We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Charles Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$114
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$109
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arthotel Munich(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$303
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,685)
Filter reviews
1,685 results
Traveller rating
1,326
248
67
22
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,326
248
67
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocco fortebeautiful hotelheated floorsconcierge staffstar hoteltrain stationrooms are largeperfect staydeluxe roomminute walkbreakfast buffethotel restaurantold citybeer gardenvisiting munichmain stationspa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
983 - 988 of 1,685 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights, and were pleased in every way. The room decor was exquisite, the bathroom had both tub and shower and heated floor, the food was excellent, the breakfast buffet (my favorite meal of the day) large and satisfying (including both large and small croissants) and the pool was a knockout. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abecedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with other travellers. Your comment is motivating us to keep our service quality high and to ensure a great guest experience.

We are glad that you and your wife had an excellent time at The Charles Hotel in Munich. Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar. It makes us proud that you enjoyed our exquisite, large rooms, our unique indoor pool as well as our fine cuisine.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you soon in Munich and to indulge you with our services.

With best reagrds,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here in a "basic" room for three nights. It was spacious and luxurious and spotlessly clean - not just our room but throughout the hotel, The pool is superb, and the pool staff were welcoming and friendly. In fact, the staff of this hotel are its greatest asset. They welcomed us warmly when we arrived and were consistently pleasant and helpful. The only downside is the scale of charges for wifi - if paying for one hour (or more) it would be good if was for time online rather than elapsed time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric_and_Dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your company at The Charles Hotel in Munich and we would like to thank you for your time to share your impressions with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Especially, your comments concerning our friendly and courteous service make us very proud and we forwarded your feedback immediately to the entire team. The Charles Hotel is committed to providing you with the best service possible and to fulfilling your expectations and needs. Thus, we direct our attention not only to the cleanliness of the rooms but also to the entire hotel.

In regards to the free Internet access, we are working on some future alterations as the Internet usage is under discussion within the Rocco Forte Hotels and a companywide decision. By now the use of Internet is included in the suite experiences.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your company on your future trips to Munich and remain

with best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were in town picking up a new BMW and stayed here for only one night. Sadly our room wasn't ready when we arrived which was to be expected as it was 8am! But they were all very friendly and nice, strangely the bell captain even knew my name when we arrived which was incredible but to add to this he remembered my name when we returned from the BMW Welt about 6 hours later!
Overall a spectacular room in a great location.
When we come back for my wife's BMW we will definitely stay here again!
The only thing I would like would be for them to offer free wireless internet, it seems sill to pay so much for a hotel and then be asked to pay 20 more euro for internet access...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlbusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your wife as our guests at The Charles Hotel and we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Especially your comment concerning our friendly and attentive employees makes us very proud and of course we forwarded your fantastic feedback immediately to the entire team. The satisfaction of our guests is our main aim and we all do our very best to provide our guests with the best possible services as we have set ourselves demanding standards. One of these standards is to approach our guests by their names and therefore we are pleased that you highlighted our courteous Concierge team.

In regards to the free Internet access, we are working on some future alterations as the Internet usage is under discussion within the Rocco Forte Hotels and a companywide decision. By now the use of Internet is included in the suite experiences.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back again at The Charles Hotel. Hopefully you will find some time not only to experience the beautiful city but also to discover more of our outstanding hotel facilities.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our suite was gorgeous. Modern and elegant.This is a great hotel. Within walking distance of city center. Our bar staff and bar manager were fun, and helpful.only downside: Restaurant food was great.... Service was poor.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite, that is the best.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bacsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your friends at The Charles Hotel in Munich. We would like to thank you for sharing your positive impressions with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad that you enjoyed not only our hotel in general but also your splendid hotel room and our food. Of course we forwarded your fantastic feedback immediately to our employees.

On the other hand, we deeply regret that you were not fully satisfied by our service. Therefore, we would very much appreciate it to get in contact with you personally, to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Please refer to mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We know all the hotels in Munich, the Vier Jahreszeiten, Kempinski, the Bayerischer Hof and the Mandarin. I rate the Charles very high for their product and service. It is only five minutes walking to the city center. So no big deal, compared to the other hotels the hardware is fantastic.
Bayerischer Hof is a mixed bag and from a design a disaster, you find all decades in there. Vier Jahreszeiten a bit similar, rooms in the new wing are to small. The only one In Direct competition is the Mandarin Oriental that compares with the Charles.
The Charles offers breakfast on the weekend until 2pm, which is really great and if you have breakfast included you will appreciate it. Check in was very welcoming, we are having a corner suite on the eight floor, which has a spectacular view over Munich! If you can afford it, go for a corner suite, spacious, nice design, I think the hotel was designed by a family member of the Rocco Forte family. Spa and pool are also very nice and clean, however they do not allow kids in the wet areas and not in the pool after 4pm, which would be good to know before you arrive so you can plan your day. All staff are very nice and always offer assistance. Be sure we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A_luxury_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your positive impressions with other travellers regarding your recent stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich part of Rocco Forte Hotels.

For all of us it is fantastic to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you already discovered our spacious Executive Suite.

Each hotel is as individual and characterful as the city which inspires its design and each features a unique sense of style and ambience. Olga Polizzi, Sir Rocco Forte´s sister, is responsible for the modern and luxurious interior design.

You and your family left Munich with a good feeling and as happy guests. That is exactly what we love our guests to feel. We do appreciate your fabulous feedback and shared it immediately with our team.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back at The Charles Hotel!

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews