We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great place to stay.”
Review of Amalienburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amalienburg
Ranked #177 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 4 April 2011

A friend booked this hotel for us because the other one we wanted to stay in was full. What a surprise! We didn't expect it to be so nice but it was very nice and reasonably priced. We were also traveling with a dog and he was well accommodated too. The staff was great and very helpful. The room we stayed in was very spacious with a separate bedroom, a large kitchen area and a very large bathroom. It was a corner room with very easy access to the outside. The hotel is within minutes walking distance of the Tram which made getting to dowtown Munich easy. We could leave our car parked at the hotel and did not have to drive and there were no extra parking fees at the hotel. The Nymphenburg Castle was also only minutes from the hotel. I would certainly recommed this hotel to anyone that wanted to visit Munich and wasn't sure where to stay. The staff also spoke excellent English too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kymm07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

This was my first trip to Germany ( or Europe generally for that matter ) and I was joined by my elderly mother and two sisters. We chose to visit Munich and the Bavarian Alps, had a fabulous time and a big part of it was starting our stay at the Amalienburg. The hotel is very charming, with a family feel to it. The staff all spoke English quite well and I am told this is a requirement to work at the hotel. The hotel reception area, dining room and sleeping rooms are very clean and comfortable, the bathrooms spotless, roomy and with great fixtures and water pressure in the shower/tub. We had two rooms, a double and a triple, and the triple was equipped with a nice kitchenette.

The hotel is very accessibly 10-15 minutes west of the historic city center by car in a very nice suburban area, with a car rental agency across the street, and gas station also quite close, as well as a grocery store. We were very pleased to stay outside the more congested, high traffic city center and I think this allows the hotel to be much more affordable than downtown hotels and as such is a great value. The Obermenzing train station is a relatively short walk away also which provided great access to public transit. The hotel is situated on a fairly busy street and there is some street noise depending on which room you are in but the traffic diminishes greatly after rush hour and the hotel has very effective sound deadening windows and it did not bother me or any of my group. Also, the hotel is quite close to the Nymphenberg Castle area which was very interesting, and was also just about 5 minutes from the BMW museum and the Olympic Park area.

Most of all the staff was really great and took very good care of us. The breakfast buffet was also very good, with lots of selection and great coffee!

I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoAzNe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I had to stay at this hotel at the last minute on a school/leisure trip to Munich. They are somewhat removed from downtown Munchen - at least a few miles. Check in was easy and they do have free wi-fi which is a plus. However, they charge 5 euros for breakfast which is a negative.
The rooms do have a small kitchen which is nice for families. I ordered a double room since I had a classmate staying with me but the double beds share a single bedframe. This is too close for two heterosexual males. Also, there was a beam in the middle of the room which was very akward.
At check out, the staff didnt provide any assistance when I asked for directions to my next destination, despite the fact that it was raining and I was travelling by foot. This alone tainted my opinion of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Double bed was two beds joined up and not even sheeted together, pillows were useless may aswell be just pillow cases. No air-con and costs 99 euros!? Staff friendly and gave discount but expected more from the room. Feels more like a motorway motel than a three star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chittybangbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: comodita' e confort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fabio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Niemals zur Straße buchen, es droht völliger Schlafverlust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 07aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Großes Zimmer buchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank relaxinaaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa am Schlosspark
Villa am Schlosspark
#263 of 385 in Munich
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prinz Myshkin Parkhotel
Prinz Myshkin Parkhotel
#269 of 385 in Munich
52 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Grunwald Garni
Hotel Grunwald Garni
#115 of 385 in Munich
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Weichandhof
Hotel Weichandhof
#166 of 385 in Munich
80 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hahn Hotel
Hahn Hotel
#188 of 385 in Munich
168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#3 of 385 in Munich
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalienburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalienburg

Address: Amalienburgstr. 24 - 26, 81247 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Munich
#73 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £73 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalienburg 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amalienburg is a superior hotel which combines a boutique hotel and a boarding house. It is located right at the Munich Botanical Garden and the Nymphenburg Palace. Family run and with a very personal and individual service, it can offer guests exactly what they require . The city center can be reached in just 15 minutes. The Hotel Amalienburg offers excellent transport links with the S-Bahn station Obermenzing from which it is only a few meters. The nearby tram can also be reached quickly and be used to access the central station or shopping areas conveniently. The spacious rooms are modern and technically up-to-date. The hotel offers free high-speed Wi-Fi, Sky programs, partly air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchen in the rooms. Almost all rooms have a balcony. After having enjoyed the very extensive buffet breakfast, go on a sightseeing tour through the city with fascinating sights. The Hotel Bistro offers snacks throughout the day and a wide selection of coffees and beverages . Other features: large gym with top amenities and flat screen TV; wellness area with sauna, steam bath, infrared cabin, relaxation area and waterfall shower; conference room with latest equipment for up to 20 people; free underground parking; laundry room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Amalienburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalienburg Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing