We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Lindner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Lindner
Ranked #4 of 65 Munich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value, Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Pension Lindner is located on a small side street right in the heart of Munich. It's a five minute walk to Marienplatz as well as the U and S-Bahn. The room was clean, comfortable, and a bit larger than the other pensions we stayed in. We stayed in a room with a basin but had to share a toilet and shower with two or three other rooms. This worked out fine for us but could be a problem for some people.
The breakfast was very good. There is a small elevator to which is very convenient to carry luggage to the upper floors. Also, the pension is over an excellent Afghani restaurant, which was a welcome change of pace for us after 10 days of German meat and potatoes. We ate there two nights.
There is construction going on right next door, and they started work right at 6:30 on the first morning of our stay. Marion graciously deducted 15 euros from our bill for the inconvenience.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovethesunshine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    70
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
148
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We enjoyed our five night stay at the Pension Lindner. Marion is a friendly hostess. The breakfast is fantastic and filling-we rarely had to eat lunch. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Best of all, you can't beat the location- a mere three minute walk from Marienplatz. The only downside is that the rooms can be very hot in July and you must keep the windows open at night. This not only lets in the cool air, but unfortunately, also the noises from the street. However, we felt that the great value and wonderful hospitality greatly outweighed any drawbacks. When we return to Munich, we definitely intend to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We've been staying at Pension Lindner for the past six days, and we've been very disappointed. The rooms are clean, and Marian's breakfast is delicious, but the sleep you will get here will be terrible. We've had strange cold, and rainy weather this past week, but the rooms are still very hot. Since they don't have a/c, you have to leave the windows open at night to make it bearable. Unfortunately, there is a bar downstairs with outdoor seating, as well as a busy street that is very loud. When you close the windows, they do a good job of sound blocking, but then it's stifling hot inside of your room. Therefore, you make the choice each night to not be able to sleep due to heat or noise. We won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: These rooms don't have A/C so be prepared for a loud street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Pension Linder is in a wonderful postion in the heart of Munich, but far enough away from the dead heart of the centre to be nice and quiet. We walked from the main station with our bags (slow and steady approx 30 minutes with bags), or you could grab a closer train on one of the other local lines, and it would only be a 5-10 minute walk away. It Felt a little uncomfortale on arrival with Marion as we arrived a little later than scheduled. That said, i think it had more to do with German efficiency as opposed to our Aussie "shell be right" attitude. After that , we found Marion to be quite warm and welcoming, especially at breakfast when she would go out of her way to ensure that everybody had what they needed by way of food, drink, or information, Our room was large and conmfortable, and the window opened upon the lot next door where there was building being carried out. It didnt make any difference to us, as we were always up early, and only back generally quite late at night, but something to bear in mind if you want a sleep in. If you are looking for good value for monety in agreat location, than Marions Pension Lindner cant be beaten

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I recently spent five days exploring Munich while staying with Marion at the Pension Lindner. It is located only ten minutes from the main square of town, Marie-Platz, so the location could not have been better. The breakfasts were very tasty and Marion gave good advise to help with our daily adventures. The room was very comfortable, clean and a good value. We would stay there again on our next trip to Munich.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed three nights in June. It's a very close walk to the square and the train station (about 5-10 minutes depending on fast you walk) but it's far away enough that it's quiet in the evenings. The breakfast was by far the best we've had on our whole trip, lots of variety to choose from. Our room was very clean, would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank malamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our spacious room in Pension Lindner was light and airy with a nice bathroom. Marion's breakfasts were the best of our month long trip as there was something new to tempt us each of the 5 mornings we were in Munich. The location is central and was convenient to all our excursions.

The construction adjacent to the building was not a bother and it will soon be finished. We were pleased to have a discount though we did not expect one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#19 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Lindner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Lindner

Property: Pension Lindner
Address: Dultstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Lindner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Lindner Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing