a nice touch, and the drinks in the mini-bar are reasonably priced for a change !

Breakfast was good, with a selection of cereals, cheese, cold meats, breads, and eggs prepared to order. My girlfriend's scrambled eggs were unfortunately prepared in a pan that had been used for cooking bacon (not good as she is vegetarian) even though she had requested no bacon !

I would probably stay here again on a future visit to Munich.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Delvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    464
    110
    32
    18
See reviews for
82
425
117
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

location wise this hotel was excellent - the main station is directly across the street and you are within 5 mins walk of the very centre of munich.
The room was reasonably big and quite well furnished. the doors were heavy and blocked all noise from the corridor although we could hear the person walking upstairs.
Like others have written the bathroom is rather interesting since it's open to the room and the shower has clear glass walls - so this is not a good choice if sharing with a friend or your cousin !
The lighting was nice but quite poorly planned. the bedside lights could only be on if the bathroom light was on (same switch controlled both).
breakfast was ok although not a huge choice. staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — open shower
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2008

I stayed here for one night a few nights back. Excellent location for the HbF and a pleasantly surprising hotel - very good sized rooms by German and European standards. lovely bathroom and excellent staff. If I come back to Munich again I would definitely stay here.

  • Liked — The helpful staff and the nice room
  • Disliked — Lack of pillows - only two
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irl1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

my husband and i stayed here in october 2008. i read previous reviews and thought we should give it a try. i made a terrible mistake. i think the great reviews must have been made by the hotel staff. i booked a suite for 4 nights and upon arriving from an early morning flight ( which i have also booked for the previous night to get a guaranteed check-in), they put us in a standard room. we called mgmt. and was told they had nothing else. the next day we spoke to the day mgr. and she told us there was nothing else available and looked at us as if we were idiots.
their standard rooms had a shower as the center piece of the room. heating was non-existent during the day as they turn it off and at night it barely worked. there were white stains all over their green carpeting from i don't know what. next time in munich, we'll book a room across the street at the sofitel. currently, we are disputing the charge from this mistake.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kikivideau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

The hotel is literally across the road from the central station so no problem getting your luggage there. You take the train direct form the airport and then cross the road coming out of the station and the hotel is 200 yards to the right - perfect. Quick efficient check in, lovely quiet room, comfy beds and see through shower!!!! Not a problem when you are with hubby but maybe with a friend.....? Breakfast was pretty hectic on the first morning but quieter thereafter. Good choice and as many types of eggs as you could wish for. We ate in the hotel on one night after a hectic day out and it was very nice. Munich is a great place for a weekend - easily accessible and lots to see. We especially enjoyed the Olympic area which had BMW world beside it - wow - what a place. The beer halls were excellent too and we liked the Augistiner and also the Hofbrauhaus. Loved the transport network.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rubber mattress!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night break in Munich and I must say that I totally agree with all the good reviews about Fleming's.
Munich was a lovely city to explore and we were very lucky with the weather as the sun shone all the time we were there.
I would suggest trying some places a bit further afield. We went to Ammersee, which is in Munich's lake district and it was just lovely. Take the S-Bahn to Herrsching to get there.
There were other places we would have liked to have visited but didn't have the time in our short stay.
We plan to return to Munich and would definately stay at Fleming's.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

The Hotel offers pretty much everything you need for a nice holiday. The staff is friendly and the rooms are tidy and has a modern interior design. The location is great, just about one hundred meters from the central station, so it´s easy to get access to the subway etc.

The wellness center offers you training facilities and two different saunas where you can rest after a long day. The breakfast was very nice with good service from the staff.

From the outside, the Flemings Hotel does not look very special. But inside the lobby you get the feeling that it has something good to offer.

I will return here the next time I visit Munich.

  • Liked — The interior design
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lundh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#22 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleming's Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Property: Fleming's Hotel Munich City
Address: Bayerstr. 47, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#65 Business Hotel in Munich
#73 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the city pulsate with life! Directly in the heart of the Bavarian metropolis, this Fleming's First Class Hotel also impresses with an abundance of comfort and innovative design. A feel-good atmosphere - from the morning shower in the fully glass-enclosed bathroom to dinner to the trendy ambiance of our Brasserie. The ideal platform for city tours and night owls. Clear lines, refined materials, and pleasant colors: This interplay creates the modern style interior so typical for Fleming's. A special highlight are the granite-glass bath and the individually controllable light pattern at the head of the bed. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of our well-balanced mix of French Brasserie and delicatessen shop. Fresh grill and seafood specialties, classics from the French Brasserie cuisine, or home-made Italian pasta dishes are waiting for you. We also recommend premium wines from our extensive wine cellar. You will also find delicatessen, a wide range of gift articles and selected table china at Fleming's delicatessen shop. Fleming's Hotel Munich-City is not only ideally suited for city excursions and shopping sprees, but for business as well. Our two air-conditioned event venues have a capacity of up to 20 persons and provide an ideal environment for meetings and smaller conferences in Munich's center. They have natural daylight and are equipped with state of the art multi-media technology - available as plug&play configuration for easy handling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing