We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
Ranked #122 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It was fine”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here on the way to somewhere else. It isnt located near a lot of touristy places but it is right next to the autobahn so getting to and from the hotel is very easy if you are driving. We arrived late in the evening and the front desk person was helpful in getting us checked in and giving me information on where to park. The hotel has limited outside free parking and we weren't comfortable leaving the car outside on the street down the road from the hotel. We did park in the paid parking garage under the hotel for 6 euro a night.

The hotel is newer and everything in the room worked as it was supposed to. The room we were in was pretty small and if we would have needed to stay longer it would have been an issue but as it was, the four of us were fine with the double bed and the foldout sofa bed.

Breakfast was one of the high points of our stay. The food was fresh, hot and the food bar was continually refreshed. It was a pretty standard layout with soft boiled eggs, pastries, oranges, breads, sliced meats and cheeses, etc.

We would stay again if we are passing through but not if we're sightseeing in the area and without a car.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrGollreiter, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear J P

thank you very much for your very positiv review and for taking your time to let us know about!

We are highly pleased that you have enjoyed our breakfast so much. We always do our best to keep the qualtiy very high for our guests. Furthermore, our kitchen staff really loves their job, threfore fresh baked croissants and pain au chocolat taste even better.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again!

With all best wishes
Your team of Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    186
    104
    31
    12
See reviews for
190
70
23
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,128 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 833 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at this property while attending a conference at the Munich Messe. The price was quite reasonable which contributed to the decision. The check-in process was quite quick. The person who checked me in was very friendly and the staff was generally helpful throughout my stay. The room was quite spacious and the WiFi worked well. The morning breakfast was OK but was all cold food with limited choices. The checkout process was also reasonably efficient. The biggest drawback was the location. This is not a hotel at which you want to stay if you do not have a car available. The closest train station is a 20-minute walk through to the other side of Feldkirchen village. The Messe was a one-hour walk. There was a shuttle in the morning to the Messe but it was in high demand making a seat hard to procure. The shuttle also did not run on the same frequency as the schedule suggested. It was a van that was also a taxi and, it seemed as soon as there was a fare, they scrapped their shuttle schedule to deliver their fare. In the worst case, I waited more than 40 minutes for a shuttle when it was supposed to run every 20 minutes. There was also no shuttle in the afternoon and it was a 15 euro taxi ride back to the hotel. If you have a car, this hotel is a pretty good choice if you have business at the Messe. I would not stay here again, however, without a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrGollreiter, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thank your very much for your feedback! It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Staff very frendly and helpful.

Unfortunately the experience you have made with our Partner-Taxi, which provide a shuttle bus to the Fair Trade, was not very positive for you. We assure you that they try their best to keep the same frequency as the schedule suggested, but sometimes it's just doesn't work because of traffic jam on the motorway.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards from Bavaria
Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

During the international exhibition BAUMA I stayed some nights in the HIE Munich Messe. The hotel is located only 5 km from the "Messe" area, east of munich, at the exit of Autobahn A94, opposite the town Feldkirchen. You can hear the autobahn, although its not very noisy. In the near area you will find a IBIS hotel, a Mercedes Dealer and some private companies, so no infrastructure at all. The central public area of the hotel is the reception and the breakfast area. Breakfast is HIE standard, good quality, limited in variety. Although the hotel was fully booked every day the situation at breakfast was always unexcitedly. At the reception people with lots of different nationalities work, i missed a bit the feeling of beeing in Bavaria. By the way, the same staff "runs" the small bar next to reception. The rooms are quite small, functional, unemotional, bathroom small but with good shower + separate toilet.

The hotel offers lots of parking (garage + outside), at the same time you def. need a car to get there. About 2 km from the hotel in one direction is a new supermarket with a good bakery, in the other direction in Feldkirchen you will find more infrastructure such as petrol stations, public transport and restaurants.

Restaurant TIP: Gasthof Bauer in the center of Feldkirchen town offers bavarian style atmosphere, very good food and very friendly service.

All in all, the hotel is ok for a overnight stay, you wanna choose it for exhibition activities, if you have a car and/or if you wanna stay outside the city center with easy access to the Autobahn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thoralf W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
A bavarian "Gruess Gott" dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel during Germany's biggest Tradefair BAUMA
and your friendly review!
Yes, our "international staff" contains people from Mexico, Spain, Italy, Hungaria, Romania, Russia, Togo and Thuringia: if you welcome the worldwide guests for international tradefairs we are mostly able to communicate with our guests in their language... and our guests likes that very much! But we got 2 from Bavaria -

Hope to welcome you again,
Your team of
Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itu, SP
Level Contributor
205 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Went in april, 2013. Rooms are smaller than IBIS, no bar, lunch or dinner, only breakfast.
No transportations around. Must carry taxi driver mobile.
It is middle of nowhere. Aske in reception about dinner and got "try IBIS" nearby.
By the way, food on IBIS is worse than airplanes
No locker nor wardobre on rooms or minibar
At least clean but for exorbitants 300 Euros

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduba101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thoralf W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for taking time to write an resonse on your stay
during the biggest tradefair of Munich (and 300€ was a very cheap rate) for that days Munich and surrounding area was fully booked. Of course outside fairs we are much lower.
Please allow me some feedback: rooms are slightly larger than on our neighbor IBIS and we have a bar at the Lobby, open from 18:00-24:00. There is a Bus transportation to Feldkirchen, station is 300m away and we offered a shuttle transfer to fairgrounds.
In Feldkirchen (2km) there are 10 several Restaurants, some of them we (and our guests, please see the other feedbacks from guests) may recomend, but if you ask for a possibility in closes walking distance - yes only the IBIS.
We are Express, if you want to have restaurant on property and a in minibar we may recomend our 4 Holiday Inn Hotels, they would fit your expectations -

But we would be also be happy to welcome you again
Your team of Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, it was a great value. Place was clean, decent breakfast. Staff was friendly. However, Internet cost is steep, no restaurants nearby, must have a car to get around. Parking was reasonable but the garage is kind of dark and spooky (but ok).

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thoralf W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive reply for the main important things in a hotel!
A Garage never looks nice... but we will think about better light & if winter is now definitely gone we will clean it once again.
Typical for Express is no Restaurant on property, but we may offer several delivery services and our staff may help you to find one of the many different restaurants - try it at your next stay?
Would be happy to welcome you once again
With kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

due a two day excursion to munich, we have been booked by our tour operator into this holiday in express, wich is located near the munich fair area. a pretty new hotel. reception staff have been friendly and the design was good. there was a small, but nice and fresh decorated breakfast available. but it was little bit too far away from the historic center. so it is not so recommendable for tourist purposes.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southwesttravellerdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thoralf W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review!
Our Hotel is not new: already 7 years old but we take care of it and invest in it - for your satisfaction. We are 12 km away from City center, easy to reach near the East Motorway Cross, and the connection with tube S2 is 18 minutes so we hope it was OK for your stay?

Kind regards, Thoralf Weihe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charters Towers, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Check-in was efficient. Rooms adequate. Breakfast was adequate. Housekeeping was efficient. Would stay here again, if hotels closer to the city were again booked out. Parking seemed to be an issue on occasion. Stayed 5 nights.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank born2travelcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralf_stoeckle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you


Dear Guest,


thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to send us your comments. The comments of our guests are very valuable for us and give us the opportunity to constantly improve our services to the needs and expectations of our clients.

I am glad to hear that you had a great stay in the Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe and that you were very happy with our service. I have forwarded your comments to my staff.
Concerning the location, we can offer a suttle service to the big fairs in Munich and we recommend the subway leaving every 20 minutes from Feldkirchen station.

Dear Guest, my team and I would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe



General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
4.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#160 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
7.7 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Munchen Schwabing, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munich City West
7.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
4.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
Address: Otto-Lilienthal-Ring 6 | Feldkirchen, 85622 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Alpine views and easy access to the Munich Trade Fair at the Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe Hotel.Our modern, 5-storey hotel is conveniently located in the district of Feldkirchen, 12km east of Munich. Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe Hotel is a 35-minute drive from Munich Airport, with easy access to the A99 and A94 motorways and free parking. Surf the web with free wireless Internet in your inviting Guest room and wake up to a complimentary breakfast in the sunny Great Room.Feel free to use the PCs in Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe's 24-hour Business Centre, and host events for up to 45 people in our 2 naturally lit meeting rooms. Exhibitions at the International Munich trade fair ground are 5 minutes drive from the hotel and you can be meeting clients in central Munich in just 15 minutes thanks to speedy S-Bahn trains from nearby Feldkirchen station.There's plenty to see in Munich, from the City Hall's Glockenspiel in grand Marienplatz square to the enticing delicatessen stalls in the covered market.You can browse newspapers and meet friends for a drink in Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe's laid-back Lobby bar. It's a short stroll to Feldkirchen's restaurants, from Bavarian beer gardens to Italian bistros. Our friendly Front Desk staffs are happy to make recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe Hotel Munich
Holiday Inn Express Munich
Holiday Inn Munich
Holiday Inn Feldkirchen
Feldkirchen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing