We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Nights in Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Munich City Center
Ranked #98 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two Nights in Munich”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Courtyard Center Center Munich! OUTSTANDING! Very kind and helpful staff. Rooms are "Courtyard"...very clean...restaurant is excellent...location is walking distance to city center...I will return! JR Breland Platinum...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    600
    220
    55
    22
See reviews for
269
395
75
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Thanks to a 6:27am train out of Munich, we needed to stay in a hotel that was very close to the train station. We reviewed some sites including tripadvisor and we came across the Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center.

The best thing about this hotel is it's proximity to the München Hauptbahnhof. All we had to do was walk to the end of the street, turn right, walk up a block, and the entrance to the train station was right there.

We were traveling out of the country, so luckily our track was on the street level. It literally took us 5 minutes to walk from the front of the hotel to the track where our train was situated while pulling and carrying the luggage with ease.

As many reviewers have mentioned, the downside is that the few blocks surrounding the hotel and the train station are all very seedy. Sex joints, sketchy looking people, you get the idea. Overall, it is what it is and no one ever bothered us especially at 6am in the morning. Sure there were some singing drunks going strong well into the morning (in front of the train station), but good for them.

If you're sightseeing as well, you'll encounter more of the same as you're walking from the hotel to Karlsplatz (on your way to the city center) but overall we felt safe enough.

Now as far as the hotel itself is concerned, the service here is excellent.

As soon as we checked in, the front desk host was extremely polite, helpful and went way out of his way to make sure that everything was perfect. He even went above and beyond to let us know exactly what track our train would be located on the next day as well as advising us as to where we needed to go to find said train.

The host also gave us helpful advice regarding what we should see and do on a very rainy day in München and then he handed me an umbrella to borrow as well!

We checked in rather early, around 10am, but the gentleman had the cleaning ladies expedite the cleaning process to make sure that our room would be ready within 20 minutes. As soon as it was ready, he brought over our room keys and he sent us on our way.

The elevator to the rooms are safe & secure and all you have to do is swipe your room key before you can press the proper button to your floor.

The room was a stereotypical room that you'll find at a Courtyard by Marriott and it was definitely a little worn as well. We were not planning on spending a lot of time there anyways so it was perfect for a shower and some sleep.

On the eve of our stay, Germany was playing Algeria in the World Cup so we were able to enjoy a few beers in the hotel bar. The service was adequate and it was a nice place to watch the game as well. I noticed a grab-and-go spot near the bar so if you have the late night munchies, they can fill that need.

The reason that I am only giving this hotel an average rating is because the price for the night was ridiculously spendy. Seriously. It cost more for one night at this hotel than it did for a room with a view at a 5 star hotel in Berchtesgaden.

Even if they charged 100 Euro less per night I would still think it's expensive. You are definitely paying for the real estate. In fact at the end of the day, whenever I think about this hotel, I think about how bad they gouge you for the real estate & the overall convenience. Great service though!

Room Tip: Free wifi in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie B, Manager at Courtyard Munich City Center, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear David G,

First off all I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comprehensive description about your stay. Your comments are very helpful for us as well as for other travelers and guests.
We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our service.
Admittedly, your note about the pricing is understandable. However, Munich is a cosmopolitan city with roughly 6 Million visitors per year and therefore not comparable in price with –for example- Berchtesgaden.
However, if you should come back to Munich in the future, we would be delighted to welcome you again in “The Heart of Bavaria”!

Best wishes,
Stefanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel was in a good location close to the railway station but also in the "red light" district which wasn't that comfortable going through at night when coming back from a walk. Breakfast was very nice and staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. Close to the city centre, restaurants and shopping which was great. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaddsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spent Christmas 2013 in this Hotel. Felt we were strongly discriminated for being American Christian travelers.This is a Muslim venue. They took towels off the floor on Christmas Day and placed them on the heating rack ,instead of new towels on the shelf. The surrounding area was not walkable for Americans seeking to go to church, even tho the web site states steps away NOT TRUE.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knight02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is typical for a Courtyard and it is very near to the DB rail center. As other reviews have mentioned, the hotel is not in a great neighborhood. There are many small casinos and strip clubs nearby. However, the hotel and restaurant are very nice and the staff was exceptionally helpful and polite.

There is no complementary breakfast for Marriot gold members.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dillboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very centrally located we walked everywhere we went in Munich, or took the train which is a 2 min walk. We previously went to London and paris on this trip and this hotel is the first that I slept well in! No street noise, great breakfast in mornings and friendly staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison16_OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This particular Marriott is a very short walk from the main bus station as well as the main train station, however the location is not ideal. Upon walking to the hotel I was given a very unfavorable impression of Munich that was luckily corrected the following day! As usual, the staff are all very friendly and incredibly helpful. The rooms are cleaned very well, however I was a bit displeased with the fact that we ordered a triple room and paid not only the triple room price, but an additional fee for the rollaway bed. Wifi is only free in the lobby (or for a significant fee in the rooms) and breakfast isn't free either, but the front desk staff showed us a great cafe just two shops down. All in all, I did not feel that this hotel was quite up to the usual Marriott standard.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie B, Manager at Courtyard Munich City Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear thompkat,

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It is always a pleasure for us to get positive feedback about our staff service.

Regarding your comment about the internet, I fully understand that in today's business world the internet is an essential tool of communication. It is our ambition to provide constant high speed internet service for our guests. We do provide free wifi and business center services in our lobby and restaurant. However the pricing of our in room internet is on par with our competitors‘ prices and set to keep us ahead in the race for customers. I know that Germany is still a little bit behind the US concerning free wifi connections, but I am sure one day this will change in all hotels.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and in spite of everything I hope you will keep "The Heart of Bavaria" in good memory.

Best regards from Munich,
Stefanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#65 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Munich City Center

Property: Courtyard Munich City Center
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 37, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#72 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#80 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Munich City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Munich City Center. Our hotel offers a prime location in the heart of downtown Munich, with newly renovated rooms and suites that encourage productivity and relaxation. Whether you're visiting the city for business or pleasure, you'll feel at home in your modern room, thoughtfully appointed with soundproof windows and marble bathrooms. Stay connected with high-speed Internet access, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. Feeling hungry? Our onsite hotel restaurant, Oléo Pazzo, offers a taste of the Mediterranean here in central Munich. Challenge yourself to a workout in our fitness center, open 24 hours a day for your convenience. If you're planning a meeting in the city center, we offer almost 2,000 square feet of elegant meeting space. And with downtown Munich at our hotel doorstep, you can explore a vast array of excellent activities and attractions with ease. For a hotel that works the way you do, choose the Courtyard Munich City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Munchen City Hotel Munich
Courtyard Munich
Munich Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing