We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Munchen Schwabing, by Comfort
Ranked #158 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Welcoming and clean overall. Lobby was spacious and the bar area nice enough. Room was a little small, but for a one night stay was fine. For what we paid (74 Euros), I felt we received a good value. Not really any restaurants or cafes nearby (at least none I saw). Price for a beer at the bar was great and lower than normally found at hotels. We had a car, so I can't comment of ease of use for public transportion.
If you just need a simple place for a night or two, this hotel would do fine for the area. Would certainly stay here again if I was in the area.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bscrowt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    123
    43
    10
    5
See reviews for
53
55
5
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

It has no restaurant and there is none nearby. It is in a depressing neighborhood. It does serve breakfast but that's it. The rooms are spartan. The internet is slow and expensive. It is not appropriate for business or pleasure travel,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed here with a few colleagues whilst attending an exhibition at the M.O.C. in Munich. The hotel is very modern and well maintained. I had a business room which I think are a little more spacious than the standard rooms and it was reasonably well kitted out. The bathroom was excellent, modern and well lit. The reception staff seemed to struggle a little when a few people arrived to check in at the same time but they were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was the usual bread, meats, yoghurts etc but it was a pretty good standard. If I was going into Munich centre, I would probably skip breakfast at the hotel and visit one of the coffe shops in the city. The only real negative I have with the hotel is the lack of free wifi even in the public areas. I expect to pay for internet in my room (grudgingly) but not sat in the hotel lobby. There was a laptop available for customer use that was free of charge but I'd rather use my own laptop. Overall the Star Inn was good value and I would use the place again.

Room Tip: If you can get a business room the extra space makes the room much more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarwenRoversFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The location of the hotel is very convenient for the Domagstrasse tram line and then taking the U-bahn into the centre. It is not close to the Milbertshofer U-bahn station as we had read and it took almost half an hour to walk to the hotel.
The rooms are modern, clean and quite spacious and have the basic amenities but no bath, refrigerator, safe deposit box or tea/coffee making facilities. The bed was very firm and the pillows provided were no bigger than a cushion and therefore provided little head/neck support.
However, the main problem we encountered was the stifling heat in our room as it faced south and had the sun all day long (it was glorious weekend weather and around 26C). Despite leaving the curtains drawn and having the aircon running at maximum, it could just not cope and lower the temperature to a comfortable level.
The front desk staff were polite and very helpful in explaining the train systems and answering general questions about tourist attractions, restaurants etc.
The breakfast food was of a good standard but not great value at €11 per person for a cold buffet. Free internet use in the foyer for short periods was helpful and the bowl of apples on reception was a positive offering..
There didn't appear to be many amenities (cafe/restaurants) in close proximity to the hotel but there is a Maclaren dealership being built across the road !.
In summary, a clean and well located hotel that is good value for money.

Room Tip: If you don't like sleeping in sauna conditions, then pick a room with an odd number as this will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We didn't really expect much from this hotel, however, it ended up being lovely. The room was huge compared to the other rooms we'd been in in Europe, nice for four people, it was modern and very clean. The staff was lovely. And the bar downstairs was a great way to get out of the room, it also served a few nice snacks.
The only problem was it being a little bit far from the town centre, but the transport is so reliable it was never an issue. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This hotel may represent a cheap opportunity to stay in Munich, it is located close to a tram station and, by changing one line of u-bahn, directly with downtown.
My room (family) was clean and large enough, the breakfast was absolutely ok, the price convenient.The drawback is in the internet connection, it is not free and generally quite slow.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zarpietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

During a business trip to a company in the north section of Munich, my group stayed at the Star Inn. We received a great rate, so I was expecting a very basic hotel. I was pleasantly surprised with the size and cleanliness of the rooms, the quality of the morning breakfast offering, and the friendly service during check-in and at the small bar during the evening. Although the neighborhood of the hotel is not exactly a tourist attraction - it is a quick train connection to downtown. Great bargain, will stay here again next time in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Premium Domagkstrasse
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
0.5 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Munich City North
Super 8 Munich City North
#156 of 383 in Munich
64 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#171 of 383 in Munich
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Munchen Schwabing, by Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Munchen Schwabing, by Comfort

Property: Star Inn Hotel Munchen Schwabing, by Comfort
Address: Weimarer Str. 4, 80807 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Munchen Schwabing, by Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Inn Hotel is ideally located in a quiet area. Situated at the beginning of the famous Leopoldstraße in Schwabing, you are right in the middle of things and can enjoy the flair of the cosmopolitan city with a heart. Easily reachable from the Allianz Arena and the highway, this hotel offers the perfect starting point both for conducting your business and for a fine weekend stay in Munich. Two hundred free parking spaces are available adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Munchen Schwabing, by Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Munchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing