We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably good place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
Ranked #161 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel and the room were clean and orderly, it was quiet, attention was nice and friendly; close to the main train station, and a short walk to the center of town and to a near-by park. The price was right. There are two Ghotels in Munchen, and I made the mistake of first going to the wrong address: make sure you go to the right one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELHungaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel which was advertised with a kitchen unit which is situated in the bedroom in a cupboard. This works well but you need to ask reception for anything you need kettle, china cutlery all of which was promptly provided.

Good clean room bathroom had a great shower ( no bath ) which was not a problem however no air con which was a surprise. The hotel was great value for money with a Uban station round the corner and the main Munich railway station about 15mins walk away.

Overall would recommend staff were friendly and we found it to be well situated for touring round Munich - hop on hop off bus are opposite main station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Feel I've been lied to. Obviously there is heat in the winter, but they say climate-controlled to make me think there's a/c. It's 30 degrees celcius in Munich - and my room.
Location not bad, really close to a subway station. I just can't get past being misled.

Room Tip: Probably would be fine in the winter or cooler season. But do you want a hotel that misleads you? A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kent154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel is close to the station , but also in a area that has a lot of Turkish shops. It is within walking distance from the station for the hop-on - hop off sightseeing tours. You can make use of this service to get to the old town area. But if you want to get to the old town , then a taxi migh be the best option. The breakfast was excelent every day and it was great to eat outside on the roof. I liked the 'kitchen area in our room with a little fridge. The rooms only has showers , but they worked very well.

Room Tip: the rooms we had had a kitchen area in the build in with a fridge , this was very handy. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiaanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ghotel for 5 nights in June. For Munich, this hotel was pretty good because Europe tends to be older, smaller, and more expensive. It wasn't cheap, but it was reasonable for the area. The location was so easy that it also saved us money on taxis, etc. We were there when it was 95 degrees, so going without AC at night wasn't the most fun.

Pros:
1. The location is great. You are a 10 minute walk to the main train station, 20 min to Marienplatz, and 2 second from the Octoberfest grounds. The area is nice enough. There are a lot of Turkish food options close. True, a few blocks going in the opposite direction of the train station there are some strip clubs, etc., but it's not a big deal or unsafe.
2. The room has a small kitchen. The fridge comes in handy. Also, look for the Aldi (there are two) really close to the hotel to save some money and buy some drinks for the room.
3. The staff was very nice and helpful. If it rains, make sure to rent an umbrella from the desk.
4. The beds are comfortable. There is a hair dryer provided!
5. Free Wifi for the rooms was a major plus!!!!!
6. There is a beautiful church at the end of the street. The bells only ring during the day and are beautiful.

Cons
1. The bathroom is pretty small and doesn't have a fan, so the room gets really hot. Also, if you go during a hot month, there is no AC and the windows don't have a screen. Although the street noise wasn't horrible generally, a ambulance or police siren drove by at least once a night. And you get a little more friendly with the people with balconies across the street than you would probably care to be.
2. Check your towels. My was pretty badly stained... but the staff switched it out without much difficulty.
3. Overpriced breakfast. This is optional, of course.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank uncwmel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

If you're looking for just a bed and a place to sleep this hotel is good for what you pay. The room is on the small side and the bathroom even smaller. All the reviews were spot on. The hotel is located on a busy road so the noise is on the loud side. This would be an issue during the summer months if you have the windows opened.

Room and bathroom were both clean, just feel clostorphobic since it's small.

The Internet worked well at night, but couldn't even connect in the morning, so the hotel couldn't handle a lot of people using the hotel at once.

I stayed here for one night and that was enough for me...later went to hotel exquisit which was a better location and much more comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: If you're on a budget this is a good place to stay...if you have a few bucks more to spend. Do t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cchin0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed in the GHOTEL for 6 nights, and it was good. I was allowed to check in at 12 pm (probably I looked very tired at that moment). I was glad to know about free wi-fi in the lounge (although, you have to ask for password every 30 min). The room was clean and comfortable. It was on the 1st floor but very silent to my surprise, with a window looking out on the garden. The staff is polite and helpful. Thank you very much for the great time there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Marina,
thank you very much for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-City. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Should you visit us again, you can use free WiFi in your room if you are travelling with a laptop or similar, as WiFi is free in all hotel rooms from the beginning of this month on.
We would be happy if you chose to stay at one of our hotels again!
Kind regards,
your team of GHOTEL hotel & living

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#30 of 389 in Munich
907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relexa Hotel Munich
Relexa Hotel Munich
#134 of 389 in Munich
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#32 of 389 in Munich
921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#145 of 389 in Munich
655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#126 of 389 in Munich
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City

Address: Landwehrstr. 77, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £54 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghotel Hotel & Living Munchen-City Hotel Munich
Ghotel Hotel And Living Munchen-City
Ghotel Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing