We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful - location, service, comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful - location, service, comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed two nights in May 2012, on a trip that we won in a competition. We stay at mostly 4 star properties, so this was a step up. We had a double room on the second floor which was nice and spacious, very comfortable and of course meticulously clean. Bathroom was large with separate tub and walk-in shower, thickest towels I have ever experienced in many years of travel!

Location is excellent - short walk to Karlstor at the end of the pedestrian area, and in an upmarket street with no through traffic.It's about 15 mins walk to the Marienplatz, 20 mins to the Hofbräuhaus, 30 mins to the Deutsches Museum.

Breakfast buffet seemed relatively small, but that was because cooked egg dishes etc are ordered from the service staff. Quality is top notch and everything delicious. There's champagne if you like that kind of thing in the morning, and it was also the first time I have seen honey you can scoop straight from the honeycomb. Cost is 30 EUR a person so best to look for a rate that includes breakfast when booking.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first night. The food was excellent and the service very attentive without being overbearing. Expect to pay 18-35 EUR for entrees.

On the subject of service, it was singularly impressive in the whole stay. Very professional but not too stuffy. That was consistent from the doorman, check-in, in the restaurant, concierge etc.

Valet parking is available, just plan 10-15 minutes to get your car back. No idea of the cost (ours was already paid) but it was nice that they cleaned the windshield.

Internet is 20 EUR for 24 hours, but no Wifi (that we found) so that could be a drawback if you only have an iPad or similar. (I travel with a small Wifi router for such situations).

It was nice to see "how the other half live". My budget for a hotel in a big city is normally about 200 EUR. This would be double that price - nice if you have the money, but for me it would not be worth the extra even if it was essentially perfect.

Room Tip: Looks like rooms on 3rd floor and higher have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmondsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our guest during the spring time at The Charles Hotel in Munich. We would like to say thank you for sharing your impressions with other travellers and your time to do so.

The aim of the Rocco Forte Hotels is to assure the highest quality accommodation, facilities and where our team can meet your needs in order to make your stay enjoyable. Therefore, your positive feedback is much appreciated and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Not only its excellent location but also our personal, unique service and our passion for detail make your stay unforgettable. It is our pleasure to go the “extra mile” for our guests! Of course, we forwarded your fantastic words immediately to all our employees who say thank you!

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at The Charles Hotels in the near future and remain

with best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    218
    59
    20
    17
See reviews for
380
518
90
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

What a great hotel ! Rooms are spotless , good size , windows to open with a view over a park.
Service level is top notch throughout all departments of the hotel . Restaurant serves a good variety of food , nice outside terrace ( have to go back in the summer ) .
Depending on where you have to be in town , the only small drawback might be the location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetlaggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you at The Charles Hotel in Munich and we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions with other travellers and your time to do so.

Your positive feedback is much appreciated and it makes us very proud that you commend not only the unique facilities of the hotel but also our high-class services. Our team is delighted to hear that you had an amazing time at our property and that you are planning to visit us again in summer. Hopefully the weather will be fantastic so that you can fully enjoy our outside terrace and the multifarious city.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com and we would be happy to fulfil you every wish.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future and remain

with best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The rooms, service and location were perfect. Considering the calibre of the hotel it was surprising to have to pay €20 per day for wifi. The only place on our whole 4 weeks in europe where it was not free. Food and drinks in the restaurant were expensive but we ate else where in town. The spa was excellent. Concierge was really helpful with booking our train tickets.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welovetravelling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at The Charles Hotel in Munich and we would like to thank you for your time to share your impressions with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

It is great to read that you enjoyed our services and felt well taken care of. We forwarded your feedback immediately to the entire team – they all appreciate it a lot.

In regards to the free Internet access, we are working on some future alterations as the Internet usage is under discussion within the Rocco Forte Hotels and a companywide decision. By now the use of internet is included in the suite experiences.

Please feel free to contact us at any time under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com and we would be happy to make your stay even more comfortable.

Again, thank you for staying at the Charles Hotel and we are looking forward to hosting you soon again.

Best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed here back in January but am about to book it again for a summer visit. The hotel itself was spotless and quiet with all of the amenities. They staff was extraordinary. Everyone was extremely attentive and polite so the service was flawless at every level. I can't wait to visit again - I actually wish I could just move in.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Your feedback regarding your stay at The Charles Hotel in January is much appreciated and we would also like to thank you for your time to do so.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. The entire team would like to thank you for your warm words concerning our courteous staff. We have set ourselves demanding standards and our main aim is to fulfil every wish of our guests and provide them with the best possible service.

It was a great pleasure for is to welcome you as our guest at The Charles Hotel and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again during the summer period. Hopefully, you will find some time to discover the beautiful places of Munich. We will be at your entire disposal for suggestions and questions at anytime.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We can afford this hotel with no problem, however, when you pay top price, you would expect to have internet available without paying an additional $25 for 24 hours.
The front desk controls the heat in the room, you can change it up or down 1 degree. When we left for the afternoon and did not arrive till late in the evening, our room was like a refrigerator. We called and maintenance could not fix the heater so they brought in a space heater and extra blankets. The next morning, they blamed it on us because we took our key out of the slot that keeps the electricity on. Excuse us, but you's suppose to do that when you leave so the lights go out,. How else would we get into the room without going to the desk every time you leave.
Breakfast...that is another thing. Served till 10..no problem. We were finished eating at 10 and asked for a last cup of coffee...NO more. Other people in the dining room as well as us, were shocked that we could not finish our breakfast with a cup of coffee. No even a a sorry.

Think twice before you check in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you staying at The Charles Hotel and for your honest words concerning your recent visit.

Of course the satisfaction of our guests is our main aim and we all do our very best to provide our guests with the best possible services as we have set ourselves demanding standards. Therefore, we deeply regret that you had bad experiences at our premises. Primarily, we would like to apologise for the embarrassing incident during your breakfast. Please be informed that we serve breakfast until 10.30 a.m. during the week and at weekends until 2 p.m. and we hope that we can convince you of our courteous staff and our services in general at your next stay.

In addition to that, we would like to express our regrets in regards to your cold room. Please note that you can change the room temperature up or down three degrees. Our reception team stays at your entire disposal for regulating the temperature manually. Because of environment-friendly reasons the electricity goes off if your remove your key card from the slot. We apologise if this caused you any inconveniences .

Regarding a free Internet access, we are working on some future alterations as the Internet usage is under discussion within the Rocco Forte Hotels and a companywide decision. By now the use of Internet is included in the suite experiences.

Once again, we would like to apologise for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. It would be from utmost importance for us to have the chance to welcome you again at our property. Please feel free to contact us at anytime under mun executive@roccofortehotels.com we would be delighted to fulfil your wishes and needs.

Best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Charles Hotel in Munich was a wonderful place to stay for business. The hotel is small enough that the staff was able to personally greet us as we went about our day. Concierge did a great job making reservations at very special, locally honored restaurants although they (concierge staff) were hard to track down many times.

The rooms were spacious and well appointed. I would stay here again on my next trip to Munich.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petersonfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with other travellers. Your comment is motivating us to keep our service quality high and to ensure a great guest experience.

Whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure, we are honoured that you have chosen The Charles Hotel for your stay. We are more than glad that you enjoyed not only our hotel but also our services. Your compliments in regards to our courteous staff make us very proud and it was a pleasure for us to pamper you.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back with us. Please feel free to contact me for your future reservations with us - mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com.

Best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We booked this hotel expecting something totally different. Location is great. Even if it's located only 3 blocks away from the main train station, the area which is absolutely upscale, located at walking distance from the main shopping district.The room size is good, with an excellent view of the park across the street. However everything is our room was covered by dust and smelled like it has been never cleaned before ( including curtains and the sofa ) . The table was scratched, bathtub didn't work, and we received an urgent envelope which wasn't found by the concierge up to 8 hours after our arrival. The lobby is acceptable. The best thing about this hotel is the staff, they are friendly, try to help, give excellent restaurants and bar suggestions . Housekeeping and in room dining staff are also great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debora N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Charles Hotel is much appreciated and we would also like to thank you for your time to do so.

On the one hand, we are pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel with its spacious rooms overlooking the Old Botanical Garden. Especially, your warm words concerning our excellent staff make us very proud and we forwarded your feedback immediately to the entire team – they appreciate it a lot!

On the other hand, we deeply regret that you could not fully enjoy your stay due to the mentioned cleanliness of your room. Please note that your description does not correspond to our standards at all and we deeply regret that we did not have the chance to clear this unpleasant situation during your stay with us. We hope that we may convince you of our high quality standards at your next stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com and we would be happy to fulfil you every wish.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at The Charles Hotels in the near future and remain

with best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#7 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing