We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Ranked #93 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 19 May 2013

3 night spent at this wonderful hotel on our extended honeymoon trip. EVERY staff member was a delight to deal with, especially the manager when we checked in (I THINK his name was Nizar- apologies if not) who was amazing to deal with and knowledgable about the information we needed to know- city sights etc). He also had arranged a fruit basket and wine for our arrival when we mentioned honeymooners- such a nice way to start this leg of our trip.
Great bar, wifi and business centre. Also excellent food at restaurant and well priced. Would definitely come back. Approx 7ish minute walk to main square, and a very easy 5 min walk from train station.
Disregard that the street it's on may see a little dodgy at times, this hotel is wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

This hotel is typical of Courtyard Hotels in the US. Very clean, great service, nice rooms, comfortable beds. Food in the restaurant was good, breakfast was very good. I would have rated it very good overall if not for the location. While it is located in a good proximity to the City Center and train station, the neighborhood was "mixed" - mid-range hotels, offices, Sex-shops, convenience stores, etc. A little run-down feeling. I never really felt unsafe but did not feel comfortable walking after dark. Taxis are plentiful in Munich so the need for walking after dark is minimal. Would I stay again? Yes.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank npmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had a great stay at the Courtyard Marriott, it was probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on! It was like sleeping on a cloud! The room was large and spacious and modern with all amenities and the set-up/layout of the room was great, with big windows and a nice desk and tv area. I had to work on this vacation so I appreciated have enough space to set-up a little office. Internet was good but was a bit of a pain to log-in for 24hrs then renew, but it worked well and was easy enough. The area around the hotel feels a little sketchy but really it's very safe and a great location as far as walking distance to all the attractions. Right downstairs is a grocery store and a pharmacy-style store with all the little things you might need. There's also a tiny fridge in the room, so we kept some juice and snacks in there, which is always a great idea. Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel and would certainly come back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

If you are looking for a good old American hotel, that gives you the "i am at a US hotel", the Courtyard Marriott in Central Munich will suffice. The hotel is located very close to the Center of Munich train station- about a 5 minute walk. It is in an area that has other small hotels and stores and reminds me of a large city whose neighborhood has seen its prime... a little run down and while not unsafe- isn't a very busy successful city feel. The good news is if you are looking for a clean, safe hotel close to the train station OR the Luthansa bus (for 10.5euros) to get to/from the airport, this is a good hotel location.

The Courtyard has modern, very clean rooms and is a go-to hotel for American business and tourist groups. The lobby was crowded and even though we were early for check-in, the hotel staff could not have been nicer in assigning us to our room in record time. I think it took me 2 minutes to check in and get to my room.
Ice machines were on every floor which is not seen in any Europe hotel I have ever stayed in. The drawbacks are that Marriott is still charging for WIFI in the rooms... it is just so ridiculous that they still do this. They do have free wifi in the lobby (with 2 chairs and a computer station area that i think had 2 or 3 cubicles.) so you are competing for space in a crowded lobby. The second drawback is the breakfast charge seemed excessive compared to other German hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

So I said it, now forget about them - not a big deal. Ya, this is a mixed up couple of blocks with a bit of seedy with mid-range hotels, banks offices and other legit yet diverse businesses mixed in. I never felt unsafe, but probably would be less comfortable as a single woman in this area. Bottom line: I would stay here with my family.

The amenities of this Courtyard are well spelled out in most recent posts - I agree with all of the positive comments. I would like add three specifics to what has been said: First, the staff is really great - consummate professionals. A couple of names stood out for me; Lisa Würstl and Veruschka Wrobbel. I was leading a large group of students and these two were super helpful, always smiling and made me feel comfortable. Second, the restaurant is fine. The food is actually pretty good; definitely not typical Courtyard fare. Breakfast was actually very good with a great selection. Try the apple breakfast brats with German mustard! Third, there is a Lidl right next door and fridge in every room. And, as the neighborhood is a bit ethnic there are several kabob and sandwich shops on both sides of the property and around the block.

I will stay here again. Nice job, Marriott Courtyard Munich City Center!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adventurebuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Spent 3 days here in May with friends for a short city trip. Hotel is at 10 min walk from Munich City Center. Good staff at the reception, the check-in and check-out was efficient. Room was ok with good beds. Breakfast was very good. I can surely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob38Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A combination visit of a night on business and a couple with the wife.

All in all as the title says this is another successful rendition of the latest Courtyard 'formula'. The room was spotless, furnished well and very comfortably, notably the bed, and the bathroom well appointed. Not that this worried me, but an extremely high step into the bath/shower.

The hotel overall was extremely well kept, or very new, or some combination of both. Staff were immensely courteous, and shame on us ignorant English-only speakers, spoke excellent English.

Breakfast was first class, with a huge choice of excellent food. However, an expensive add-on at €15 for continental (which excludes cereal/fruit) to €21 for full. But if you want only a coffee and a croissant, be sure to ask as they will in fact charge you only for that if you want to go off-piste.

Location is the only downside - near the main station which means poor, with some pretty scruffy streets and low-rent folks about.

On the other hand, the proximity of the station, with main line, U-bahn, S-bahn, and tram only 5 mins at most away puts the whole of Munich at your disposal. The 19 tram takes about 10 mins to Theatrestrasse which is a minute or so stroll from the main shopping streets.

Quite pricey for a Courtyard, but I suppose that all comes down to utilisation.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Want_the_facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
3 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#72 of 390 in Munich
1,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#42 of 390 in Munich
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#94 of 390 in Munich
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

Address: Schwanthalerstr. 37, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#72 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#80 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £77 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual at Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center. Our hotel in Munich, Germany offers a prime location in the heart of downtown, with newly renovated rooms and suites that encourage productivity and relaxation. Whether you're visiting the city for business or pleasure, you'll feel at home in your modern room, thoughtfully appointed with soundproof windows and marble bathrooms. Stay connected with high-speed Internet access, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. Feeling hungry? Our onsite hotel restaurant, Oléo Pazzo, offers a taste of the Mediterranean here in central Munich. Challenge yourself to a workout in our fitness center, open 24 hours a day for your convenience. If you're planning a meeting in the city center, we offer almost 2,000 square feet of elegant meeting space. And with downtown Munich at our hotel doorstep, you can explore a vast array of excellent activities and attractions with ease. For a hotel that works the way you do, choose Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Munchen City Hotel Munich
Courtyard Munich
Munich Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing