We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE NICE HOTEL ON THE MAIN REGION”
Review of Goethe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Goethe Hotel
Ranked #285 of 382 Hotels in Munich
İstanbul
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE NICE HOTEL ON THE MAIN REGION”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel few times I stayed for our businnes summit during the years every year few time.
Super Locations ,Friendship staff ,excelent service..For every point you can walk , Or if you have short time for hurry you can ask a cab.. so quicly..Some time the doesnot ask anything about your extra order tea or coffe e.t.c...After when you are return just they tell you as remained...that
is the hospitality as Turkish..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIZILARMUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    54
    71
    27
    23
See reviews for
53
34
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Pros: Great location. Friendly staff that understands english. Free WiFi. Clean room. Good value. Great breakfast
Cons: Lots of outside noises. No air condition in room, very very hot during summer nights. No elevator.

We stayed in the first floor based on previous reviews. For next time I personally would prefer one of the upper floors even tho there is no elevator. I usually can sleep anywhere, but here the outside road noises and random people yelling woke us up every hour on both nights during our stay.
Overall I liked this hotel. Even after not sleeping that well the good basic breakfast covered all nightly problems we had.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here for one night without friends. Room ok and comfortable overall. However, the room was quite hot at night and the shower door was broken, although this was not a major problem.the nearby construction works did not help but again, weren't too bad. The breakfast was good and the stay was decent in terms of value for money. There was also no lift so walking up the stairs got quite tiring. Overall, it was ok but would choose somewhere else for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I would not recommend this hotel for staying, staff unfriendly, do not speak english, although it is near the central station, topless bar and sexy land are near by, no pork seved for breakfast, Tv only german channels, internet not working most of the times and if it did work very slow without a microphone to be able to listen if you want to watch your favourite programme, no elevater make it difficult to climb the stairs and the staff did not offer to help with taking the luggege upstairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Germany
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The hotel is a relatively short walk (two blocks) from the central train station down Goethe street, which isn’t as inundated with sex shops, etc., as some of the other streets in the area.

To make things short, I can’t really recommend the hotel, for a couple of reasons:

1) the toilet smelled - well, unclean - for my entire stay - as if it hadn’t been cleaned for a while.

2) the shower was annoying - the shower head didn’t fit properly into the holder (too loose), causing it to spray anywhere but where it was supposed to spray.

3) the heat was turned off pretty early in the evening (at least when I got in on the second day at around 10PM, it was already off). The heater in the bathroom didn’t seem to work at all.

4) there was a continuous swell of cold air “falling” from the window. Since the bed was right against the window, I needed two blankets to get halfway comfortable at night.

5) there is no elevator…

6) the fire escape stairs are fitted to rear windows in the stairway. While this is in general quite ok, here it isn’t, as the windows are more than 1m off the floor! I.e.: older folks probably would have serious difficulties getting up the window sill to get out in case of a fire, and children wouldn’t be able to open the window at all (see picture)

7) the lady at reception publicly bawled out a cleaning lady for doing a bad job cleaning the rooms (see point 1 above?) - since reception and the breakfast room are one big area, everyone in the breakfast room was party to this.

8) the hairdryer was “rigged” by running two copper wires (insulated, mind you) from the nearest outlet (see picture), which means: no connection to earth and subsequently no protection from electric shock whatsoever, should the hair dryer fail or get wet!

The hotel is run by a Turkish family, and breakfast is very much like it is in smaller hotels in Istanbul (which I thoroughly enjoy) - the only highlight in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDBGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Travelled to Munich for Oktoberfest with my friends. Considering the price I've no complaints at all. Comfortable beds, clean room, decent shower. Friendly staff and buffet breakfast was good too. As mentioned on previous reviews there is no elevator, but the guy on front desk took my luggage to my room.
A very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoozyinBolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel has an excellent location near the Hauptbahnhof and is also close to the central attractions and Oktoberfest. It is very Turkish in character and decor. The staff are friendly and the breafast is continental with a limited hot selection. The rooms are well sized and clean - The only draw-back is no lift

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donjmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#148 of 382 in Munich
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#169 of 382 in Munich
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#147 of 382 in Munich
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Germania Hotel
Germania Hotel
#151 of 382 in Munich
663 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#247 of 382 in Munich
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#242 of 382 in Munich
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goethe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goethe Hotel

Property: Goethe Hotel
Address: Goethestr. 18, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Goethe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Goethe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goethe Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing