We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Top, Service Flop!”
Review of Hotel la maison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel la maison
Ranked #260 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Room Top, Service Flop!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We spent here a weekend in december 2013. The hotel looks really nice - great design and everything is clean and smells good BUT the service is unfortunately really bad. We had no room service - somehow they just forgot to clean our room; the women on the reception was not helpful and unfriendly - we were waiting for her just to get our keys for the room, but she was standing at the bar 2 meters away, having a (private?) phone call and didn't even care, when she saw us waiting and later getting the key on our own; the breakfast is nice, if there would have been plates and bread - we asked for both, the same unfriendly women on the reception said rude, that we have to wait. 15 minutes later we were still hungry and there was still nobody from the service there to refill.
It's really sad that they don't manage to have an acceptable service, as the hotel could get 5 stars, if the service would be ok.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LadyMari0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    35
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
7
41
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed at Hotel La Maison during my business trip in Munich. My hotel room was tiny, didn't feel comfortable at all. Some of the small bottles in the mini bar were empty... Breakfast was disappointing too, very limited options, not a single fresh fruit or vegetable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 645Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

Well, this is exactly how a small boutiqe hotel should be ... Stylish, sexy and excellent design yet not giving up on the service and friendliness! La Maison actually got it "spot on" for anybody who wants to have a small, stylish hotel without paying stupid money (yet, let's be honest, it's not cheap either ... My rook was €200/night). So, why not 5 rating then? Well, it's close to 5 but missing a few small items like the soap and shampoo being generic non-branded stuff and the breakfast is OK but not outstanding. Lastly, the location is in Schwabing (so central Munich), it's very close to the Biggest park in Munich and close to public transport and the area of Schwabing is one of the best in Munich with tons of restaurants, bars and shops. The hotel is on a nice and relatively quite street so very good location overall ! I definately would stay again!

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 1234CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We chose the hotel for a weekend trip to Munich because of the following reasons: the website of the hotel is very efficient yet stylish, the pictures show the real rooms so you get what you see, the prices are relatively reasonable for Munich Schwabing, the English Garden is just 3 minutes away, great for walks (!), the hotel is a small, quiet boutique hotel with clean and stylish rooms, the underground is 5 minutes away but you can also walk downtown (40 minutes or so). The receptionists are very nice and helpful. We booked a double light room, which was small but bright and it also had a balcony. The bathroom was also relatively small but not too small. The only thing we found just a bit disappointing was the breakfast: it's "only" 14 Euro per person and of good quality but the variety and stocking policy isn't too good (no warm food at all like scrambled eggs). It seems they offer a max of 4 croissants for all guests so when we came down a little later on the second morning they were all gone (the first morning we were there pretty early and got lucky) . Also Bavaria is famous for its good bread and rolls, but the only choice we had was ONE baguette from 7 to 10 (they never restocked after it was gone) and two different kinds of rolls and one kind of bread. Restocking of the other things like butter, jam or salmon took forever and we had to explicitly ask for more long before 10 am. There seems to be only one waiter serving coffee, taking dirty dishes away and being responsible for restocking the items which apparently isn't enough staff during busy times. Apart from that our stay was great and since other hotels charge more than 30 euro for breakfast we could live with these breakfast flaws. We will definitely consider La Maison again should we go on another Munich trip in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leolimoncello2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The Hotel is lovelly decorated. The staff was very friendly too. I have asked a special room type and when I arrived they gave me what I asked which is really nice as not all are doing it.

The location is really good. 5 minutes walk from the tube. Different restaurants choices are around the hotel. It's not noisy.

However the room are not very cleaned. When I checked in I found the soap and shampoo from an other person in the bathroom. There is a lot of dust.

Internet is not working well. so DO NOT PAY FOR INTERNET as the connection is very bad. I had to restart it many time. Try to negotiate to have it free.

Room Tip: I have taken the purple room as it's girly :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I would give 4 stars if only there would be aid conditioner. There was no air at room at all! Because of that we had to leave opened window throughout the night and some street voice was coming in. Also church bells on Sunday very early morning!
Otherwise hotel had good location - close underground station and nice Leopoldstrasse. Stuff was nice.
I didn't find cool a fact that booking.com on their website said that there is free wi-fi in WHOLE hotel but it wasn't so; we had to pay EUR 6 for a day (its not so bad but I don't like disinformation!).
Breakfast - it was ok; i would suggest to the stuff pay more attention to the food choice close to 10am when they close it. At first day we came to eat at 9:30 and there were out of some stuff and I noticed that they didn't add.
Room and halls very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirutaRiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This trendy hotel's best asset is that it is in a lovely part of Munich offering plenty of restaurants, live venues and supermarkets. Also it is walking distance to the Englischer Garten and Munchner Freiheit U-bahn station. As for the rooms, they are modern and clean with quality fittings. However we found the rooms are small with no where to put large luggage and they don't have air conditioning. However I noticed some people mention the rooms are large so perhaps it was just our room? And I have to add the bathroom was quite spacious. Nothing much else to say about it. In summary, decent value, good location and good service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Occam
#338 of 383 in Munich
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#208 of 383 in Munich
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#223 of 383 in Munich
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.4 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#209 of 383 in Munich
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la maison

Property: Hotel la maison
Address: Occamstr. 24, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la maison 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel la maison was made for individualists and cosmopolitans. It is situated in the trendy district of Schwabing, close to the beautiful English Garden, surrounded by shops, restaurants and bars. Come and get carried away with Munich's impressive architecture. With the inspiring cultural activities. The vitality of the people. The good food. We are passionate hosts and ambassadors of an exciting cosmopolitan city. We want you to get to know the most fascinating sides of Munich. Discover quaint beer gardens and fine dining. Small markets and dazzling shopping malls. Relaxation and adventure. Experience Munich's rich tradition and the pulse of a modern metropolis. Bienvenue! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel la maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing