We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

When staying in Europe, we really enjoy Rocco Forte hotels. The Charles was no exception.

We had a wonderful suite, lots of space. Great shower and even a small kitchen. Bed was super comfortable. The staff very nice and helpful.

The only thing we really don't like is the perfumed rooms. I think they use a powder on the carpets and sometimes it can be overwhelming. We found this in Villa Kennedy in Frankfort as well. Open the windows for a bit and everything is ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samlab25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Samlab25,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words. It is nice to hear that you are always staying in a Rocco Forte Hotel when you are travelling in Europe.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury. We are delighted to hear that the room, as well as some amenities, like the slippers, the robes and the newspaper have been to your entire satisfaction.

We would like to thank you for your information regarding the perfume in the rooms. We already had a meeting with our Head Housekeeper about this issue and he will keep an eye on it.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    218
    59
    20
    17
See reviews for
379
516
89
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have just returned from a weekend in Munich with friends to visit the Christmas markets. This hotel is excellent. The rooms are extremely comfortable with massive beds and feather pillows. A huge bright bathroom with separate bath and shower, The shower was really powerful as well unlike many hotels I have stayed in, also lots of large thick towels. The only criticism would be that there was not tea and coffee making facilities so we had to get room service which was a bit of a pain although did not take long.

We did not have dinner there but the buffet breakfast looked impressive although it was quite pricey.

The location is good. Only 5 minutes walk from the central station and 10 minutes from the main street where the markets begin.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend this hotel although I suppose if anything it lacks a bit of character being such a modern hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteB340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear AnnetteB340,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury.

Regarding your personal wish to offer a tea & coffee-maker in our guest rooms, it is our pleasure to inform you that our In-Room Dining team would be more than pleased to serve you the requested products. Due to hygienically aspects, we do not offer the requested items automatically in the room. I would like to apologize if we did not fulfil your individual wishes in this point. There is a note in the In-Room-Dining-Menue that our employees are more than delighted to send one machine free of charge to your room.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home, far away from home.

Dear guest, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us. The entire team is delighted to assist you.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We really loved The Charles Hotel. We flew in from the U.S. and were worried we would have to wait until later on that afternoon for check-in. The staff was so welcoming, and had our room key ready at 10 a.m.! We understand this cannot happen all the time, due to the high capacity; however, we truly appreciated the extra effort and service. It made our time in Munich that much better. Each and every staff we encountered was pleasant, kind, and even tried speaking to us in English. The bellman should be applauded...he gave us fantastic directions too many times to count and was always happy and willing to help. When we were leaving for the train station to our next destination, he had 2 bottles of water ready. Very easy access to all the train stations & in walkable distance to much of Munich.

The rooms were fantastic, bathrooms with marble everywhere...very comfortable beds. Wifi just okay, but we didn't pay for the upgraded wifi.

Trust us...you will really enjoy your stay and not regret booking here. We wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelRocks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Mel H,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury.

Our Front Office Team is delighted to have the rooms ready by check-in, even if it is before the regular check-in-time. Sometimes this is not possible, due to availability, but it is nice to hear that you didn't have to wait and could enter the room in the morning already.

Especially for your warm words regarding our staff I would like to thank you very much. Of course we forwarded your wonderful feedback to our employees immediately, which was much appreciated.

Dear Mel H, we hope we can welcome you to The Charles Hotel again. The entire team is looking forward to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Great stay with family (2 infants & nanny) in late October. Rooms did not disappoint, Ritz Carlton style amenities, very friendly & helpful staff . Great alternative to Bayerischer Hof, location very nice bordering large park area (Alter Botanischer Garten), walking distance to pedestrian zone. Will return for sure. This hotel is a gem!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jochen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Jochen2,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

Of course we forwarded your wonderful feedback to our employees immediately, which was much appreciated. It is great to hear that you think our hotel is a gem.

The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. The famous Marienplatz is by walking distance as well.

Dear guest, we hope we get the chance to welcome you and your family to The Charles Hotel again. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance, the entire team is delighted to be by your side.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location in Munich. A short walk from the main station. The hotel is clean and the rooms are a decent size. The spa is worth a visit, but don't be surprised by the locals being naked in the sauna and steam rooms. As long as breakfast is included in the rate it is worthwhile and there is a fantastic selection. The staff are wonderful especially Heidi one of the concierges.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Ian,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury.

It is great to hear that you had the time to enjoy our The Charles SPA. We are very proud to have the biggest hotel pool in Munich and a very modern technical equipment in the gym.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home, far away from home and we would like to thank you for your warm words about Heidi.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.


Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed 4 nights on business at the Charles Hotel in a regular king room. Super nice! My room was on the third floor, close to the elevator and on the street side. However, it was an extremely quiet room (I am a light sleeper, so I was worried). The hotel staff is super helpful and friendly. Bar is small, but a nice place for a drink. Hotel breakfast was excellent. Forgot my phone charger and the staff was quick to provide one. Could not ask for a better stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear tsjha,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels and it was very important for her that the hotel is quiet, despite it is located in the centre of Munich. It is great to hear that you slept well and enjoyed your stay with us.

It is great to hear that you had the time to visit our The BAR and the restaurant DAVVERO. Our executive chef Giovanni Russo loves to pamper our guests with mediterranean food and typical Italian delicacies and the Bar Manager Klaus Hoppe always creates special drinks and culinary surprises.

Dear guest, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us. The entire team is delighted to assist you and looking forward to welcome you again.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in end Oct and checked in on my birthday. I received a birthday cake from the hotel ready served in my room when I just checked in. Thank you very much ! It was good.

The room was big and clean with nice sofa sitting area. The bed was comfortable. I like the bathroom which was spacious with both shower and bathtub. The interior looks new and well maintained. But toothbrush was not given in the room. If I remember correctly there was only 1 bottle of complimentary drinking water in the room although there were 2 of us.

The room had very good sound proofing and that's why very quiet even facing the road.

Breakfast was very delicious with variety of food choices. Breakfast area was very nice. It is worth having breakfast in the hotel.

The concierge service was excellent and helpful with information. They called and get info for you abt places you plan to go.

Overall it was a nice hotel to stay except free wifi was not provided. Not even at the lobby, that was disappointing seriously.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kui5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Kui5,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel on that particular stay - your birthday - a moment to remember. It was a great pleasure to surprise you with a cake and to hear that you enjoyed it.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich and that you had the time to visit our restaurant DAVVERO for breakfast. Our executive chef Giovanni Russo loves to pamper our guests with mediterranean food and typical Italian delicacies, even in the morning already.

For the inconvenience regarding the internet charges we would like to apologize deeply. We are glad to kindly inform you that we changed our system in the meantime and we are able to offer internet free of charge now.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home, far away from home.

Dear guest, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us. The entire team is delighted to assist you.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#7 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing