We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to be fair”
Review of Pension Lugano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Lugano
Ranked #377 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 18 June 2012

to be fair, it was one of the cheapest hotels around, and it's very close to downtown. i went there with my wife and sister and yes the area is "bad" but very international and close to the station. even very late at night there are young germans passing through alone so how dangerous can it be. we enjoyed the area and the surprising variety of restaurants around us and the short walk downtown. the rooms are not very great but was very clean, which is most important. you get your money's worth but not more, which is okay by me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samuel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

Unfortunately made the mistake of not reading reviews before we booked this place. Sometimes I find that even though place may not have great reviews it's been ok for us. In this case all the reviews are absolutely spot on. The only saving grace is its location in proximity to the old town and the main railway station. Apart from that here are the downsides:

Right in the middle of a long line of strip joints on both sides - complete with laser red light displays on your ceiling when you are 'trying to' sleep

The room looks like a prison cell and feels like it too

The threadbare curtains partially hanging off

The stench of stale cigarette smoke in the building - yuck

The cigarette butt on the floor in the bathroom - again yuck

There really are nicer places to stay. We passed through Munich again a few days,later and stayed at Motel One - bit more expensive when you are on a budget but so much nicer

Room Tip: We stayed at Motel One - really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

ws passing through Muncih and looking for somewhere cheapish and close to train station for morning start. yes it's on red light district but that wasn't really the issue. The place didn't even have a reception, just a little hole up a flight of stairs (which we had to drag case up). Its quite clearly a charge by the hour type of hotel that stinks and is dodgy as cheese.
Just pay a bit extra and stay somewhere else, its not worth putting a downer on a perfectly good trip!

Room Tip: Choose one in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel last December and can only remember bad things about it. The room was in a bad state (dirty sheets, broken TV, dusty surfaces) and the walls were paper thin so I was awoken in the night by the men next door shouting and spitting. My wife did not even dare shower at this place due to the uncleanliness of the bathroom. Would not recommend to anyone..... The photos on the website are a con...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

this hotel is terrible. I just stayed for 7 hours. There is not lift and it sound everywhere when someone walk in the stair. Noises from other rooms can be heard and its disturbing. Room is not clean. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

One good thing is that it is located just 300-400 metres from railway station.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We had higher expectations as most other reviewer's did but it was decent place to just catch up on sleep. We were backpacking around Europe so it worked fine for what we needed. Price is a little steep for what they offer. Beds were warm, room was large, city is well-a city so loud. Felt safe walking on the streets day/night. Staff were warm and friendly. Shower/toilet is down the hall not in-room. No wi-fi and I think you do need your own internet cable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveleramanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

2 day stay, wanted place close to the center, we based our decision on past very good experiences with pensions in Austria and Germany and also on photos on their web site. The photos are lying, as well as the prices mentioned there. Check them first over the phone as we did! Off the season and Octoberfest, in the middle of the week and still were 50% up.
The place is falling apart - everything is squeezy and loose, often very dirty. You can hear everything from the other rooms (luckily, we were alone on the floor most of the time and you might be as well, thanks to users reviews). Be prepare to climb up the squeezy staircase all the way to the top floor with your luggage. Improvised access through narrow steep staircase from a corridor leading to yard to a "reception" on the first floor; feels like entering a bunker from WWII. I found it disgousting and shameful for the standard I'd expect in Germany and in comparison with other Pensions/Guesthouses I ever staid in.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oak23-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Andi Stadthotel Munich
Andi Stadthotel Munich
#275 of 385 in Munich
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#169 of 385 in Munich
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City
Rilano 24/7 Muenchen City
#234 of 385 in Munich
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Demas City
Hotel Demas City
#162 of 385 in Munich
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#150 of 385 in Munich
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#363 of 385 in Munich
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Lugano

Address: Schillerstr. 32, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £31 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Lugano 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Lugano Hotel Munich
Lugano Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing