We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Munich City Center
Ranked #98 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible location”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Felt very uncomfortable with the character of the area. Would not recommend this location. Stayed in this area approximately 7 years ago and was astounded by the slide in standards.

The room was air conditioned during a very hot heat wave and very appreciated. Beds were very comfortable. Strangely during our 3 night stay we had breakfast included for only two, despite the rise in rates on the third night. Reception would not budge on this issue. Breakfast very expensive when not included but worth it when included. Good variety of breakfast choices and good service. Reception abrupt but busy. Room was fairly clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSSherilynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    601
    220
    55
    22
See reviews for
270
396
75
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Your town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I will caveat this with I didn't actually stay at the hotel for the obvious reasons listed below.

When I checked in, I went to my room with my wife. There was dried blood all over the room. Towels, comforter, and pillow cases.

When I brought this to the front desks' attention, I was immediately given another room.....a smaller one with nothing other than "Oh I'm sorry, one second." I felt like I was putting them out by asking for another room.

Additionally, there were probably (I didn't count) 40-50 flies and gnats stuck to the roof of the elevators. As if the blood in the room wasn't enough....

I immediately called Marriott customer service to switch to another Marriott within the city. Its been great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MMosby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was my first stay at a Marriott and i wasn't dissapointed. The staff answered all of our questions and the check-in went very well. I agree that the location isn't exactly a good one, but i never felt in danger, even if we got to the hotel late at night. The hotel has quick access to the transportation system, and a reliable in room internet. The breakfast was also very good. The only downside is that a chocolate that we have paid for featured on our final bill. But i didn't mention that after all, it wasn't such a big deal. The most important thing is that the room was very spacious and clean, we got a good sleep every night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant and comfortable stay in this hotel. The previous reviewer mentioned the immediate surrounding area which is a little off-putting, but we didn't experience any trouble, and in fact were really glad that this hotel is an easy walk to the city centre and the main train station.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Munich.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CnMBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachussetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Does not live up to Marriott name. A true disappointment. Sex shops everywhere, felt nervous walking at night in the area.

Reception was rude at check-in, and uncaring at check-out. They even mishandled my bags which were left with them while we had breakfast.

If you have other options, take them.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysTime2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Non-smoking; free access to the Internet; modern decor and air conditioning. Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center did not disappoint. The restaurant downstairs is fabulous. Breakfast is amazing and the choices for dinner are perfect.

It is about a 5 minute walk from the train station so you have access to everything. Also, it is close to most of the sights - also within 10 minutes or so.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

There's no getting around the seediness of the neighborhood, but the location of the hotel is convenient: 10 minutes' walk from Marienplatz, a block away from the main station, with two supermarkets a minute away. The hotel itself is nothing fancy, just functional ... nothing to complain about for a day or two if you get a decent price. Cheerful and helpful people at the front desk and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budlapara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#64 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Munich City Center

Property: Courtyard Munich City Center
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 37, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#72 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#80 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Munich City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Munich City Center. Our hotel offers a prime location in the heart of downtown Munich, with newly renovated rooms and suites that encourage productivity and relaxation. Whether you're visiting the city for business or pleasure, you'll feel at home in your modern room, thoughtfully appointed with soundproof windows and marble bathrooms. Stay connected with high-speed Internet access, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. Feeling hungry? Our onsite hotel restaurant, Oléo Pazzo, offers a taste of the Mediterranean here in central Munich. Challenge yourself to a workout in our fitness center, open 24 hours a day for your convenience. If you're planning a meeting in the city center, we offer almost 2,000 square feet of elegant meeting space. And with downtown Munich at our hotel doorstep, you can explore a vast array of excellent activities and attractions with ease. For a hotel that works the way you do, choose the Courtyard Munich City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Munchen City Hotel Munich
Courtyard Munich
Munich Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing