We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Soho Grand or TriBeCa grand in NYC”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Think Soho Grand or TriBeCa grand in NYC”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Nice room, spacious, get room faciing park, and consider paying the extra 40 euros for a suite quiet neiighborhood, good spa, good gym, expensive breakfast but better than going outside for coffee. Close to train station, everyone speaks many languages, first class experience. If your looking at more expensive places I'm not sure it's worth it. Munich seems to have cheaper places but to find right in between this is it.

Room Tip: Consider paying extra for suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonNYC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your personal comments and your time to share your experience with other travellers. It was a pleasure to welcome you during summer time at The Charles Hotel in Munich.

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our hotel. From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm, courteous and cordial services. Whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure, we are always devoted to ensure that your stay at The Charles Hotel will be both pleasant and relaxing.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at The Charles Hotel, part of Rocco Forte Hotels!

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    228
    63
    20
    19
See reviews for
402
549
93
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This really is a magnificent and excellently run hotel, it is not cheap but, as always, you get what you pay for and in our stay last week, we were upgraded (for no real reason I could see) to excellent suites.

Although the building is lovely and the amenities comprehensive, the hotel is made by its charming and well-trained staff, particularly the concierge, whose knowledge knows no bounds. That team understood exactly what we wanted and their restaurant reservations were spot-on even to the extent on bookings in other cities for our onward journey. It is a shame that the staff do not wear name badges so one could mention them individually. Everybody seems genuinely concerned to ensure everybody has a good stay, they certainly remember our names, and I would single out the lovely head porter, who looked after (and charmed) my mother, along with Dennis, Max (front desk), and Gabriel (bar man).

The Italian restaurant is also good - a short but excellent menu is complimented by an excellent wine list and very well-trained staff there too.

Recently, in Prague, staying at the Augustine, a party of friends and family agreed that would never stay in anything other than a Rocco Forte hotel if there were one in the city being visited, and such faith was amply rewarded in Munich!

Room Tip: Height up the better views but I would expect all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilGeorgeKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich. We do appreciate your honest words and it was a pleasure to welcome you at our hotel.

It is wonderful that you experienced such a memorable stay at our hotel. Especially, your compliments regarding our staff make us very proud because our aim is not only to convince our guests of the outstanding facilities but also of our services. Therefore, we would like to thank you that you highlighted the exceptional services of some of our employees. Of course, we passed a personal letter to them to show that they are doing a great job. The entire team takes it for granted to go the extra mile for our guests as we set ourselves demanding standards. For us courtesy, cordiality and friendliness are not only essential features in regards to our job but also an attitude to life. Therefore, we do appreciate your positive feedback a lot!

Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com and we would be happy to fulfil you every wish.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week on business and found the experience to very enjoyable. The room is extremely comfortable and spacious for a European hotel. The window has a door in the fashion of a french balcony which is a very nice feature. The bathroom offers the options of both a tub and shower with a very generous vanity sink area. Room service breakfast was very good and provided promptly at the requested time.

The hotel is located in a quiet little corner behind a lovely park with fountains, a beer garden and hopping bunny rabbits everywhere. It is approximately a 10 minute walk to Marienplatz for dining and shopping options and about 2-3 blocks from the main rail station. Please note that the area near the rail station is a little seedy but did not appear necessarily unsafe in normal circumstances. There is tram and train transportation available within walking distance although the preferred choice of transportation seems to be bicycle in Munich.

I did not visit the spa since I was on business but I'm sure it would offer great facilities.
Overall, this hotel would be an excellent choice for anyone traveling for leisure or business to this great city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyNYC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you as our guest at The Charles Hotel and we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you could enjoy your stay and felt comfortable in our spacious guest rooms.

The satisfaction of our guests is our main aim and we all do our very best to provide our guests with the best possible services as we have set ourselves demanding standards.


We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon at The Charles Hotel. Hopefully you will not only to be here for business but also to discover more of our outstanding hotel facilities.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

I spend 10 nights in this hotel. The people working in this hotel are great. Genuinely interested en genuinely kind. The congierce service was the best I have come across in a long long time. Sleeping in this hotel is like sleeping in your own bed. Just great. I always sleep terrible in hotels. Well, not at the Charles. Temperature can be adjusted accurately and the beds are KING size and great. You will not find a better hotel in München!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cldbstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience with other travellers. Your comment is motivating us to keep our service quality high and to ensure a great guest experience.

We are glad that you spent an excellent time at The Charles Hotel in Munich. Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar. It makes us proud that you enjoyed our exquisite, large rooms, our unique indoor pool as well as our fine cuisine.

Your personal comment: “You will not find a better hotel in Munich!” makes us all very proud!!

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you soon in Munich and to indulge you with our services.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Spent a night in Munich before heading to Santorini for our honeymoon. We'd told them it was our honeymoon, but were blown away by the 8 different chocolates/berries they put out for us in our room as a welcome for us. I'm a stickler when it comes to hotel bathrooms, and this one couldn't be more beautifully designed and maintained. The room itself was quite spacious, and it's within close walking distance to great parts of Munich. Concierge is wonderful--they pointed us to a Biergarten frequented by locals, where we enjoyed great beer and a massive pretzel. Overall, wonderful hotel and a great price, given that we booked via Tablet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to say thank you for choosing The Charles Hotel for this particular occasion – your honeymoon! It was such a pleasure to have you as our guests! Good to hear that you spent an unforgettable time and could enjoy real Bavarina Flair!

Hopefully we are able to welcome you back in the near future.

With best regards,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

A hotel where you are made to feel welcome is always a plus point when you are travelling. Our bags were collected and taken to our room after check-in, and the kind lady on the check-in desk took us up to our room and showed us how everything worked, which was a real nice touch.

When I had a problem with my mattress, the concierge (who was printing our train tickets for us) immediately called housekeeping, and my mattress was changed within 10 minutes.

We didn't breakfast in the hotel, instead opting to use our guidebook and find some interesting local eats, but the people in the restaurant looked happy enough when we walked past!

The room was modern and spacious, and the bathroom was very well appointed. A powerful shower is also welcome!

While the hotel was quite expensive, I'd say it was worth every penny - you get what you pay for. I'd gladly stay here again when we return to Munich!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you as our guest at The Charles Hotel and we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Especially your comment concerning our friendly employees, who assisted you during your stay, makes us very proud and of course we forwarded your fantastic feedback immediately to the entire team. The satisfaction of our guests is our main aim and we all do our very best to provide our guests with the best possible services as we have set ourselves demanding standards.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back again at The Charles Hotel. Hopefully you will find some time not only to experience the beautiful city but also to discover more of our outstanding hotel facilities.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

What a wonderful feeling to stay at this hotel. One feels well taken care of as soon as you enter. The rooms are large,well furnished,and quiet.The staff is friendly and you have the feeling that nothing you desire would be too much trouble for them.The breakfast buffet is delightful as were the other meals we tried.
Location was great. We loved the view.A tad expensive,but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lira77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you at The Charles Hotel in Munich and we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions with other travellers and your time to do so.

We are more than glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Of course we forwarded your positive feedback immediately and he really appreciates your warm words. Furthermore, we are delighted to hear that you could enjoy our delightful meals at the Mediterranean Restaurant DAVVERO from our chef, Giovanni Russo.

Again, thank you for staying at The Charles Hotel and we are looking forward to hosting you soon again.

Best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
1,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#19 of 382 in Munich
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing