We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grunwald Garni
Ranked #121 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose this hotel for the same reasons as others, the place is an easy 20 min train ride into Munich Town Square, and free parking! We arrived and were given our room right away, and the manager at the desk was extremely pleasant!! the room was spacious and the bathroom heavenly! they didn't have any A/C in the rooms, and so to compensate, they provided stand up fans which was just fine! We were so comfortable in our space here that the next morning, even tho we planned to have breakfast, we over slept and missed the breakfast call. We did go next door to the bakery every one talks about and OMG .. we need these kind of bakery's in Canada! They allowed us to keep our veh parked in their lot while we had our pastries.

I can't stay enough about this place. It is a GEM. Clean..comfortable... lovely.. built in 1896, its just perfect.

Great job by the owners....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pearla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have been disheartened by some of my german hotel experiences and have been handing out 3* like crazy. Not this time! Finally picked a winner. We chose this hotel because of easy parking and being outside Munich center. I didn't want to deal with driving in a bigger city. This hotel is an easy 20 minute train ride to marienplatz. Hotel provides detailed directions (and there are signs pointing the way back) and has train tickets to purchase.

Why 5 stars? Here is what they did right:

- high speed internet that actually works reliably! I can FaceTime and get work done.
- bathroom that isn't the size of a broom closet (this may vary by room)
- free upgrade to a spacious triple room
- very friendly front desk staff. Never rude of condescending (like others have been on this trip)
- ample parking
- comfy beds with down comforter and feather pillows
- very quiet sleep
- hot water in the shower (that stays hot!)

The only con I can think of is that there are no English channels on the television. But we're used to that already on this trip. There are also no Laundromats close by. Nearest is a 15 minute drive.

We didn't have breakfast included, so I can't comment on that. However, there is a great bakery across the street (cheaper than hotel breakfast) and yummy Vietnamese food close by.

We would recommend to all and return again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Wish we had more time! One night simply not enough. Absolutely pristine. Breakfast was great! 6 of us in 2 rooms. Kids had their own bedroom! Sitting outside on patio in evening was perfect! Bathrooms are brand new!

Room Tip: Stay for breakfast! Admire the charm of this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank libra138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in Hotel Grunwald for 4 nites in early June. Its a wonderful family run hotel 15 minutes from the center of Munich via the train. The area where the hotel is located has great local restaurants and is a 5 minute walk to the train station. Its in an area away from the hustle & bustle of downtown Munich yet very close at the same time. The staff at the hotel is extremely helpful and all speak English. The rooms were very nice and the breakfast buffet was excellent and priced reasonably. I highly recommend this hotel and special thanks to Bernhard for making us feel welcome!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We opted to stay out of the centre of Munich for something different, and did not regret our decision. The Hotel Grunwalk is a little way out of town (about a 5 minute walk and a 20 minute train ride to the Marienplatz in the centre of Munich) but this was more than made up for by the comfort, cleanliness and presentation of the entire hotel. Breakfast was delightful and set us up well for the day and the staff were extremely helpful and obliging. We also enjoyed being out of the tourist centre and staying in a suburban area with good quality and inexpensive restaurants close by. We had a little sitting room off our bedroom which we really appreciated as we had been travelling for sometime staying in small hotel rooms and the extra space was very nice. We would absolutely go back to this hotel should we visit Munich again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soultravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Good place fo working but not for romance I think.
the hotel well equiped, well located and the staff is pleasant.
But this hotel is too expansive for the product, even if the stay was pleasant like I said.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a snafu in our travel plans that left us at the last minute without a hotel. We found this one, and just showed up with no reservations. They got us a room, immediately and made us feel very welcome. It is a family operation and they take hospitality seriously. Our room was more spacious that we expected, the bathroom was wonderful and roomy and I admit I fell in love with the towel heater.

It seems to be mostly a business hotel (there were other travelers there tho) but was fine for us. The included-in-the-price breakfast was fabulous: made-to-order eggs, several kinds of fresh fruit, meat and cheese platters, and tons more. A great selection of teas and one of the new coffee machines that grinds and brews individual cups at the press of a button.

We would definitely stay here again! A very happy find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street side (but they tend to go fast). There is a bit of street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarlaHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
3.4 mi away
Amalienburg
Amalienburg
#180 of 388 in Munich
147 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Sued Messe
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gastehaus Forum Am Westkreuz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
das seidl Hotel & Tagung
12.2 mi away
Arthotel ANA
Arthotel ANA
#207 of 388 in Munich
84 reviews
4.8 mi away
Parkhotel Laim
Parkhotel Laim
#262 of 388 in Munich
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grunwald Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grunwald Garni

Address: Altostr. 38, 81245 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £74 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grunwald Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grunwald Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing