We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than 5 Star”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Tanvald, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“More than 5 Star”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

More than 5 Star due the excellent service, the spacious room and the perfect bathroom. I did not believe all the positive reviews here, but they are true. It is rarely to see that everything is on a corresponding level to the hotel category as here. Just two examples of the exceptional services here - we got drinking water for our journey home by car at check-out. And a simultaneous opening of the both car doors on arrival. Such a little things please.
Thanks to all staff for a very nice stay! We will be back next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear goldec,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

Of course we forwarded you wonderful feedback to our employees immediately, which was much appreciated. It is great to hear that our little treats made you feel special and we hope we may welcome you to Munich soon again.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any assistance.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    228
    63
    20
    19
See reviews for
402
549
93
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Munich Germany and the Charles Hotel are two of the most accomodating places on this earth. We were truly amazed by the hospitality and helpfulness off all that we met. The hotel is exceptionally clean, elegant and perfectly situated, with spacious rooms which overlook the Alter Botanischer Garten. It's a short walk to the Glockenspiel surrounded with an excellent selection of food, exceptional beers and shopping. The breakfast feast was wonderful! They offered a good selection of sausages, cheeses, fish, etc; along with tasty pastries, real honeycomb honey, champagne, fresh juices and exquisite teas. Even though the hotel is a five star facility, it lacks the cold formality which sometimes accompanies the high rating. The staff is very personable and extremely helpful to first time visitors like us. We plan to return to Munich, and would definitely consider returning to the Charles Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Paul C,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel for the first time and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury. We are delighted to hear that the room has been to your entire satisfaction and you enjoyed the nice view to the Old Botanical Garden in our deluxe rooms. Our bathrooms are equipped with first-class materials as well and mainly coming from the region around Munich.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home, far away from home.

Dear Paul C, we are very much looking forward to welcome you to The Charles Hotel again. If there is anything I can assist you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We checked in on 15 Feb 2014 arriving from Amsterdam and stayed 2 nights. Took the S Bahn from the airport to Hauptbahnhof and hotel was just a short 5 min walk even with luggage. Check in was flawless and all staff were really professional & courteous. They wished me a happy birthday which was a surprise (my travel agent told them) and the manager wrote me a personal letter to welcome us and congratulate me on my birthday. They also gave us a large chocolate platter in our room.

The staff here are so considerate they don't just hand you the keys but escort you to you room and explain all the rooms and hotel facilities. In Europe the rooms can be small but not the Charles. Our room was large and had plenty of room for the folding bed for our daughter.

Our rate included breakfast and it was one of the best tasting breakfast buffet I have had in any hotel in the world. The fruits the eggs the bread and pastries were all top class.

Location can't be beat for shopping and sightseeing in the heart of Munich. The pool in the wellness centre is magic and they have a nice sauna & gym too.

They did everything to make our stay memorable including a late check out as our flight left quite late. We would certainly book with them again on our next Munich trip.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear John T,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family on that particular stay - your birthday - and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury.

The department head of The Charles SPA is Yasmin Bhatti. Her team and Yasmin are taking care of our guests in the nice spa area and with relaxing treatments. It is nice to hear that you found the time to go there and enjoy the silence.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich and that you had the time to visit our restaurant DAVVERO for breakfast. Our executive chef Giovanni Russo loves to pamper our guests with mediterranean food and typical Italian delicacies - even in the morning already.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

One of the best hotels at Munich , 5 star Hotel , Good Location Close Munich central rail station and Marienplatz , Friendly staff , Best Service that you can Get, luxury rooms and clean , Worth the Price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Mohamed A,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

Of course we forwarded your wonderful feedback to our employees immediately, which was much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that your stay was to your entire satisfaction and are looking forward to welcome you soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any assistance.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We just visited the Charles hotel with our 1 year old son and 4 year okd daughter. I am usually hesitant to bring two children to such a nice hotel, but the Charles was extremely welcoming. There were gifts in the room for them and a little bathrobe for trips to the pool. The comfort room was very large and accomodated us perfectly. The pool is lovely and my daughter loved the steam room.
Everyone at the hitel is extremely friendly. Even the valet helped buckle in my kids and managed to fold up our stroller! Not an easy feat mind you.
I highly recommend this hotel fir a city break and I can't wait to return alone with my husband to really enjoy the spa!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mbachrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear mbachrack,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services, even for our little guests already. For the kids we offer special amenities, a kids check-in and many other surprises to make them feel special.

The department head of The Charles SPA is Yasmin Bhatti. Her team and Yasmin are taking care of our guests in the nice spa area and with relaxing treatments. It is nice to hear that you found the time to go there and enjoy the silence.

Dear guest, we are looking forward to welcome you, your husband and the kids soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We (couple/two teens) stayed between Christmas/new year.
We got a great family deal for 2 rooms.
The rooms were fantastic with good space, extremely comfortable beds, and a very comfortable and clean bathroom.
Staff were very friendly and efficient.
Our only ding would be for the concierges who, despite being incredibly friendly and pleasant, we're variable in their knowledge. Some excellent, some average.
Overall, would definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WasabiSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear WasabiSam,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel between Christmas and New Year's Eve.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury. We are delighted to hear that the room has been to your entire satisfaction.

For the average experience regarding the information of the Concierge we would like to apologize deeply. Please be sure that we will keep an eye on an extended training in this department.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Charles Hotel is well located for discovering Munich. The hotel is modern with very good facilities. The rooms are very large and the hotel is very good value for a 5 star hotel in the centre of Munich. The hotel staff are very pleasant and willing to assist with any query. We would stay at this hotel on our next visit to Munich

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmcg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear tmcg2014,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich and we are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

The Charles Hotel is very well located and close to the Munich Central Station. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the famous Marienplatz, the English Garden and the shopping areas, such as Maximilianstrasse or Kaufingerstrasse.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home, far away from home.

Dear guest, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us. The entire team is delighted to assist you.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
1,986 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#21 of 382 in Munich
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing