We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location”
Review of Goethe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goethe Hotel
Ranked #287 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Cullinan, South Africa
Level Contributor
199 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bad location”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room was extremely small and my husband battled to get in and out of the shower. However it was clean and neat and the breakfast was a spread of different choices. Unfortunately it is situated in an area less desirable with strip bars all over and bad characters hanging around. It is very convenient though to get to the train station. This hotel in a different spot would be excellent!

Room Tip: If you are staying for longer than one night rather choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    51
    68
    26
    23
See reviews for
51
33
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is under construction. They should rather focus on upgrading the existing rooms, rather than adding on. The rooms were awful, smelly & dirty. Paint peeling off the walls, curtains hanging off the rails, the a/c & tv didn't work. Most of the plug points didn't work & the carpets were filthy. It's also really noisy. I hardly slept between the fear of catching a dreaded disease & the bang/shouts. Some of the staff were fairly friendly. I couldn't eat breakfast wondering about their hygiene in food perpetration, as everywhere, that I saw in the hotel, was filthy. I would never ever go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sst4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is under construction in a big way! There is scaffolding and a large crane set up in the front of the building. The rooms are in need of major repair. The doorknob to the bathroom came off in my hand, and shower door was broken. The elevator did not work. The hotel is on a busy, loud street. We listened to people arguing, and emergency sirens all night. The only redeeming quality of this hotel was an excellent breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 844Anne_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msiion
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

busy street, hotel under major construction with tarps and scaffolding covering all windows
no elevator but potential to be placed on 5th floor. with no assist with luggage
puddle on the bathroom floor which they fixed by placing a bath mat on it

Room Tip: if you stay there as it is in walking distance of the train station, insist on first floor at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank betsyvan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We feel completely mislead by descriptions of this hotel. Basically we were living in a building site. I guess the drill hammering away on the afternoon we arrived served as a warning about what we would experience in this hotel. Then on another morning as a huge crane head passed our window we didn't know whether to laugh or cry. We chose the latter. I suppose discovering that part of the roof was missing explained the natural air conditioning system or gale which blew through the building when a front door was left open. Oh I haven't mentioned the scaffolding which covered the whole front of the building. Other issues were lack of lifts (we were aware of this prior to arrival at the hotel) and air conditioning in the room. There was breakfast included in the tarriff we paid and it was ok. Overal we will never forget our awful experience at this hotel in Munich probably one of the worst we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harttrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel is a short walk from the Hauptbanhoff and city tram and subway in Munich and moderate walk to the Altstadt. The appearance was a major detraction from this hotel. We arrived to scaffolding and construction in both the front and courtyard of the hotel. Our only window facing the front street was covered with a tarp. We requested a different room due to poor ventilation and smell of cigarette smoke from people sitting nearby on the street. A staff members was short with us and we were told to return and ask during a different shift. The bathroom and bedroom were adequate size. The closet door and desk drawer were broken and the bed, while pushed together to form a double bed, spread apart into twin beds easily. The bed was not comfortable, hard with heavy blankets. There was a computer in the room, which we appreciated. The room had a flat screen TV, although, we didn't watch much TV - the quality appeared good. Breakfast was included with the price of the room and was good, typical with rolls, cheese, meat, eggs, yogurt, juice, coffee, and a few other options. There appear to be many other hotel options on quieter streets in this area of town or even a little further west.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel few times I stayed for our businnes summit during the years every year few time.
Super Locations ,Friendship staff ,excelent service..For every point you can walk , Or if you have short time for hurry you can ask a cab.. so quicly..Some time the doesnot ask anything about your extra order tea or coffe e.t.c...After when you are return just they tell you as remained...that
is the hospitality as Turkish..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIZILARMUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fidelio
Hotel Fidelio
#322 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#249 of 383 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#157 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#142 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#144 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#129 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goethe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goethe Hotel

Property: Goethe Hotel
Address: Goethestr. 18, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Goethe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Goethe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goethe Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing