We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely comfortable hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grunwald Garni
Ranked #125 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely comfortable hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A clean and comfortable hotel in a quiet location. The rooms are lovely, good comfy beds with feather and down duvet and pillows contributing to a good nights sleep. The breakfast room is lovely. The breakfast is all you can eat buffet with a really good selection of hot and cold food, the service was second to none and excellent value for money. The reception staff were really helpful providing what ever information you need and if they don't know are willing to go out of their way to find out. The village fits the bill for all your needs a bank, a bakery, a cafe, a bar and a restaurant. The train station is a few minutes walk and the train service is excellent cheap, fast and efficient about 16 mins to the city centre. All in all a lovely hotel in a good location

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    42
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
65
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Staying at this hotel was like staying in a small village. It was very clean, quiet and cosy and our room above the old stables was well appointed and spacious. There was parking available on site. A bank, bakery and restaurant bar are located within a short distance.
The hosts and all staff were very pleasant and considerate, and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was a treat and worth the money

A great place to stay..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillnDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed here for two nights while on a road trip through Germany. The room (with two twin beds) was a good size (bigger than lots of European hotels) and had a nice bathroom. Everything was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. We didn't have breakfast there, so I can't comment on that. The service was helpful, giving us tips on how to get into the city and what to see. They sold train tickets there, which was very helpful (we got the two person day pass, which I recommend). The hotel is not in the city center, but it's near a train station that is a direct line into the city (you just get on the train and ride it to the Marianplatz). And the location is wonderful- it feels like you are in a small Bavarian town, though you are only about fifteen minutes from the center of Munich. There isn't much to eat within walking distance (especially if you don't eat meat), so I would consider eating in the city. There is a good schnitzel place about five minutes away (at least, my friend says the schnitzel was good- I didn't have any and the vegetarian option was a plate of cheese). Also, they have very convenient parking and it's pretty easy to find (if you have directions).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HufflepuffJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and we were happy with our choice. Everything we needed was next to us; bakery facing the hotel, Rewe market nearby and Aubing station few mins away. The walk from the station to the hotel is so nice and joyful with all the trees around.
The hotel is basic. Well prepared rooms and helpful staff. We didn't spend much of time in the hotel but we do recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nader H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

A family run hotel refreshingly unlike so many corporate shells. I was there for a week and every member of staff made me feel welcome. Times were busy and immediately they apologised for giving me a small top floor room but it was comfortable and adequate. Breakfast was 9€ extra but well worth it. No restaurant but several nearby and everything you could wish for within 10 minutes. Out of town but it took me 35 minutes to reach the Messe on the other side of Munich in rush hour. Don't hesitate, book it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank FatCockneyonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Awesome hotel, friendly, romantic and just far enough from the city. The train station provides an extremely easy commute. 14 foot tall ceilings in room and giant windows that provide great air. Breakfast is a must attend, delicious and not a rip off.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clark005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olfen, Germany
Level Contributor
199 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Beautiful hotel in the suburbs of Munich, a short distance by train to the city. Very comfortable quiet rooms that are spotlessly clean, good wifi. Staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English. Parking is not a problem and the Hotel is easy to find in the centre of a small village. There is a bakery across the street but we had the Hotel breakfast which was superb and the best I have had in a German Hotel, everything was fresh and they have a new coffee machine which compliments the great selection of food available. The breakfast room is a delight in itself. All in all a lovely stay and good value, I would stay there again on the next trip to Munich.

Room Tip: South side are sunnier but really all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.5 mi away
BM Bavaria Motel Munchen-Freiham
12.4 mi away
Hotel Prinzregent
Hotel Prinzregent
#22 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
8.2 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Premium Domagkstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Brack
Hotel Brack
#49 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.5 mi away
WESTSIDE Hotel
WESTSIDE Hotel
#177 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grunwald Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grunwald Garni

Property: Hotel Grunwald Garni
Address: Altostr. 38, 81245 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grunwald Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grunwald Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing